$118 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 21, 2014 Check-out: Jul 23, 2014

BEST WESTERN PLUS Wine Country Inn & Suites

3 stars
870 Hopper Avenue, Santa Rosa, CA 95403-1611
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
141 reviews
Sonoma Visit

Great hotel just a little hard to get into from the main highway. See full review

  • ncwino
  • Nov 21, 2013
Great place to stay

We used this hotel as a base for our trip to the wine country. The property was very clean and nice. See full review

  • Garrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr
  • Jul 29, 2013
Quiet and sunny Santa Rosa hotel with outdoor pool and breakfast
Wine Country Inn and Suites Santa Rosa is located in a relaxed suburban area central to Sonoma County attractions. The hotel is close to Highway 101, making it easy to explore the Sonoma Country wineries. The Sonoma County Airport and Charles Schulz Museum are nearby. This Santa Rosa hotel has a pool and shaded garden running through the middle. An expanded breakfast buffet includes cinnamon rolls. Rooms include free high-speed Internet access, microwaves, refrigerators, coffee-makers and a private balcony or patio. Parking is free.
Highlights
  • Five minute drive to downtown Santa Rosa
  • Complimentary breakfast with hot cinnamon rolls
  • Outdoor swimming pool and garden
  • Complimentary high-speed Internet access in all rooms
  • Pet-friendly (fees apply, call for details)
Rooms
Rooms at Wine Country Inn and Suites Santa Rosa open up to the outside, with patios, balconies and exterior entrances. All rooms have mini refrigerators, microwaves, individual temperature control and comfortable king or double size beds. Free high-speed Internet access is available. Sofa sleepers and Jacuzzi tubs are available in suite units at Wine Country Inn and Suites Santa Rosa.
Features
Wine Country Inn and Suites Santa Rosa has a garden and swimming pool courtyard in the center of the property. The courtyard welcomes visitors to relax with a whirlpool and barbecue grills. A complimentary breakfast includes hot cinnamon rolls. There is a Starbucks coffee shop next door. The Wine Country Inn and Suites Santa Rosa offers same-day dry cleaning and a 24-hour front desk for busy travelers.
Transportation
  • Sonoma County Airport (6.2 mi/9.9 km)
  • Santa Rosa Greyhound bus terminal (6.7 mi/10.7 km)
  • San Francisco International Airport (69 mi/111 km)
  • Oakland International Airport (70.7 mi/114 km)
Attractions
  • Charles Schulz ("Snoopy") Museum (1.8 mi/2.9 km)
  • Downtown Santa Rosa (3.4 mi/5.5 km)
  • Sonoma County Fairgrounds (5.6 mi/9 km)
  • Russian River/Guerneville, Calif. (17.6 mi/28.3 km)
Business
  • Business center with faxing and copying services
  • Conference/event space for 115
  • Desks in rooms
  • Free high-speed Internet in rooms

Hotel Map

38.4791 -122.7359
Area served
Cloverdale, Rohnert Park, Oakland, Healdsburg, Petaluma, Windsor, Novato, Corte Madera, San Francisco, Sebastopol
Nearby airports
(SFO), 73.00, MI, S;
Area description
Expressway

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed BEST WESTERN PLUS Wine Country Inn & Suites also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

BEST WESTERN PLUS Wine Country Inn & Suites Rooms

2 DOUBLE BEDS
2 DOUBLE BEDS,NSMK,HISPD,BALCONY OR PATIO,MICRFG,FULL BREAKFAST
2 DOUBLE BEDS
2 DOUBLE BEDS,SMOK,HISPD,BALCONY OR PATIO,MICRFG,FULL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,HISPD,BALCONY OR PATIO,MICRFG,FULL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,SMOK,HISPD,BALCONY OR PATIO,MICRFG,FULL BREAKFAST
SUITE-2 DOUBLE BEDS
SUITE-2 DOUBLE BEDS,NSM,JACUZZI,SOFBD,BALCNY OR PATIO,MICRFG,FULL BREAKFAST
SUITE-1 KING BED
SUITE-1 KING BED,NSMK,JETTED TUB,SOFABED,MICRFG,HI SPEED,FULL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,MOBILITY ACCESSIBLE,ROLL IN SHOWER,NSMK,FULL BREAKFAST
SUITE-1 KING BED
SUITE-1 KING BED,MOBILITY ACCESSIBLE,ROLL SHWR,SOFBD,NSMK,FULL BREAKFAST
SUITE-2 DOUBLE BEDS
SUITE-2 DOUBLE BEDS,MOBILITY ACCESSIBLE,ROLL SHWR,SOFBD,NSMK,FULL BREAKFAST

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Heated pool
Fitness center or spa
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Express checkout
Security
Wake-up service
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
FAX
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Truck parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Phone with speaker
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Cribs available
Sofa bed
Electronic door locks
Ironing board

Dining

Flavor
2.00 mile(s) from Flavor, full service, International, open for: lunch, dinner, located in central downtown Santa Rosa
Taco Bell
Across the street from Taco Bell, fast food, Mexican, open for: lunch, dinner
The Ticket Bar and Grill
0.50 mile(s) from The Ticket Bar and Grill, bar/lounge, American, open for: lunch, dinner
McDonald's®
Across the street from McDonald's®, fast food, American, open for: breakfast, lunch, dinner
Mary's Pizza Shack
1.80 mile(s) from Mary's Pizza Shack, full service, Italian, open for: lunch, dinner
Puerta Vallarta
0.50 mile(s) from Puerta Vallarta, fast food, Mexican, open for: lunch, dinner
Carrows
0.40 mile(s) from Carrows, full service, American, open for: breakfast, lunch, dinner, open 24 hours
Arby's
Across the street from Arby's, fast food, American, open for: breakfast, lunch, dinner
Applebee's
Across the street from Applebee's, full service, American, open for: lunch, dinner, restaurant offers carside to go

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (141)

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN PLUS Wine Country Inn & Suites

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
141 out of 141
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
3.6
Value:
3.6

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Wine Country Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Pauly C.
Chicago, Illinois
Jul 9, 2014

Great accessible location

This is a plain motel...nothing fancy. But, acceptable if you want your travel dollars to go toward your daytime fun rather than where you sleep and shower. The morning breakfast was actually better than expected and than what I've experienced at similar hotels. Highly convenient access to highway 101.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

This hotel's access to highway 101 makes it a convenient "home base" to work Sonoma wine country. If you have a day to relax while still enjoying the wine experience, try Francis Ford Coppola's winery about 20 minutes north on 101.

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Wine Country Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
12345678987654321
Cali
Jun 30, 2014

Nice staff

The hotel met my needs for a one night stop. The staff was very helpful, nice, and wanted to help.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Wine Country Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NAP81
Crescent City, CA
Jun 20, 2014

Appt.

Perfect location for my husband and myself. Had a appt. the following morning and was almost across the street. The ladies at the front desk were so kind and made us feel at home.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Wine Country Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
badhombre
Sacramento, CA
Jun 19, 2014

Not a good experience

Travel website assigns rooms and the hotel staff said they couldn't change that. People in the room we were assigned got a late check-out. The room reeked of cigarette smoke to the point of not being able to sleep.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Wine Country Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jwise
Santa Rosa
Mar 9, 2014

Suite

Very nice an comfortable staff was very helpful breakfast was pretty good also

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Wine Country Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
HM3200
Santa Clarita, CA
Feb 17, 2014

Hockey Tournament

The hotel overall was ok. We did have some issues with our room and with a better cleaning crew it probably would have been taken care of. The beds are not very comfortable at all. Will not be staying at this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Wine Country Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Fun Traveler 99
San Jose, CA
Jan 7, 2014

Fun family tour

The staffs are very friendly and helpful. The location is not bad. It's closed to downtown area. So it's not hard to dine out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

It's not far to drive to downtown.

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Wine Country Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kaydee44
Roseburg, Oregon
Dec 13, 2013

When visiting the grandkids

We stay here for 4-5 nights at a time to visit the grand kids. It's clean, comfortable, and serves a full breakfast that varies from day to day. We are only there to shower and sleep, so it's very adequate for that. It is not for the traveler that is looking for a resort experience, however.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Wine Country Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bee ing
Savannah GA
Dec 6, 2013

good, clean, quiet, very nice staff

We would happily stay there again. Fine for a place to sleep after a day sightseeing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Wine Country Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Naniwahine
Kapolei
Dec 4, 2013

They gave my prepaid room away to someone else!

I checked into hotel Wednesday, got my key, they took a credit card impression, etc.; I told manager at desk that I was going up north for two days and would be back on Friday -- I had made a nonrefundable payment for Wednesday through Sunday - he said fine. I returned noon Friday, used my key to get into room, unpacked and went out for afternoon. I came back, used my key, changed clothes and went to dinner and used key to get back into room. Saturday morning, went to hotel breakfast room, used my key to get back into my room without a problem. I then went to do some shopping and when I came back, I could not get into my room. Went to front desk and was told they had given my room away since housekeeping said it was unused when they checked Thursday and Friday morning!!! Eventually she said I could move my belongings into the room next door -- I was not happy. Custodian took me to other room -- it reeked probably of cigerette smoke although a 'non-smoking room'; I told him room was completely unacceptable and why should I have to move when my belongings were already hanging in closet, in drawers, etc. No idea why new occupant did not tell hotel that it was occupied? Eventually they allowed me to stay in my original room and moved other person (messy) to other room, after which I then had to leave so housekeeping could clean up his mess which upset my afternoon/evening schedulle. While person on front desk casually indicated "gee we are sorry but you weren't in room" -- despite the fact that I had paid for the room and they had no intention of refunding any of my money. They offerred nothing to compensate me for the inconvenience they caused me and throughout last two days of my stay showed no remorse for what they did. Note: I have stayed at this location at Thanksgiving weekend for the past five years! Not sure will continue to do so despite its convenient location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Applebees across the street, Carrows a couple blocks away. New pizza place nearby.

Back to menu Return to top