$102 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 25, 2014 Check-out: Sep 26, 2014

Avalon Lodge

3 stars
4075 Manzanita Avenue, South Lake Tahoe, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
14 reviews
weekend getaway

When we checked into the hotel we were greeted by Ann who was so friendly and helpful with... See full review

  • MrTDinger
  • Sep 3, 2014
Lake Tahoe Weekend

First time at this hotel. Within walking distant to Casinos. Very comfortable, Stone shower. Very... See full review

  • llbjr
  • Jun 2, 2014
Relaxing Lake Tahoe retreat with outdoor pool and spa

Set in a desirable South Lake Tahoe neighborhood, and just a stroll from the Heavenly gondola, the Avalon Lodge is next to some of the finest ski resort territory in the world. An inviting fireplace in the lobby welcomes guests into the doors of Avalon Lodge. Guests enjoy a relaxing morning before hitting the slopes with a complimentary continental breakfast. Avalon Lodge also has an outdoor pool and spa tub. A private marina and beach provide stunning views. Casinos, entertainment and shopping are just two blocks away.

3 Reasons To Stay:
  • Set in a beautiful neighborhood only a short distance away from world-famous entertainment

  • Quiet, hospitable atmosphere

  • Close beautiful Lake Tahoe

Avalon Lodge Rooms

Guest rooms are pristine and furnished with modern conveniences. Coffee browns, taupe, and a neutral color palette leave guests at the Avalon Lodge feeling relaxed and closer to nature. Great amenities at the Avalon Lodge include comfortable and spacious rooms and toiletries. Sleep on fluffy pillows and comfortable goose comforters, complete with premium high thread count bedding. Relax by a warm hearth in all 20 guest rooms, which include a crackling fireplace for a comfortable and warm experience.

Things To Do:
  • Stateline (0.3 mi/0.6 km)

  • Heavenly Resort (1.6 mi/2.5 km)

  • Zephyr Cove Beach (3.4 mi/5.4 km)

  • South Lake Tahoe (4.4 mi/7.1 km)

  • Emerald Bay State Park (8.7 mi/14 km)

Hotel Map

38.9582 -119.9465
Nearby airports
Reno/Tahoe Cannon Intl Airport, (RNO), 56.00, MI, W;
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Avalon Lodge also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5

Avalon Lodge Rooms

Standard
Description not provided
Standard
King Lodge Room - Fireplace and amenities. Wifi and continental breakfast. Most with refrigerator and microwave. TVs. Walking distance to the village. Private Beach and Marina. Dining. Shopping. Casinos. Nightlife and more.
Standard
Queen Lodge Room - 2 queen beds. Fireplace. Wifi and continental breakfast. Refrigerator. Microwave and flat screen TVs. Walking distance to the village. Heavenly gondola. Private beach and marina. Dining and shopping. Casinos and nightlife.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
24 hour security
Activities
Heated pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Children's activities
Golf
Tennis
Play ground
Boating
Fishing
Dining
Continental breakfast
Lounge
Meal plan - continental
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Concierge desk
Security
Wake-up service
FAX
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Room
Cribs available
Smoke detectors

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (14)

Ratings and reviews for Avalon Lodge

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
4 out of 14
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.3
Sort by:
Review of Avalon Lodge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Value concientious dad
Calgary
Mar 8, 2014

2 Ski days in South Lake Tahoe

Checking in was effortless. Nice rooms recently renovated. Nicely decorated with modern flat screen TV. The breakfast in the lobby was a nice touch. However if more than 6 guesses show up you would have to eat standing up or go back to your room. The two minor problems we had was the taps in the shower, we needed assistance to figure out they worked. The hot tub was out of commission. All in all an enjoyable stay. I have no problem recommending this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Avalon Lodge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
QueenforaDay
San Francisco, CA
Feb 22, 2013

Clean accommodations with comfy beds!

The Avalon Lodge was perfect for our 3 day stay in S. Lake Tahoe! The best part about this place was definitely the beds! Their Queen pillow top mattresses and cozy comforters made for a good night's sleep! Our updated room was on the second floor of the lodge and included modern furnishings and 2 Queen beds, clean linens, a small fridge, fireplace heater (with a thermostat) and a nice bathroom with a beautiful stone shower (no tub). A complimentary continental breakfast is also served until about 10am. We had looked at several different hotel/lodge options and this was the best option for us! The only drawback about this place is the noise level. The walls are pretty thin and those folks checking out early were lugging their suitcases across the walkway and down the stairs and it was pretty loud. Also, the children running across the walkway woke me up at an early hour. Staff was friendly and helpful. I would definitely book here again.. if only to sleep in those comfy beds again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Avalon Lodge

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
T-Jeff
KC, MO
Jun 22, 2011

Property great! Hospitality BETTER!

Met up with a friend from another city and found this place on line. JACKPOT! We picked the place primarily for the location (2 blocks from the lake with access to a private beach, 2 blocks the other way to Heavenly Village, and a few more to the casinos). Small, very recently remodeled property. The fixtures, etc. were nice, the beds/bedding/towels were great, but what wowed me was the hospitality of the staff. They were willing to go above and beyond to make sure that we, as their guests, were happy. Their continental breakfast was more than just your standard box of pastries or a bunch of bagels and a toaster. It was simple, but unique. Each morning, there was a crock pot of oatmeal and a different fresh fruit (one day was blueberries, the next was raspberries). There was also yogurt and a nutbread. And of course some nice coffee. They're also in the process of adding some new summertime amenities like loaner bicycles and kayaks. The amenity is so new, all the bikes weren't put together yet when we stayed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

We went in the early summer, hoping to do some hiking, but had no real idea of where to start. The knowledgeable staff pointed us to the well known places, as well as a few off-the-beaten-track areas that were fantastic.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Avalon Lodge

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
T-Jeff
KCMO
Jun 21, 2011

Great property. BETTER hospitality!

This was my first trip to Lake Tahoe and met up with a friend from another city. Found this place through an on-line search and couldn't have been happier. Newly remodeled rooms (Great shower and beds). Great, simple continental breakfast (not just a few boxes of donuts). Super location (2 blocks to the water with access to a private beach) 2 blocks the other way to Heavenly Village. Just a few more to the casinos. What blew me away was the hospitality of the staff. It's a small property (about 24 rooms I think) so it has a homey feel. We showed up in town with no concrete plans and the staff was more than happy to point us in the right direction. A new amenity they've just added for the summer season is loaner kayaks and bicycles. If I ever make it back to Tahoe, I'll definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Went in the summertime, wanting to do some hiking, but had no ideas about where to go. The staff pointed us to the popular places AND some fantastic off the beaten track areas.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search