$169 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 28, 2014 Check-out: Aug 29, 2014

BEST WESTERN PLUS Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center

3 stars
550 Second St. West, Sonoma, CA 95476
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
54 reviews
Mother and daughter get away

My daughter and I don't get time often enough just to be the two of us. We thought we would try a... See full review

  • 3 of Kids
  • Jul 17, 2014
perfect for walking downtown

Th.e hotel was great. Rooms were lovely with fireplace (and wood to burn!). The best feature was... See full review

  • week day traveler
  • Jan 26, 2014
Stay next to historic Sonoma Plaza at mid-size conference hotel
Stay in the heart of Sonoma, California, one block from historic 8-acre Sonoma Plaza for a comfortable vacation in wine country. This Best Western franchise is also home to O'Mai Day Spa and a state-of-the-art midsize conference center. Sonoma Valley Inn provides one of the more reasonably priced and urban experiences in wine country with grocery stores, restaurants and shops around every corner. Visit hundreds of Sonoma Valley and Napa Valley wineries within a 20-minute drive.
Highlights
  • Complimentary continental breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • O'Mai Day Spa
  • Pets welcome (fees apply)
  • Eco-friendly and 100 percent nonsmoking
Rooms
All 73 rooms at Sonoma Valley Inn ensure a comfortable stay where guests can enjoy a bubble bath and a cozy fire. Standard rooms have refrigerators, coffee-makers with Starbucks brand coffee, hypoallergenic pillows, in-room safes that fit laptops, and individual temperature control. Extras include rooms with fireplaces, balconies, patios, kitchenettes, twin showers and two-person whirlpool bathtubs. Many rooms overlook the garden courtyard. Free high-speed wired and wireless Internet access is available in all rooms. American Disabilities Act-compliant rooms are available.
Features
Wake up every morning to a complimentary continental breakfast spread. Free coffee is always available in the Sonoma Valley Inn lobby. The inn is home to a pleasant fountain courtyard in the middle of the property. A private outdoor pool (heated year-round and saltwater sanitized) is lined with trees and cushy chaise lounge chairs. Unwind with a hot stone massage or facial from in-house O'Mai Day Spa. A fitness center, Jacuzzi and steam room are also available at the Sonoma Valley Inn. Rent bikes or visit the concierge to plan hot air balloon rides and wine tours. Additional amenities include a laundry facility, 24-hour front desk and free self-parking.
Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (56.5 mi/91 km)
  • Oakland International Airport (57.9 mi/93.1 km)
Attractions
  • Historic Sonoma Plaza (1 block)
  • Ramekins Culinary School (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Napa, Calif. (15.8 mi/25.5 km)
  • Yountville, Calif. (23.1 mi/37.2 km)
  • Pacific coast/Bodega Bay, CA (41.9 mi/ 67.4 km)
Business
  • Four meeting rooms for 170 people
  • Climate-controlled outdoor trellis garden for small gatherings
  • Guest computer with Internet access in lobby
  • Event planning and catering
  • Large in-room desks
  • Free daily newspapers

Hotel Map

38.2912 -122.4614
Area served
Sonoma
Nearby airports
Oakland and San Francisco Airports
Area description
Sonoma and Napa wineries, Historic Sonoma Plaza, Jack London State Park, Six Flags Marine World, San Francisco and the Pacific Coast.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed BEST WESTERN PLUS Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

BEST WESTERN PLUS Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center Rooms

Fireplace Garden King
Featuring a king bed, fireplace, loveseat, and private patio or balcony overlooking our year round flowering garden courtyard. Also included: in-room *Starbucks coffee, refrigerator, voice mail, data port, hairdryer, iron and ironing board, pay-per-view movies.
Fireplace Garden Queen
Featuring 2 queen beds, fireplace, and private patio or balcony overlooking our year round flowering garden courtyard. Also included: in-room *Starbucks coffee, refrigerator, voice mail, data port, hairdryer, iron and ironing board, pay-per-view movies.
Fireplace King
Featuring a king bed and fireplace. Also included: in-room *Starbucks coffee, refrigerator, voice mail, data port, hairdryer, iron and ironing board, pay-per-view movies.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Infineon Raceway: 8.7 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (54)

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN PLUS Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
54 out of 54
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.1

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
lovin wine country
new jersey
Dec 31, 2013

wonderful time

E excellent experience. ...would highly recommend. ...all staff were helpful kind and very professional!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Love Sonoma Getaway
SF Bay
Dec 20, 2013

Nice Overnight Stay in Downtown Sonoma

This hotel meets our needs for its convenient location. It has a small pool, hot tub, and probably a sauna, which we didn't use because it was late when we arrived and it was cold. The breakfast was adequate. However, after checkout, I was informed everything was okay, but when I checked my credit card, there's a $20 charge on it, which I will have to call to ask about it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Hotel is close to many things. Restaurants are a short walk away, and a Whole Food Market is just across the street.

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Joni angel
Ohio
Dec 14, 2013

Enjoyable stay

We stayed two nights and it was very enjoyable, we used the hot tub and steam room breakfast was not bad room was clean and the staff was friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Hotel was located in town easy to walk to shops and restaurants,

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
580 Jay
Livermore, CA
Aug 29, 2013

Best hotel for the money in Sonoma

If you are looking to stay at a hotel within walking distance of the square, and still be under $200/night, this is your hotel. I always stay here when I come to Sonoma.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Stop by Maya Restaurant on the square, great food and killer drinks. Be sure to try one of their tequila-jitos!!

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pav Man
Chicago Area
Aug 3, 2013

Good choice in Sonoma

Only stayed for 1 night, but this was a perfect choice while in Sonoma. Its located downtown only a few blocks to the Sonoma Plaza with numerous shops and restaurants near by. We were given a free upgrade to a suite which was very spacious. We needed an extra bed and were told would be an addtional fee but at check out was informed we wouldn't be charged. Room was clean and complimentary breakfast better that average. I would stay there again without hesitation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Good food close by. Ask hotel satff for recommendations.

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mer201
New York, NY
Jun 24, 2013

Girls trip

Was there for a girls trip after a wedding. Very conveniently located and the room was spacious. Needed more lighting in the bathroom and it was weird that the room opened up right to the sink. Otherwise it was a great room and really close to town.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
chadpole
hermosa beach, ca
Jun 12, 2013

Horrible Quality

This hotel was a complete disaster. It charges like a hotel and lives like a roadway motel. The carpet was dirty, the rooms were loud, the pillows were musty smelling, and my comforter had urine stains on it. The pool was disgustingly dirty. Staff was nice but hotel is a disaster.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Lizzy2409
Calgary, Canada
May 17, 2013

Below Average

Great location, dirty pool, room was falling apart needed much maintenance. I had the make up room please sign on door and when I return staff cart was outside and they asked do you really want your room made, I said yes they asked again like it was a hassle and I said just give me towels. Felt like I was bothering them

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Square

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
the weekend go getter
san jose, ca
May 6, 2013

pretty nice

overall a nice hotel. just a short walk to downtown sonoma.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Brookest
Australia
Apr 12, 2013

Expected more for the money we paid.

Despite the hotel being in a great location, and, an easy walk to Sonoma town square, the hotel was a bit disappointing. We paid less money for a room for 2 nights in Napa and got a lot more for our money. The hotel room was quite tired-looking and the breakfast was awful. Paper plates, plastic cutlery and a crammed breakfast room with poor seating options. It seemed a room more suited to a round table conference than a breakfast room. It was certainly not what we thought a continental breakfast/venue would be, and we have done a fair bit of traveling around the world.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Back to menu Return to top

Change search