$107 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 17, 2014 Check-out: Nov 20, 2014

BEST WESTERN PLUS Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center

3 stars
550 Second St. West, Sonoma, CA 95476
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
52 reviews
Mother and daughter get away

My daughter and I don't get time often enough just to be the two of us. We thought we would try a... See full review

  • 3 of Kids
  • Jul 17, 2014
perfect for walking downtown

Th.e hotel was great. Rooms were lovely with fireplace (and wood to burn!). The best feature was... See full review

  • week day traveler
  • Jan 26, 2014
Stay next to historic Sonoma Plaza at mid-size conference hotel
Stay in the heart of Sonoma, California, one block from historic 8-acre Sonoma Plaza for a comfortable vacation in wine country. This Best Western franchise is also home to O'Mai Day Spa and a state-of-the-art midsize conference center. Sonoma Valley Inn provides one of the more reasonably priced and urban experiences in wine country with grocery stores, restaurants and shops around every corner. Visit hundreds of Sonoma Valley and Napa Valley wineries within a 20-minute drive.
Highlights
  • Complimentary continental breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • O'Mai Day Spa
  • Pets welcome (fees apply)
  • Eco-friendly and 100 percent nonsmoking
Rooms
All 73 rooms at Sonoma Valley Inn ensure a comfortable stay where guests can enjoy a bubble bath and a cozy fire. Standard rooms have refrigerators, coffee-makers with Starbucks brand coffee, hypoallergenic pillows, in-room safes that fit laptops, and individual temperature control. Extras include rooms with fireplaces, balconies, patios, kitchenettes, twin showers and two-person whirlpool bathtubs. Many rooms overlook the garden courtyard. Free high-speed wired and wireless Internet access is available in all rooms. American Disabilities Act-compliant rooms are available.
Features
Wake up every morning to a complimentary continental breakfast spread. Free coffee is always available in the Sonoma Valley Inn lobby. The inn is home to a pleasant fountain courtyard in the middle of the property. A private outdoor pool (heated year-round and saltwater sanitized) is lined with trees and cushy chaise lounge chairs. Unwind with a hot stone massage or facial from in-house O'Mai Day Spa. A fitness center, Jacuzzi and steam room are also available at the Sonoma Valley Inn. Rent bikes or visit the concierge to plan hot air balloon rides and wine tours. Additional amenities include a laundry facility, 24-hour front desk and free self-parking.
Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (56.5 mi/91 km)
  • Oakland International Airport (57.9 mi/93.1 km)
Attractions
  • Historic Sonoma Plaza (1 block)
  • Ramekins Culinary School (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Napa, Calif. (15.8 mi/25.5 km)
  • Yountville, Calif. (23.1 mi/37.2 km)
  • Pacific coast/Bodega Bay, CA (41.9 mi/ 67.4 km)
Business
  • Four meeting rooms for 170 people
  • Climate-controlled outdoor trellis garden for small gatherings
  • Guest computer with Internet access in lobby
  • Event planning and catering
  • Large in-room desks
  • Free daily newspapers

Hotel Map

38.2912 -122.4614
Area served
Sonoma
Nearby airports
Oakland and San Francisco Airports
Area description
Sonoma and Napa wineries, Historic Sonoma Plaza, Jack London State Park, Six Flags Marine World, San Francisco and the Pacific Coast.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed BEST WESTERN PLUS Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

BEST WESTERN PLUS Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center Rooms

Fireplace Garden King
Featuring a king bed, fireplace, loveseat, and private patio or balcony overlooking our year round flowering garden courtyard. Also included: in-room *Starbucks coffee, refrigerator, voice mail, data port, hairdryer, iron and ironing board, pay-per-view movies.
Fireplace Garden Queen
Featuring 2 queen beds, fireplace, and private patio or balcony overlooking our year round flowering garden courtyard. Also included: in-room *Starbucks coffee, refrigerator, voice mail, data port, hairdryer, iron and ironing board, pay-per-view movies.
Fireplace King
Featuring a king bed and fireplace. Also included: in-room *Starbucks coffee, refrigerator, voice mail, data port, hairdryer, iron and ironing board, pay-per-view movies.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Infineon Raceway: 8.7 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (52)

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN PLUS Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
52 out of 52
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.1

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
chadpole
Business
hermosa beach, ca
Jun 12, 2013

Horrible Quality

This hotel was a complete disaster. It charges like a hotel and lives like a roadway motel. The carpet was dirty, the rooms were loud, the pillows were musty smelling, and my comforter had urine stains on it. The pool was disgustingly dirty. Staff was nice but hotel is a disaster.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Totonho
Business
Sao Paulo
Jan 5, 2011

Not a HOTEL

I was visiting vineyards in the Napa Valley. I used the hotel just for sleeping. Actually, this is just a room for sleeping. This was the worst hotel in the last years and the worst cost/ benefit relation. During the current vacation trip, it was the worst hotel and the most expensive. I do not know why I booked this hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Lizzy2409
Business
Calgary, Canada
May 17, 2013

Below Average

Great location, dirty pool, room was falling apart needed much maintenance. I had the make up room please sign on door and when I return staff cart was outside and they asked do you really want your room made, I said yes they asked again like it was a hassle and I said just give me towels. Felt like I was bothering them

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Square

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mer201
Business
New York, NY
Jun 24, 2013

Girls trip

Was there for a girls trip after a wedding. Very conveniently located and the room was spacious. Needed more lighting in the bathroom and it was weird that the room opened up right to the sink. Otherwise it was a great room and really close to town.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Love Sonoma Getaway
Business
SF Bay
Dec 20, 2013

Nice Overnight Stay in Downtown Sonoma

This hotel meets our needs for its convenient location. It has a small pool, hot tub, and probably a sauna, which we didn't use because it was late when we arrived and it was cold. The breakfast was adequate. However, after checkout, I was informed everything was okay, but when I checked my credit card, there's a $20 charge on it, which I will have to call to ask about it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Hotel is close to many things. Restaurants are a short walk away, and a Whole Food Market is just across the street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
WI DC Biz Traveler
Business
Madison, WI
May 13, 2014

WI Badger Wine Drinker

Good value for a great location near square in Sonoma. Easy walking distance to everywhere in the heart of Sonoma. Good, clean hotel and comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Alameda
Jul 28, 2010

great location[...]

Friendly staff, good location, needs updating, very comfy bed, breakfast - out of several items.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Had the 4 course $26. meal at Estate, a few blocks away. Fabulous!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
GypsyB
Business
Indianapolis, IN
Oct 26, 2010

smaller than expected

We were in Sonoma for a college friends reunion to tour the wineries. We needed a larger hotel room to acoomodate 5. We booked what was described as a suite. There was no extra space to qualify this room as a suite....no sofa in a small sitting area...no spare room. Oh by the way no elevator...and no extra staff to carry bags on departure. We were told we could get a rollaway for our 5th person but there was no place to put the rollaway. Luckily our 5th person couldn't make it or we would have been sardines. The interior courtyard is pleasant...but breakfast is located in the conference center at the far end of the property...a bit of a hike. Luckily there was coffee in the lobby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

It is a two block walk to the square where there are many cute restaurants and shops.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
ny, ny
Sep 1, 2010

reasonable for the area

We probably had the worst room in the hotel -- it did not open onto center courtyard, so dark, and right next to lobby. Very musty smell in room, but when we opened window for air, there was a very annoying high pitched vacuum-like noise from pool area. Location, though not very pretty (behind a body shop), is convenient to central square and Whole Foods across the street. Though much more expensive than other Best Westerns, it seemed very reasonable for the Sonoma area. Mission-style decor, nice looking, but uncomfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Rather than eat in a restaurant pack a picnic and eat at one of the wineries -- they have picnic tables and lovely locations.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bay Area
Aug 18, 2010

Great price for Sonoma

My daughter and I wanted a girls' getaway but wanted to spend most of our money on shopping. So the Sonoma Valley Inn was great because the [...] price could not be beaten. The hotel, itself, was clean and well-appointed. But folks are sort of noisy at the pool, especially after 10pm. And every room faces the pool so you really cannot escape the noise. With that said, the place was great for what we needed. Clean, comfortable bed and a good bathroom. The breakfast is sort of a laugh....they make a big deal about delivering it to your room...but what you get is a basket with under-ripe fruit, Costco muffins and a paper napkin. Nonetheless, it was included in the very low price so all good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cafe Le Haye was quite good. Well sourced chicken and veggies...and put together quite well. The wine was also well-chosen and reasonable. It's just beyond the main Sonoma square.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top