$103 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 5, 2015 Check-out: Jan 8, 2015

BEST WESTERN PLUS Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center

3 stars
550 Second St. West, Sonoma, CA 95476
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
53 reviews
Mother and daughter get away

My daughter and I don't get time often enough just to be the two of us. We thought we would try a... See full review

  • 3 of Kids
  • Jul 17, 2014
perfect for walking downtown

Th.e hotel was great. Rooms were lovely with fireplace (and wood to burn!). The best feature was... See full review

  • week day traveler
  • Jan 26, 2014
Stay next to historic Sonoma Plaza at mid-size conference hotel
Stay in the heart of Sonoma, California, one block from historic 8-acre Sonoma Plaza for a comfortable vacation in wine country. This Best Western franchise is also home to O'Mai Day Spa and a state-of-the-art midsize conference center. Sonoma Valley Inn provides one of the more reasonably priced and urban experiences in wine country with grocery stores, restaurants and shops around every corner. Visit hundreds of Sonoma Valley and Napa Valley wineries within a 20-minute drive.
Highlights
  • Complimentary continental breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • O'Mai Day Spa
  • Pets welcome (fees apply)
  • Eco-friendly and 100 percent nonsmoking
Rooms
All 73 rooms at Sonoma Valley Inn ensure a comfortable stay where guests can enjoy a bubble bath and a cozy fire. Standard rooms have refrigerators, coffee-makers with Starbucks brand coffee, hypoallergenic pillows, in-room safes that fit laptops, and individual temperature control. Extras include rooms with fireplaces, balconies, patios, kitchenettes, twin showers and two-person whirlpool bathtubs. Many rooms overlook the garden courtyard. Free high-speed wired and wireless Internet access is available in all rooms. American Disabilities Act-compliant rooms are available.
Features
Wake up every morning to a complimentary continental breakfast spread. Free coffee is always available in the Sonoma Valley Inn lobby. The inn is home to a pleasant fountain courtyard in the middle of the property. A private outdoor pool (heated year-round and saltwater sanitized) is lined with trees and cushy chaise lounge chairs. Unwind with a hot stone massage or facial from in-house O'Mai Day Spa. A fitness center, Jacuzzi and steam room are also available at the Sonoma Valley Inn. Rent bikes or visit the concierge to plan hot air balloon rides and wine tours. Additional amenities include a laundry facility, 24-hour front desk and free self-parking.
Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (56.5 mi/91 km)
  • Oakland International Airport (57.9 mi/93.1 km)
Attractions
  • Historic Sonoma Plaza (1 block)
  • Ramekins Culinary School (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Napa, Calif. (15.8 mi/25.5 km)
  • Yountville, Calif. (23.1 mi/37.2 km)
  • Pacific coast/Bodega Bay, CA (41.9 mi/ 67.4 km)
Business
  • Four meeting rooms for 170 people
  • Climate-controlled outdoor trellis garden for small gatherings
  • Guest computer with Internet access in lobby
  • Event planning and catering
  • Large in-room desks
  • Free daily newspapers

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed BEST WESTERN PLUS Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

BEST WESTERN PLUS Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center Rooms

Fireplace Garden King
Featuring a king bed, fireplace, loveseat, and private patio or balcony overlooking our year round flowering garden courtyard. Also included: in-room *Starbucks coffee, refrigerator, voice mail, data port, hairdryer, iron and ironing board, pay-per-view movies.
Fireplace Garden Queen
Featuring 2 queen beds, fireplace, and private patio or balcony overlooking our year round flowering garden courtyard. Also included: in-room *Starbucks coffee, refrigerator, voice mail, data port, hairdryer, iron and ironing board, pay-per-view movies.
Fireplace King
Featuring a king bed and fireplace. Also included: in-room *Starbucks coffee, refrigerator, voice mail, data port, hairdryer, iron and ironing board, pay-per-view movies.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Infineon Raceway: 8.7 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (53)

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN PLUS Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
9 out of 53
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.8

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mickey H.
Business
Central New Jersey
Jul 29, 2014

The Hotel is Well Located

Do not show up even a minute late for breakfast, you will see the staff quickly putting things away. Even if you show up on time (before 10 am), they will clear the food away at 10 am, whether you have begun eating or not. I was taken aback by the lack of knowledge of the City of Sonoma by the front desk staff. The hotel itself is clean and well situated.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Love Sonoma Getaway
Business
SF Bay
Dec 20, 2013

Nice Overnight Stay in Downtown Sonoma

This hotel meets our needs for its convenient location. It has a small pool, hot tub, and probably a sauna, which we didn't use because it was late when we arrived and it was cold. The breakfast was adequate. However, after checkout, I was informed everything was okay, but when I checked my credit card, there's a $20 charge on it, which I will have to call to ask about it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Hotel is close to many things. Restaurants are a short walk away, and a Whole Food Market is just across the street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
580 Jay
Business
Livermore, CA
Aug 29, 2013

Best hotel for the money in Sonoma

If you are looking to stay at a hotel within walking distance of the square, and still be under $200/night, this is your hotel. I always stay here when I come to Sonoma.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Stop by Maya Restaurant on the square, great food and killer drinks. Be sure to try one of their tequila-jitos!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mer201
Business
New York, NY
Jun 24, 2013

Girls trip

Was there for a girls trip after a wedding. Very conveniently located and the room was spacious. Needed more lighting in the bathroom and it was weird that the room opened up right to the sink. Otherwise it was a great room and really close to town.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CREG
Business
Chicago, IL
Mar 20, 2013

GREAT

Despite the pool being rather dirty I had no other complaints about my stay! Everything was great or excellent!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
GypsyB
Business
Indianapolis, IN
Oct 26, 2010

smaller than expected

We were in Sonoma for a college friends reunion to tour the wineries. We needed a larger hotel room to acoomodate 5. We booked what was described as a suite. There was no extra space to qualify this room as a suite....no sofa in a small sitting area...no spare room. Oh by the way no elevator...and no extra staff to carry bags on departure. We were told we could get a rollaway for our 5th person but there was no place to put the rollaway. Luckily our 5th person couldn't make it or we would have been sardines. The interior courtyard is pleasant...but breakfast is located in the conference center at the far end of the property...a bit of a hike. Luckily there was coffee in the lobby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

It is a two block walk to the square where there are many cute restaurants and shops.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sacramento, Ca.
Jul 30, 2010

The Best in Location,Price,and Comfort

This was the best experience by far in booking a hotel on line. Had friendly service both checking in and checking out. Comfortable accomodations. Great coffee and ideal location for activities done in Sonoma.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Great selection in shoppping in a square mile radius within walking distance

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Billionaires
Business
NYC
Jul 4, 2010

Awesome with a capital A!!

We were in Sonoma to go wine tasting. We pretty much had no plans when we got there. The girls at the front desk were so helpful. Got us check in to a great room early and gave us maps, coupons and a whole itinerary for the day! We stopped back the next morning and they did the same! They also had coffee and iced tea in the lobby which was awesome. I would HIGHLY recommend staying at this hotel as it was in a perfect location as well!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Tuesday nights is the farmers market where they have stands, bands and of course corn dogs!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Rafael, CA
May 17, 2010

A reasonably priced alternative

This hotel is a great alternative to some of its pricier neighbors! It was clean, nicely decorated and the staff was friendly and helpful. Very convenient location to Sonoma Square--no driving required! We would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top