$64 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Oct 23, 2014 Check-out: Oct 26, 2014

Inns of California-Sonora

2 stars
350 S. Washington St., Sonora, CA 95370
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
20 reviews
a home away from home

Ok here's the thing: it is not the fanciest place, the Inn has been around for awhile and the rooms... See full review

  • lost soul and traveler
  • Dec 5, 2013
very reasonable, clean, convenient location, friendly

The Inns of California, Sonoma was just what we were looking for, a reasonably priced room for one... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Aug 12, 2008
Located in Downtown Sonora you will be within easy walking distance to many local restaurants and unique shops. Stay and enjoy our year round heated pool and spa and then venture off and enjoy all this beauitful community has to offer. Explore Moaning Caverns, gamble at Black Oak Casino, or stroll through the state historic parks. Whatever your interest, you will love coming back to your clean room at Inns of California Sonora.

Hotel Map

37.9803 -120.3819
Area served
Central Sierra Nevada Mountains. Mother Lode Gold Rush, Jamestown, Columbia, Sonora, Twain Harte, Tuolumne and Calaveras Counties.
Nearby airports
Columbia Airport, 5 miles. Modesto Airport, 60 miles. Sacramento International Airport, 90 miles
Area description
Inns of California-Sonora is nestled in the heart of the historic gold country foothills, is only sixty miles from Yosemite National Park and minutes from Railtown 1897 State Historic Park and Columbia State Park. Tour the California gold rush towns of Sonora, Jamestown, and Columbia. In the heart of the Sierra, enjoy skiing, fishing, river rafting, golfing, antique shopping, caves, and steam trains.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Inns of California-Sonora also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5

Inns of California-Sonora Rooms

HOTEL - KING
Non-Smoking, king size bed, remote color TV with HBO, wireless internet, microwave and refrigerator, fresh in-room Brewed coffee, hair dryer, iron & board, shower, air-conditioned room. Complimentary continental breakfast included.
HOTEL - DOUBLE
Non-Smoking, 2 double beds, remote color TV with HBO, wireless internet, microwave and refrigerator, fresh in-room Brewed coffee, hair dryer, iron & board, shower, air-conditioned room. Complimentary continental breakfast included.
HOTEL - QUEEN
Non-Smoking, 2 queen beds, remote color TV with HBO, wireless internet, microwave and refrigerator, fresh in-room Brewed coffee, hair dryer, iron & board, shower, air-conditioned room. Complimentary continental breakfast included.
HOTEL - FAMILY_DELUXE
Non-Smoking, 2 queen size beds deluxe room, refrigerator, microwave, DVD player, remote color TV with HBO, wireless internet, fresh In-room brewed coffee, hair dryer, iron & board, shower/tub combo, air-conditioned room. Complimentary continental breakfast included.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Pet friendly
Activities
Pool
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
0300
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (20)

Ratings and reviews for Inns of California-Sonora

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
20 out of 20
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
4
Value:
3.7

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Inns of California-Sonora

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
lost soul and traveler
Business
Seattle
Dec 5, 2013

a home away from home

Ok here's the thing: it is not the fanciest place, the Inn has been around for awhile and the rooms show it. The place needs some work, but don't we all? The carpets need to be replaced, the walls and ceilings need upgrades. The bed is perfect, the shower is real, the staff are genuine, the location is in the heart of old town, the price doesn't get any better...and you'll arrive needing a place to stay and you will leave with a whole new slough of friends... open your heart and mind...and the inn will fill both.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inns of California-Sonora

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Eddie on the bike
Business
Placentia, CA
Aug 27, 2013

Great place to get off the road

Good value for a place to get off the road and get some sleep. Clean room. Nice, helpful folks at the front desk. Well kept grounds. Two fast food joints and a gas/station mini-mart grouped with it. Nothing fancy but nothing to complain about. I'd stop there again and probably will.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inns of California-Sonora

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Corona, ca
Aug 5, 2012

Sonora no mora!!

The hotel desk staff were very nice but the hotel is separated in two by a radio station and parking is awful. The housekeeping staff is is rude and aggressive We neglected to hang the do not disturb sign. The housekeeper came at 9 am we said no thanks. She came back at 10 and attempted to come on as we said no Another housekeeper came back at 11 and opened the door with her shoulder and said loudly put the sign up and we will leave u alone. That night when we tried to sleep someone had removed both diffusers from the lights outside which made our room as light as day. The desk person said someone had removed them he was sorry he couldn't help.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inns of California-Sonora

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mimiof4
Business
Washington
Jul 30, 2012

Not so good

Room very small. Couldn't get around the bed and desk with chair unless the person at the desk got up and moved. Unit very old. Not updated for a very long time. Don' t let the photos fool you. Shower head needs replacing. Water pressure low. Continental breakfast was in the main building and not worth the walk. Clean as could be for the age of the building. Ice machines empty on two floors. Found some on third floor. Desk folks didn't seem to care. Upon check out Clerck said she couldn't print out a receipt because we booked with a third party.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inns of California-Sonora

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ssgt usa
Business
95020
Jan 10, 2012

nice stop

Nice and clean place, Parking is fair to good. The staff was very informative,and polite.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inns of California-Sonora

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Orbissed
Business
Yuciapa, CA
Sep 4, 2011

Orbitz

My comments are more for Orbitz than the hotel. I booked a family deluxe room promoted on Orbitz for more $, rather than the regular room size, to accommodate my kids and there wasn't any difference in room size or services compared to the other rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inns of California-Sonora

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mom of 4 little people.
Business
Moorpark, CA
Jul 23, 2011

Family gold mining.

The hotel staff was very helpful and friendly. Any request we made was easily met. Rooms were clean and comfortable. In easy walking distance to shops and restaurants. The only negative was the street noise.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Very close to Columnia State Historic Park with a free ll AM town tour which was great. The kids really enjoyed the panning for gold and getting held up on their stage coach ride.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inns of California-Sonora

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Dodge Ridge skiers
Business
San Jose, CA
Jan 3, 2011

Lots of road noise

We used it as a rest-stop on the way to skiing Dodge Ridge. It served that purpose. We didn't use the hot tub and Pool, because we arrivd late, but they looked good. The employees were very nice. However, the street is very busy and the rooms are well sound-insulated so there is considerable road noise all through the night. The "breakfast" is a few pre-packaged pastries.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inns of California-Sonora

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Hayward Ca.
Dec 25, 2010

very clean but small rooms

Very clean room but also very small the room I had was very quiet if you get the back side rooms- the coffie pot in the room was very dirty with resadue in the bottom of the strainer it was black hard resude about 1/8 inch thick and I had to scrape it out with a knife and wash it before I would use it-other than that the room was ok

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inns of California-Sonora

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Spokane, WA
Sep 20, 2010

great stay

This hotel was a nice surprise! Though the rooms are very basic, the service, pool, and location were great for our purpose [visit to Yosemite]. The pool and grounds of the hotel were very clean and pleasing and the hotel staff was extemely nice and accomodating. The location,on a busy street, was nonetheless good, with many good restaurants within easy walking distance and access to the main highway to Yosemite close by.the town is charming and all the people we encountered very friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

easy walk with many choices of great restaurants

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top