$129 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 21, 2015 Check-out: Jun 22, 2015

BEST WESTERN PLUS Carriage Inn

3 stars
View map of 5525 Sepulveda Boulevard, Sherman Oaks, CA 91411

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN PLUS Carriage Inn

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
336 out of 336
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.8

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Carriage Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
rudyroo77
Business
chicago, il
Jun 28, 2014

great price

Great price for last minute reservation. Room was clean and beds were comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Carriage Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
crazy tom
Business
norcal
Jun 27, 2014

great stay

It is very hard to find a great value hotel near universal. Studios. After several years of trying we lucked out and found about the best western. We found the bed and pillows to be very comfortable. The room was very clean and staff was efficient. Commute time to universal studios was 20 minutes Max. Air conditioner takes An extraordinary amount of time to cool The room down. Denny's right next door for a good breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Carriage Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
T.Slim
Business
Seattle
Jun 25, 2014

Have stayed several times

It seems like every time I'm there, they are improving the property. That means though, that there can be various inconveniences while they do so. This time the parking lot was being refinished, reducing the already not-quite-enough parking spaces. Other than that, a pleasure as always.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The Denny's in the parking lot doesn't appear to be giving a discount to hotel guests anymore. At least, that's what the manager told me when I tried to show him my room card.

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Carriage Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Fang777
Business
califorinia
Jun 18, 2014

really nice hotel

good place, the position is fantastic. it's really close to santa monica and universal studio.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Carriage Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Las Vegas, NV
Jun 17, 2014

Parking a Problem

Shares property with 24/7 restaurant. Not enough parking spaces. Came back after 10:00 p.m. both nights and had to park on the street (two blocks down and one night on opposite side of street - same location) and walk back to my room. Not the best situation on busy street in not so good area of town. The hotel is super, beautifully decorated with great amenities but if not for a 'deal' it would have been out of my reach dollar wise. These rooms should be priced under $100 not over. Location central but not good neighborhood or sufficient parking. Problematic and inconvenient at best. The regular price is way over-priced for location and what you get.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Carriage Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kywh
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Jun 17, 2014

Great location, easy access to Universal and the Hills

The staff was very friendly. There was a situation with the water heater the first morning, but they staff was really friendly and addressed it in a timely fashion. The room was clean and comfortable. This location was perfect--easy access to the freeways. We went to Universal Studios, hiked in the hills, and hit Venice Beach while we were in town. It didn't take long to drive to any of those locations from this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The Blue Dog Tavern is a little over a mile down the road--great burgers and brews.

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Carriage Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
No hot water
Business
Victorville, ca
Jun 17, 2014

My stay

My daughter graduated from UCLA on the morning of the 14th. The hotel room was nice and no issue there. However when we awoke in the am no hot water at all. We had to take a bird bath and I did not wash my hair. Needless to say not to happy. When we left at 7 am I spoke with Robert at front desk he said hw heater broke. He informed me that I would get a full refund in approx 7 days. Robert was very kind and polite.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Carriage Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tilla N.
Business
Las Vegas, NV
Jun 17, 2014

parking is a problem.

Hotel has 24/7 restaurant on site that shares parking. Returned to room about 10:00 PM both nights with no parking available for guests. 3-4 cars driving round and round in lot waiting for someone to leave so could have parking space. I ended up parking on busy street about two blocks away on opposite side of street and having to walk back to room. Perhaps assigned parking for guests could be a solution. All else very good. Very nice rooms beautifully decorated and very clean. Large screen TV and good sized refrigerator. Staff is very helpful an friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Carriage Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ted531
Business
Richmond, Ca
Jun 13, 2014

Place to rest your head

nothing special. Nothing bad. decent room. clean. not bad location not too close to Hollywood not too far. Very close to highway. easy to get somewhere fast. Denny's 1 minute walk. Bathroom clean . no view.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Carriage Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sara pleased client
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Jun 12, 2014

Quick Family Trip

Clean, easy to locate and not bad for the price. Beds were fantastic.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top