$39 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 14, 2015 Check-out: Jan 16, 2015

Alpine Inn and Spa

1 star
920 State Line, 920 State Line, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.0
out of 5
32 reviews
Quick Girls getaway

Hotel was in perfect location! Although was a bit dated and cramped (bathroom door could open all... See full review

  • Lisa Princess
  • Sep 22, 2014
Location, location

Walking distance to casinos and lake, tall pines in the quad area, quiet. The room was rather small... See full review

  • Boating Bob
  • Jul 9, 2014
In the heart of South Lake Tahoe

Surrounded by a forest of old growth pines and poplar trees, the Alpine Inn and Spa is just blocks away from a private beach at Lake Tahoe. It is close to golf and Heavenly Mountain and within walking distance of shops, casinos, restaurants. The inn offers free Wi-Fi, an outdoor pool (seasonal) and hot tub.

Highlights
  • Close to beach
  • Walking distance to golf, gambling
  • Free Wi-Fi
Rooms

The Alpine Inn and Spa's 38 rooms are painted a cheery Tuscan yellow and include new headboards and updated bedspreads. Rooms are all equipped with coffee-maker, refrigerator, television with cable, microwave, ironing board, hair-dryer, clock radio and air-conditioning. Some rooms include a hot-tub spa.

Features

If convenience is key, the Alpine Inn and Spa delivers. Located steps from Lake Tahoe and all the nightlife fun South Lake has to offer, it allows guests to easily walk to the major casinos found on Lake Tahoe Boulevard, less than a mile away. There is an outdoor pool and hot tub. Non-smoking rooms are available, parking is free, and the front desk is open 24 hours a day.

Transportation

Reno-Tahoe International Airport (55 mi/96 km)

Attractions
  • Skiing (2 mi/3 km)
  • Snowshoeing (0.2 mi/0.4 km)
  • Golf (0.2 mi/0.4 km)
  • Fishing (0.2 mi/0.4 km)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Alpine Inn and Spa also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5

Alpine Inn and Spa Rooms

Standard One Queen Bed NS
This standard one queen bed nonsmoking room will hold up to 2 people. This room includes wireless internet, microwave, refrigerator, coffeemaker, hairdryer, iron and ironing board, alarm clock radio, remote control cable TV, bathtub, shower, and air conditioning.
Standard One King Bed NS
This standard one king bed nonsmoking room will hold up to 2 people. This room includes wireless internet, microwave, refrigerator, coffeemaker, hairdryer, iron and ironing board, alarm clock radio, remote control cable TV, bathtub, shower, and air conditioning.
Standard Two Queen Beds NS
This standard two queen beds nonsmoking room will hold up to 4 people. This room includes wireless internet, microwave, refrigerator, coffeemaker, hairdryer, iron and ironing board, alarm clock radio, remote control cable TV, bathtub, shower, and air conditioning.
Standard Two Double Beds NS
This standard two double beds nonsmoking room will hold up to 4 people. This room includes wireless internet, microwave, refrigerator, coffeemaker, hairdryer, iron and ironing board, alarm clock radio, remote control cable TV, bathtub, shower, and air conditioning.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Outdoor pool
Casino
Golf
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (32)

Ratings and reviews for Alpine Inn and Spa

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
32 out of 32
Amenities:
2.6
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.4
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.6

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Alpine Inn and Spa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Loahj26
Business
San Francisco, CA, USA
Apr 9, 2012

Great location

It was great location close to casinos, food and heavely mountain. Room was okay nothing fancy on it very simple, furniture had some scratches and we could figure out how to change the temperature or turn on air conditioning but it was good overall. Is good enought to lay down and have a good sleep

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Alpine Inn and Spa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
n/a
Jan 28, 2011

Unbeatable location for the price

The hotel was advertise as having a hot tub. Yes they have one but make sure you ask if it is working and turned on. They did offer to turn it on and said it would be ready in 40 minutes but I could even get the cover off. I believe it was frozen on. The room was freezing. I could not get the temperture above 60. I will not be going back there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Alpine Inn and Spa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Ramon, CA
Oct 4, 2010

Worst Stay Ever!!

I was looking forward to my trip to Tahoe but the second we arrived to the hotel, I was very disappointed! The service was horrible! I was charged an extra $60 when I got there for fees. Also, our room smelt like something was rotting, our walls were painted 3 different colors to hide up dings in the wall, there was a wad of toilet paper in the shower, there was food particles behind the bed and they didn't even put fitted sheets on the bed! My friends stayed in a different room and their toilet was broken and the owner told US to fix it! In the process, our friend fell from the water on the floor and the top lid of the toilet broke and the owner charged them for it! We were also told that check out was at 12:45 but we got a call at 11:30 saying that we needed to be out of the room. Overall this was a horrible stay, I didn't even want to be in the room nor near the hotel itself. Service was horrible and the rooms were disgusting.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Casinos are right across the street!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Alpine Inn and Spa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
zhop zhop
Business
San Fran
Apr 9, 2011

very basic hotel

no thrills

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Alpine Inn and Spa

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Sara C and Chris
Business
Placerville. CA
Jul 6, 2012

Weekend Out

This hotel was nothing special just a place to sleep.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Alpine Inn and Spa

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Family vacation.. to hell!
Business
Reno, NV
Feb 21, 2010

A bed, a door, and a bathroom

Wanted to get away for a weekend with the family. Place was mostly clean, but very very old. People walking by on the catwalk made the whole room shake, paper thin walls make it so you can enjoy your neighbors vacation too. Old lumpy mattress, leaky plumbing, and loud neighbors made our visit very poor. Location is great, if all you want to a bed to sleep in after the skiing and before a party, you'll be happy. If you are there with your family and trying to sleep - not so much. Hot tub was broken, so no spa, pool was drained, and no bathtub in the room. Won't be staying here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The gondola to the Heavenly Ski resort is right across the street. this pretty much is the only reason to stay at this old motel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Alpine Inn and Spa

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Tahoegirl
Business
Reno, NV
Jul 5, 2011

"Great Location "

This was a small room but the location can't be beat. The shower was a little scary but we did not spend much time in the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

If you are looking for a quite room this is not the place for you. If you are looking to be close to the beach, shopping, and nightlife then this is the place for you.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Alpine Inn and Spa

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Charliesangel
Business
Ca
Aug 16, 2014

Tahoe

Wonderful staff and great pricing if you don't want to stay at a casino. Next time I would ask for a room on the second floor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Alpine Inn and Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
BD
Business
Reno, NV
Jun 20, 2011

OK For The Cost

Right on stateline and good for access to events.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Alpine Inn and Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Viking
Business
San Jose, CA, USA
Dec 5, 2011

reasonable for the price

Great location ~ close to restaurants, casino and ski slopes. It's no resort but it's cool for the price we paid

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top