$454 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 20, 2014 Check-out: Aug 22, 2014

Oceana Beach Club Hotel

4 stars
849 Ocean Ave., Santa Monica, CA 90403
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
28 reviews
Exceptional Hotel

We stayed at Oceana beach hotel on our last night of a fly/drive holiday, From the moment we... See full review

  • Margaret F
  • Oct 1, 2012
Comfortably Modern

The Oceana Santa Monica is located across from beautiful Palisades Park, which runs the length of a... See full review

  • Getaway Guy
  • Apr 8, 2011
"Named one of the world's top new hotels of 2008 on Conde Naste's Hot List" Located in a quiet residential neighborhood and just steps from Ocean Avenues palm-lined cliffs, Oceana offers stunning ocean views, as well as convenient access to Santa Monica's tourist attractions and businesses. The hotel is a short walk to the upscale shops on Montana Avenue, Santa Monica Pier, and Third Street Promenade shopping and restaurants. Expansive Santa Monica beach is a modest walk from the hotel and viewable from many of the suites. The Getty Museum, Westwood, UCLA and Century City are only a short drive away. Los Angeles International Airport is 16 miles south, about 25 minutes by car. Oceana is an ideal retreat for vacationers, businessmen and families desiring spacious upscale accommodations in a more private and relaxed atmosphere. Facilities and services include the Tower 8 restaurant with both indoor and al fresco poolside dining, bar, room service, outdoor courtyard with fireplace, outdoor heated swimming pool, well-equipped 24-hour fitness center, business services, meeting room, accessible rooms, massage service and valet parking. Concierge and guest services staff are available 24 hours to help meet any guest need. Accommodations include 18 rooms and 52 suites, all especially spacious and uniquely decorated. Amenities include blackout drapes, iHome iPod adapter, both network and wireless high-speed Internet access, dataport, work area with desk, mini-bar, PC-size safe, in-room movies, 50 inch plasma TV with HD cable channels, IDD two-line phones and voice mail. Select suites feature balconies and sofa beds. All accommodations and public areas are non-smoking.

An $22 service fee will apply per room, per night and will be charged directly upon check-out.

The hotel offers Valet Parking only and is available for a $36 dollars per night plus tax.

The hotel offers breakfast at a rate of $25 dollars per adult plus tax

Oceana Beach Club Hotel Rooms

Lanai Suite
One king bed with duvet-covered comforter (bedspread), down pillows, and Egyptian cotton linens, Courtyard or pool view with semi-private lanai in front of suite, 825 square feet, Semi-private work area, High-definition plasma TV, wired high-speed and wireless Internet access, iPod/MP3 docking station, and dual-line speakerphones. Bathroom with marble vanity and flooring, complimentary Aveda products, and plush terry-cloth bathrobes, Ceiling fans and climate control.
Ocean View Suite
One king bed with Egyptian-cotton linens, down pillows, and duvet-covered comforter (bedspread) in bedroom. May have connecting doors. Full ocean view with open floor plan. Exterior-corridor access. 825 square feet. Semi-private work area. High-definition plasma TV. Wired high-speed and wireless Internet access (surcharge). iHome docking station. Dual-line speakerphones. Bathroom with marble vanity and flooring, Frette bath sheets, and plush terry-cloth bathrobes. Ceiling fan.
Deluxe Room
Either one king size bed or two double beds, with duvet-covered comforter (bedspread), down pillows, and Egyptian cotton linens, Courtyard view, 525 square feet, Semi-private work area, High-definition plasma TV,wired high-speed and wireless Internet access, iPod/MP3 docking station, and dual-line speakerphones. Bathroom with marble vanity and flooring, complimentary Kiehls products, and plush terry-cloth bathrobes, Ceiling fans and climate control.
One Bedroom Suite
One king bed with Egyptian-cotton linens in separate bedroom. 825 square feet. Living room. Semi-private work area. Wired high-speed and wireless Internet access (surcharge). High-definition plasma TV. iHome docking station. Dual-line speakerphones. Bathroom with Frette bath sheets and plush terry-cloth bathrobes. Ceiling fan.
Santa Monica Room
Either one king size bed or two double beds, (the bedding type is based upon availability), with duvet-covered comforter (bedspread), down pillows, and Egyptian cotton linens, Courtyard view, 525 square feet, Semi-private work area, High-definition plasma TV,wired high-speed and wireless Internet access, iPod/MP3 docking station, and dual-line speakerphones. Bathroom with marble vanity and flooring, complimentary Kiehls products, and plush terry-cloth bathrobes, Ceiling fans and climate control.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Oceana Beach Club Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Hotel Map

34.0214 -118.506
Area served
Third Street Promenade .5 mi, Santa Monica Pier .5 mi, Venice Beach 3 mi, Getty Center 3 mi, Staples Center 10 mi, Disneyland 30 mi, Universal Studios 30 mi.
Nearby airports
(LAX)Los Angeles Airport (LGB)Long Beach (BUR)Burbank Airport
Area description
With world-class beaches, museums, shopping, dining and entertainment nearby, The Oceana is the perfect place to unwind, relax and rejuvenate.

Dining

Tower 8
Food with a view by Josiah Citrin. As a Santa Monica native and avid surfer, my respect for the ocean extends to the surrounding community that I call home. Inspired by the seasons and the local colors that make up this unique landscape, I have created the menu at Tower 8 to reflect all that is Southern California. The menu is a taste of how I enjoy cooking for guests at my own home.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (28)

Ratings and reviews for Oceana Beach Club Hotel

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
28 out of 28
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.4
Value:
4

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Oceana Beach Club Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Margaret F
Santa Monica
Oct 1, 2012

Exceptional Hotel

We stayed at Oceana beach hotel on our last night of a fly/drive holiday, From the moment we arrived the staff were exceptional, they upgraded us to a suite which was absolutly fabulous, the location/food and service were first class. We wished we could have stayed longer - it was a lovely finish to our holiday - when we visit Santa Monica again then this hotel is our first choice. Many thanks to your wonderful staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Oceana Beach Club Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Med27
Riverside, CA
Sep 28, 2012

Outstanding place to stay!

The dinner or buffet in the morning is quiet and incredable food. Try the coconut panada. Incredable. I will return if only to have dinner. Got to have a couple of drawbacks? To get to the lobby and check-in .... a guest must be able to do 20 or so step stairsteps. Elevator to everything else. Valet parking only.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Oceana Beach Club Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Denv10
Denver, CO, USA
Mar 29, 2012

Fantastic stay with teen daughter

This hotel is wonderful and has a boutique hotel vibe. The staff is attentive without being effusive which is perfect in California. The location is ideal since it is a few blocks north of Santa Monica pier traffic. The only negative is that the breakfast is offered at an expensive set price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Oceana Beach Club Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York, NY, USA
Oct 29, 2011

Small, quaint and great staff!

Pool was heated, so even though it was 59 degrees we still hit the pool (although it could have been slightly warmer than 84 degrees - 90 degrees would have been better). They allow 24 hour pool access as long as you are quiet - which is awesome! The staff is very friendly, fast and attentive. We wished they had an outdoor hot tub - that would have made it perfect. If you are traveling with a group, make sure you bring your own mirrors. There were no mirrors at all in the room besides the ones in the bathroom (when someone was showering they got all fogged up and when people were using the bathroom you could not access the mirrors). They also need some type of gift shop that was the only thing odd. But overall I give 4 out of 5 stars!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Santa Monica Blvd has some hot clubs (Abbey, Palms, Ultra Suede, Rage, etc.) - it's about 15 minute drive from the Oceana. Whether you are straight or gay that strip has the perfect spots for everyone!

Review of Oceana Beach Club Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Joe L.
San Carlos, CA, USA
Oct 4, 2011

Very good room, service

The room was very nice, almost more of an apartment feel than a hotel, given how spacious it was. The only negatives with it were an extremely minor ant problem (I saw maybe a handful scattered across the room) and the minibar had a minibottle that was empty, which I had to point out to avoid getting charged for it. The service was excellent. Everybody was very helpful and friendly. The only hiccups were that I had to mention that I had a food credit when I checked out to have it applied to my bill and there was a daily service charge that was not explained to me in advance. But none of this would prevent me from staying at this place again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Oceana Beach Club Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Joe L.
San Carlos, CA, USA
Oct 4, 2011

Very good room, service

The room was very nice, almost more of an apartment feel than a hotel, given how spacious it was. The only negatives with it were an extremely minor ant problem (I saw maybe a handful scattered across the room) and the minibar had a minibottle that was empty, which I had to point out to avoid getting charged for it. The service was excellent. Everybody was very helpful and friendly. The only hiccups were that I had to mention that I had a food credit when I checked out to have it applied to my bill and there was a daily service charge that was not explained to me in advance. But none of this would prevent me from staying at this place again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Oceana Beach Club Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
berlin, md
Jun 18, 2011

Great vibe and super location, but...

Great place but not welcoming for kids. Pool rules became tighter each day. And, pool closes at 6 pm since restaurant is directly next to the pool. Failed to mention that in the marketing materials. Overall, a beautiful boutique hotel in a super location, but just not ideal for a family with kids (even if they're well behave as ours were).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Oceana Beach Club Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
berlin, md
Jun 18, 2011

Great vibe and super location, but...

Great place but not welcoming for kids. Pool rules became tighter each day. And, pool closes at 6 pm since restaurant is directly next to the pool. Failed to mention that in the marketing materials. Overall, a beautiful boutique hotel in a super location, but just not ideal for a family with kids (even if they're well behave as ours were).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Oceana Beach Club Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Don Carlitos
Medford, Oregon
Apr 14, 2011

Nice find, great location

Early check-in accommodated with grace. Staff was friendly & helpful. Room was spacious & clean, if a bit noisy. View was as advertised. Restaurant was nice, simple and appropriately priced - even if the mini-bar was outrageous. Hotel has $20/day fees that provide access to fast WiFi, the spa/gym, and highly-recommended cruiser bikes for the boardwalk. We will be returning to this property. Location was wonderful, close to everything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Make use of the almost free cruiser bikes provided as part of the service fee package. Great way to see the boardwalk and city.

Review of Oceana Beach Club Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Don Carlitos
Medford, Oregon
Apr 14, 2011

Nice find, great location

Early check-in accommodated with grace. Staff was friendly & helpful. Room was spacious & clean, if a bit noisy. View was as advertised. Restaurant was nice, simple and appropriately priced - even if the mini-bar was outrageous. Hotel has $20/day fees that provide access to fast WiFi, the spa/gym, and highly-recommended cruiser bikes for the boardwalk. We will be returning to this property. Location was wonderful, close to everything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Make use of the almost free cruiser bikes provided as part of the service fee package. Great way to see the boardwalk and city.

Back to menu Return to top