$121 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Feb 2, 2015 Check-out: Feb 5, 2015

Avalon Lodge

3 stars
4075 Manzanita Avenue, South Lake Tahoe, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
14 reviews
weekend getaway

When we checked into the hotel we were greeted by Ann who was so friendly and helpful with... See full review

  • MrTDinger
  • Sep 3, 2014
Lake Tahoe Weekend

First time at this hotel. Within walking distant to Casinos. Very comfortable, Stone shower. Very... See full review

  • llbjr
  • Jun 2, 2014
Relaxing Lake Tahoe retreat with outdoor pool and spa

Set in a desirable South Lake Tahoe neighborhood, and just a stroll from the Heavenly gondola, the Avalon Lodge is next to some of the finest ski resort territory in the world. An inviting fireplace in the lobby welcomes guests into the doors of Avalon Lodge. Guests enjoy a relaxing morning before hitting the slopes with a complimentary continental breakfast. Avalon Lodge also has an outdoor pool and spa tub. A private marina and beach provide stunning views. Casinos, entertainment and shopping are just two blocks away.

3 Reasons To Stay:
  • Set in a beautiful neighborhood only a short distance away from world-famous entertainment

  • Quiet, hospitable atmosphere

  • Close beautiful Lake Tahoe

Avalon Lodge Rooms

Guest rooms are pristine and furnished with modern conveniences. Coffee browns, taupe, and a neutral color palette leave guests at the Avalon Lodge feeling relaxed and closer to nature. Great amenities at the Avalon Lodge include comfortable and spacious rooms and toiletries. Sleep on fluffy pillows and comfortable goose comforters, complete with premium high thread count bedding. Relax by a warm hearth in all 20 guest rooms, which include a crackling fireplace for a comfortable and warm experience.

Things To Do:
  • Stateline (0.3 mi/0.6 km)

  • Heavenly Resort (1.6 mi/2.5 km)

  • Zephyr Cove Beach (3.4 mi/5.4 km)

  • South Lake Tahoe (4.4 mi/7.1 km)

  • Emerald Bay State Park (8.7 mi/14 km)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Avalon Lodge also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5

Avalon Lodge Rooms

Standard
Description not provided
Standard
King Lodge Room - Fireplace and amenities. Wifi and continental breakfast. Most with refrigerator and microwave. TVs. Walking distance to the village. Private Beach and Marina. Dining. Shopping. Casinos. Nightlife and more.
Standard
Queen Lodge Room - 2 queen beds. Fireplace. Wifi and continental breakfast. Refrigerator. Microwave and flat screen TVs. Walking distance to the village. Heavenly gondola. Private beach and marina. Dining and shopping. Casinos and nightlife.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
24 hour security
Activities
Heated pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Children's activities
Golf
Tennis
Play ground
Boating
Fishing
Dining
Continental breakfast
Lounge
Meal plan - continental
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Concierge desk
Security
Wake-up service
FAX
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Room
Cribs available
Smoke detectors

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (14)

Ratings and reviews for Avalon Lodge

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
14 out of 14
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.9

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Avalon Lodge

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
theladywillow
Business
Concord
Jul 15, 2013

Last minute getaway

The room was clean and the bed was very comfortable and cozy after a long week at work, Surrounded by beautiful pines trees that made you feel relaxed as soon as you arrived. The pool was clean and heated which made it a great way to spend the evening even after going to the beach all day which is only a couple of blocks away. The hotel is walking distance to plenty of places to eat and shop. We would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

I asked for a place to go that was not typical of the tourist and the waiter place we had breakfast at told us about Fallen Leaf Lake... about 20 minutes away... not as many people with a small beach and boat rentals... it was perfect. Make sure you ask a local for something interesting to do that is different.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Avalon Lodge

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
llbjr
Business
Northern California
Jun 2, 2014

Lake Tahoe Weekend

First time at this hotel. Within walking distant to Casinos. Very comfortable, Stone shower. Very quiet. Will return next ime in the area. A nice surprise and a good value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Ask at desk for passses to the Lake Tahoe shoreline. The beach area is fenced off and they charge for parking and $5 per person just to go to the beach. You can't walk arround the fenced area.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Avalon Lodge

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
T-Jeff
Business
KC, MO
Jun 22, 2011

Property great! Hospitality BETTER!

Met up with a friend from another city and found this place on line. JACKPOT! We picked the place primarily for the location (2 blocks from the lake with access to a private beach, 2 blocks the other way to Heavenly Village, and a few more to the casinos). Small, very recently remodeled property. The fixtures, etc. were nice, the beds/bedding/towels were great, but what wowed me was the hospitality of the staff. They were willing to go above and beyond to make sure that we, as their guests, were happy. Their continental breakfast was more than just your standard box of pastries or a bunch of bagels and a toaster. It was simple, but unique. Each morning, there was a crock pot of oatmeal and a different fresh fruit (one day was blueberries, the next was raspberries). There was also yogurt and a nutbread. And of course some nice coffee. They're also in the process of adding some new summertime amenities like loaner bicycles and kayaks. The amenity is so new, all the bikes weren't put together yet when we stayed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

We went in the early summer, hoping to do some hiking, but had no real idea of where to start. The knowledgeable staff pointed us to the well known places, as well as a few off-the-beaten-track areas that were fantastic.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Avalon Lodge

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
T-Jeff
Business
KCMO
Jun 21, 2011

Great property. BETTER hospitality!

This was my first trip to Lake Tahoe and met up with a friend from another city. Found this place through an on-line search and couldn't have been happier. Newly remodeled rooms (Great shower and beds). Great, simple continental breakfast (not just a few boxes of donuts). Super location (2 blocks to the water with access to a private beach) 2 blocks the other way to Heavenly Village. Just a few more to the casinos. What blew me away was the hospitality of the staff. It's a small property (about 24 rooms I think) so it has a homey feel. We showed up in town with no concrete plans and the staff was more than happy to point us in the right direction. A new amenity they've just added for the summer season is loaner kayaks and bicycles. If I ever make it back to Tahoe, I'll definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Went in the summertime, wanting to do some hiking, but had no ideas about where to go. The staff pointed us to the popular places AND some fantastic off the beaten track areas.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Avalon Lodge

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MrTDinger
Business
Seattle
Sep 3, 2014

weekend getaway

When we checked into the hotel we were greeted by Ann who was so friendly and helpful with questions. Our room was very clean, with fridge and microwave and coffee for the morning. They offered pastry breads and oatmeal in the morning. The pool had plenty of sun in the afternoon. There was a gas firepit poolside that was a nice touch. On the second floor there was a large outdoor sitting area that was perfect in the morning for reading the paper and drinking coffee. The beach and downtown casino area were all within close walking range. We went to see a concert at Harvey's outdoor venue, and loved that we didn't have to drive. We also took the Gondola up to Heavenly.The ride was a fun experience. I would stay at Avalon Hotel again in a heartbeat. So much better and personable than the larger hotels!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

At the ticket counter for the Gondola, we purchased discounted food vouchers to use at the cafe at Heavenly...eat before or after you take the trip, what a rip off. Don't play into the tourist trap. Everything up there is a la carte and expensive.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Avalon Lodge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KACCA
Business
Gilroy, CA
Jan 1, 2013

Fantastic Trip!

This was our first trip with our 3-year-old dog, the first time he had ever been in a hotel. The staff was amazing, very accommodating, there was a puppy-basket in the room, and they worked their cleaning and fixing around him! ;>) And he didn't woof TOO much for his first time! We hung out in the lobby while they cleaned the room the second day, and the staff just LOVED on him! Beds were comfy, bath amenities were amazing, and puppy even had his own sheet so he could sleep on either bed! Will definitely be coming back here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Really good taqueria recommended by hotel staff literally on the corner - Taqueria Jimenez. Gondola to Heavenly only 2 blocks up - VERY convenient!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Avalon Lodge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
QueenforaDay
Business
San Francisco, CA
Feb 22, 2013

Clean accommodations with comfy beds!

The Avalon Lodge was perfect for our 3 day stay in S. Lake Tahoe! The best part about this place was definitely the beds! Their Queen pillow top mattresses and cozy comforters made for a good night's sleep! Our updated room was on the second floor of the lodge and included modern furnishings and 2 Queen beds, clean linens, a small fridge, fireplace heater (with a thermostat) and a nice bathroom with a beautiful stone shower (no tub). A complimentary continental breakfast is also served until about 10am. We had looked at several different hotel/lodge options and this was the best option for us! The only drawback about this place is the noise level. The walls are pretty thin and those folks checking out early were lugging their suitcases across the walkway and down the stairs and it was pretty loud. Also, the children running across the walkway woke me up at an early hour. Staff was friendly and helpful. I would definitely book here again.. if only to sleep in those comfy beds again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Avalon Lodge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
is123
Business
TX
Mar 6, 2013

Great Location, Updated, Nice Staff

Nicely updated hotel in a great location. Walking distance to the Heavenly gondola, shops, casinos, etc. Walls are thin and if the hotel gets full it gets a bit noisy. Overall nice place, will stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Avalon Lodge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lu Sicilianu
Business
San Jose, CA
Oct 27, 2013

Fast pleasure getaway!

The Hotel is very well mantained. It is obvious there has been a recent redue for the property; that is a very positive thing. There are touches which make the stay very inviting.. warm cider, a small but adequate shop for snacks and beverages. The comp breakfast, though, a little limited in choices, had all the nutrious picks! Location.. close to Tahoe's main calling cards.. stateline and its' activities, and the close to ski lifts.. water.. well, the lake is not right at you rfootsteps.. but there is an adequate pool, and hot tub! And then there are the comp bikes.. It was a very plesant stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Avalon Lodge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Value concientious dad
Business
Calgary
Mar 8, 2014

2 Ski days in South Lake Tahoe

Checking in was effortless. Nice rooms recently renovated. Nicely decorated with modern flat screen TV. The breakfast in the lobby was a nice touch. However if more than 6 guesses show up you would have to eat standing up or go back to your room. The two minor problems we had was the taps in the shower, we needed assistance to figure out they worked. The hot tub was out of commission. All in all an enjoyable stay. I have no problem recommending this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top