$32 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Nov 30, 2014 Check-out: Dec 1, 2014

Alpine Inn and Spa

1 star
920 State Line, 920 State Line, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.0
out of 5
32 reviews
Quick Girls getaway

Hotel was in perfect location! Although was a bit dated and cramped (bathroom door could open all... See full review

  • Lisa Princess
  • Sep 22, 2014
Location, location

Walking distance to casinos and lake, tall pines in the quad area, quiet. The room was rather small... See full review

  • Boating Bob
  • Jul 9, 2014
In the heart of South Lake Tahoe

Surrounded by a forest of old growth pines and poplar trees, the Alpine Inn and Spa is just blocks away from a private beach at Lake Tahoe. It is close to golf and Heavenly Mountain and within walking distance of shops, casinos, restaurants. The inn offers free Wi-Fi, an outdoor pool (seasonal) and hot tub.

Highlights
  • Close to beach
  • Walking distance to golf, gambling
  • Free Wi-Fi
Rooms

The Alpine Inn and Spa's 38 rooms are painted a cheery Tuscan yellow and include new headboards and updated bedspreads. Rooms are all equipped with coffee-maker, refrigerator, television with cable, microwave, ironing board, hair-dryer, clock radio and air-conditioning. Some rooms include a hot-tub spa.

Features

If convenience is key, the Alpine Inn and Spa delivers. Located steps from Lake Tahoe and all the nightlife fun South Lake has to offer, it allows guests to easily walk to the major casinos found on Lake Tahoe Boulevard, less than a mile away. There is an outdoor pool and hot tub. Non-smoking rooms are available, parking is free, and the front desk is open 24 hours a day.

Transportation

Reno-Tahoe International Airport (55 mi/96 km)

Attractions
  • Skiing (2 mi/3 km)
  • Snowshoeing (0.2 mi/0.4 km)
  • Golf (0.2 mi/0.4 km)
  • Fishing (0.2 mi/0.4 km)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Alpine Inn and Spa also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5

Alpine Inn and Spa Rooms

Standard One Queen Bed NS
This standard one queen bed nonsmoking room will hold up to 2 people. This room includes wireless internet, microwave, refrigerator, coffeemaker, hairdryer, iron and ironing board, alarm clock radio, remote control cable TV, bathtub, shower, and air conditioning.
Standard One King Bed NS
This standard one king bed nonsmoking room will hold up to 2 people. This room includes wireless internet, microwave, refrigerator, coffeemaker, hairdryer, iron and ironing board, alarm clock radio, remote control cable TV, bathtub, shower, and air conditioning.
Standard Two Queen Beds NS
This standard two queen beds nonsmoking room will hold up to 4 people. This room includes wireless internet, microwave, refrigerator, coffeemaker, hairdryer, iron and ironing board, alarm clock radio, remote control cable TV, bathtub, shower, and air conditioning.
Standard Two Double Beds NS
This standard two double beds nonsmoking room will hold up to 4 people. This room includes wireless internet, microwave, refrigerator, coffeemaker, hairdryer, iron and ironing board, alarm clock radio, remote control cable TV, bathtub, shower, and air conditioning.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Outdoor pool
Casino
Golf
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (32)

Ratings and reviews for Alpine Inn and Spa

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
32 out of 32
Amenities:
2.6
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.4
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.6

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Alpine Inn and Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
BD
Business
Reno, NV
Jun 20, 2011

OK For The Cost

Right on stateline and good for access to events.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Alpine Inn and Spa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
zhop zhop
Business
San Fran
Apr 9, 2011

very basic hotel

no thrills

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Alpine Inn and Spa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
n/a
Jan 28, 2011

Unbeatable location for the price

The hotel was advertise as having a hot tub. Yes they have one but make sure you ask if it is working and turned on. They did offer to turn it on and said it would be ready in 40 minutes but I could even get the cover off. I believe it was frozen on. The room was freezing. I could not get the temperture above 60. I will not be going back there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Alpine Inn and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Alpine In Rocks
Business
Sacramento, Ca
Oct 12, 2010

My stay at the Alpine Inn

Staff was very polite and helpful. The Hotel was in a great location from the casino. The room was clean but a little small.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Have cash on you

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Alpine Inn and Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Central CA
Oct 11, 2010

No bells or whistles.

You get what you pay for. Price was very fair but don't expect anything more than what is listed at the minimal level.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Alpine Inn and Spa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Ramon, CA
Oct 4, 2010

Worst Stay Ever!!

I was looking forward to my trip to Tahoe but the second we arrived to the hotel, I was very disappointed! The service was horrible! I was charged an extra $60 when I got there for fees. Also, our room smelt like something was rotting, our walls were painted 3 different colors to hide up dings in the wall, there was a wad of toilet paper in the shower, there was food particles behind the bed and they didn't even put fitted sheets on the bed! My friends stayed in a different room and their toilet was broken and the owner told US to fix it! In the process, our friend fell from the water on the floor and the top lid of the toilet broke and the owner charged them for it! We were also told that check out was at 12:45 but we got a call at 11:30 saying that we needed to be out of the room. Overall this was a horrible stay, I didn't even want to be in the room nor near the hotel itself. Service was horrible and the rooms were disgusting.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Casinos are right across the street!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Alpine Inn and Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JoMomma
Business
Show Low, AZ
Jul 19, 2010

Family run older hotel

An older hotel, 60's style. Has been updated, landscaped--people running hotel are very hospitable. Right across the street from the BIG casinos.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Alpine Inn and Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
sharkbite75
Business
Pine Grove, Ca.
May 24, 2010

Good for sleeping...

It was cheap, the room was very small and not very up-to-date, and the walls were so thin we could hear the guy downstairs snoring... :( And, we were right by the cement stairs and it sounded like an elephant whenever someone walked up or down them! But, all in all, we weren't there to stay in the room, and it served it's purpose as a place to crash. You can't go wrong with the price! After all, you really do get what you pay for...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

It was barely a 3-minute walk to the back entrance of Harvey's, which was awesome because it was snowing the whole time! So, easy access to the casinos, and very convenient if you are walking back after a night of drinking, lol!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Alpine Inn and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
thundercakes
Business
San Mateo, CA
Apr 9, 2010

Unbeatable value in a great location

We've stayed here twice now. It is as basic as it gets, but extremely clean. The rooms were recently refreshed. The location, walking distance to the Gondola, and across the street from the Casinos, is fantastic. It was quiet at night, and toasty warm in the room without being stuffy (a problem we've had at other hotels). The only ding is that the "spa" consists of a shallow, lukewarm and rather run-down hot tub. We have stayed at more expensive places, but would rather come to Tahoe more often and stay here! We highly recommend the Alpine Inn to other budget travelers!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a Starbucks literally across the street from the Alpine Inn, in the lobby of the Harvey's Casino, just go through the first door you see and there it is.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Alpine Inn and Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
fresno, ca
Apr 3, 2010

Smaller room

The hotel was decent for the price, the rooms were on the smaller size.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top