$199 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 18, 2015 Check-out: Jan 21, 2015

Ocean View Hotel

3 stars
1447 Ocean Avenue, Santa Monica, CA 90401
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.0
out of 5
67 reviews
Rooms a remodeled!

I was so excited to get there and see all the remodeling they were doing to the rooms. They have me... See full review

  • Chrizztopher
  • Apr 14, 2014
Service Needs Work

Great Hotel Manager. Poor desk service. Poor phone answering, concierge service. See full review

  • GI Jenni
  • Nov 20, 2014
The perfect hotel in Santa Monica - affordable- stylish and across the street from Santa Monica Beach- only one block from the Santa Monica Pier- Shopping Mall and Third Street Promenade. Travelers to Santa Monica will find refined charm in a warm and appealing atmosphere at the AAA 3-diamond rated and green certified Ocean View Hotel. Guests to this hotel will enjoy close access and panoramic views of beautiful Santa Monica Beach. Hotel accommodations feature well-appointed 100 percent non-smoking guest rooms and free high-speed Internet access. Select rooms include private balconies with ocean views. This Santa Monica hotels prestigious location places guests within walking distance of the areas finest restaurants- shopping-entertainment- cafes and art galleries including the excitement of Santa Monica Pier and the popular Third Street Promenade. Experience year-round sunshine- caressed by gentle Pacific breezes and cooled by the clear blue waters of Santa Monica Bay at the Ocean View Hotel. Our staff extends you a warm and friendly invitation- Come and enjoy our hospitality and let us make the Ocean View Hotel your place to stay in Santa Monica. Make an online reservation today for a low rate guarantee. Located across the street from the beach- one block from Santa Monica Pier- Third Street Promenade- Santa Monica Place Shopping Mall- and Civic Auditorium. 6 miles from Los Angeles International Airport-LAX. 1 mile from Venice Beach. 15 minutes to Malibu Beach- Beverly Hills- Hollywood- and downtown Los Angeles.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Ocean View Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Ocean View Hotel Rooms

1 King Bed-Courtyard
1 King Bed-Courtyard-Non Smoking-Complimentary Wireless Internet
1 King Bed-Courtyard-Private Bal
1 King Bed-Courtyard-Private Balcony-Non Smoking-Complimentary Wireless Internet
1 King Bed-Ocean View-Private Ba
1 King Bed-Ocean View-Private Balcony-Non Smoking-Complimentary Wireless Internet
Two Double Beds-Courtyard-Privat
Two Double Beds-Courtyard-Private Balcony-Non Smoking-Complimentary Wireless Internet
Two Double Beds-Courtyard
Two Double Beds-Courtyard-Non Smoking-Complimentary Wireless Internet
Two Double Beds-Ocean View-Priva
Two Double Beds-Ocean View-Private Balcony-Non Smoking-Complimentary Wireless Internet
ROOM AMENITIES
Description not provided

Amenities

General
Concierge
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Golf
Tennis
Fishing
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Services
24 hour front desk
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Barber/Beauty shop
Parking
Parking
Room
Television with cable
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (67)

Ratings and reviews for Ocean View Hotel

Overall score

2.7 / 5
5.01.0
18 out of 67
Amenities:
2.2
Room cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4.2
Value:
2.7

67% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Ocean View Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Juls checking colleges
Business
San Jose, California
Sep 8, 2014

Good looks on the outside can't cover for flaws

We were severely disappointed in this hotel. Upon check in we were hit with a steep per night parking fee that was never mentioned in the reservation process. It's not in the hotel policies and additional billing information. Several parking lots within a block away charge less. Newly remodeled our television was not cabled correctly and did not work. After a 45 min wait someone came to fix it. The cable offerings were not as advertised, there were very few channels, no channel guide capability and no HBO which they touted on the website. They were short staffed and thus multiple trips to the front desk were required because phones not answered. The phone system was not set up and pushing speed dial buttons for customer service inoperable. Only one of the two elevators serviced the 2nd level parking so if we were on the wrong one, we had to switch elevators in the lobby - very inconvenient. This is an amazing location right across from the beach however for the high dollars charged, everything should work.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean View Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
tmbpinal
Business
Santa Monica, CA
Aug 5, 2014

Not as it seems

I was hoping this would be a great hotel to the end of our trip. Was I wrong - key machine not working - couldn't get in and out of room or elevator without going to get help. No drink machine or food on premises. Major construction day we were there and our car was filthy and very loud and dirty. When I asked for discount - was told flat out no refunds!!! Very displeased. Staff not helpful with help on room keys etc had to ask several times.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The pier was a lot of fun and very beautiful!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean View Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
H.Sku
Business
Minneapolis
Jun 14, 2014

Three stars all around

Nice small hotel. Rooms are a tiny bit tight but nice enough. Staff was nice and helpful. Location was about a block north and across street form pier and beach. Our room faced rooftops and other balconies but that was fine as we didn't spend much time inside. The tv and furnishings were nice. And the room was clean and smelled wonderfully of Aveda!! Parking is only $20 and it's right downstairs, it's tight but seems safe and secure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean View Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
L. A. Vibe
Business
Santa Monica
Sep 23, 2013

Perfect location

Had a very nice stay here. Nothing over-the-top but location couldn't be better and staff was very friendly and helpful. They are planning updates so perhaps next visit will be even better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean View Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jimbomac7
Business
Florida
Aug 20, 2013

Great location

Close to everything! Easy to walk to shows, restaurants, & bars

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything is close

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean View Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CSanderson
Business
Alta Loma
Jul 21, 2013

Great Location, staff was friendly

This hotel was not our right choice but more of our last choice as we booked the room just a few hours before we arrived and did not know what to expect. The staff was friendly, the location was great, it was right across the street from the Santa Monica pier. The room was clean but it smelled of bleach when we arrived. The beds were clean and we slept well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything is close by, shopping, food and attractions.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean View Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
howie 1
Business
north dakota
Apr 16, 2013

family getaway

location was good, right across from beach and santa monica pier. good restaurants close buy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean View Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
So Cal Vacay
Business
Denver, CO
Mar 29, 2013

Good hotel for the price

Great price for being a beach front hotel within walking distance to the Santa Monica pier.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean View Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mary Colleen
Business
La Habra Heights, CA
Feb 21, 2013

Great View

It was really cool seeing all the people and the Pier.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean View Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Aaron B
Business
Berlin
Nov 26, 2012

Only location.

Good location but... Our room was above restaurant/bar and they played music to 3am so loud that i could singalong. Hairdryer was missing, socket was broken and one towel missing. Hotel needs renovation and fast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top