$219 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 1, 2014 Check-out: Sep 3, 2014

Ocean View Hotel

3 stars
1447 Ocean Avenue, Santa Monica, CA 90401
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
70 reviews
Rooms a remodeled!

I was so excited to get there and see all the remodeling they were doing to the rooms. They have me... See full review

  • Chrizztopher
  • Apr 14, 2014
Nice hotel near the beach

Good hotel for the price. Very close to the beach. See full review

  • Southern Cali girl
  • Aug 1, 2014
The perfect hotel in Santa Monica - affordable- stylish and across the street from Santa Monica Beach- only one block from the Santa Monica Pier- Shopping Mall and Third Street Promenade. Travelers to Santa Monica will find refined charm in a warm and appealing atmosphere at the AAA 3-diamond rated and green certified Ocean View Hotel. Guests to this hotel will enjoy close access and panoramic views of beautiful Santa Monica Beach. Hotel accommodations feature well-appointed 100 percent non-smoking guest rooms and free high-speed Internet access. Select rooms include private balconies with ocean views. This Santa Monica hotels prestigious location places guests within walking distance of the areas finest restaurants- shopping-entertainment- cafes and art galleries including the excitement of Santa Monica Pier and the popular Third Street Promenade. Experience year-round sunshine- caressed by gentle Pacific breezes and cooled by the clear blue waters of Santa Monica Bay at the Ocean View Hotel. Our staff extends you a warm and friendly invitation- Come and enjoy our hospitality and let us make the Ocean View Hotel your place to stay in Santa Monica. Make an online reservation today for a low rate guarantee. Located across the street from the beach- one block from Santa Monica Pier- Third Street Promenade- Santa Monica Place Shopping Mall- and Civic Auditorium. 6 miles from Los Angeles International Airport-LAX. 1 mile from Venice Beach. 15 minutes to Malibu Beach- Beverly Hills- Hollywood- and downtown Los Angeles.

Hotel Map

34.0132 -118.4965
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Ocean View Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Ocean View Hotel Rooms

1 King Bed-Courtyard
1 King Bed-Courtyard-Non Smoking-Complimentary Wireless Internet
1 King Bed-Courtyard-Private Bal
1 King Bed-Courtyard-Private Balcony-Non Smoking-Complimentary Wireless Internet
1 King Bed-Ocean View-Private Ba
1 King Bed-Ocean View-Private Balcony-Non Smoking-Complimentary Wireless Internet
Two Double Beds-Courtyard-Privat
Two Double Beds-Courtyard-Private Balcony-Non Smoking-Complimentary Wireless Internet
Two Double Beds-Courtyard
Two Double Beds-Courtyard-Non Smoking-Complimentary Wireless Internet
Two Double Beds-Ocean View-Priva
Two Double Beds-Ocean View-Private Balcony-Non Smoking-Complimentary Wireless Internet
ROOM AMENITIES
Description not provided

Amenities

General
Concierge
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Golf
Tennis
Fishing
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Services
24 hour front desk
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Barber/Beauty shop
Parking
Parking
Room
Television with cable
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (70)

Ratings and reviews for Ocean View Hotel

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
70 out of 70
Amenities:
2.5
Room cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.5
Room comfort:
3.1
Location:
4.4
Value:
3

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Ocean View Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Awen89
Rockford Illinois
Aug 13, 2014

An ok stay

Very good location near beach, but for families traveling with children- no. Next to bars that play music all hours of the night. No smoking anywhere- big fines if caught. Beautiful view but for $500 a night I would enjoy to smoke on my balcony. False advertisement. No complimentary breakfast. Parking is real tight. Otherwise, good location and good view.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

3rd street promenade was amazing! Lots of places to shop and eat. The beach was a further walk than expected. The pier was also decently close but very crowded!

Review of Ocean View Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
tmbpinal
Santa Monica, CA
Aug 5, 2014

Not as it seems

I was hoping this would be a great hotel to the end of our trip. Was I wrong - key machine not working - couldn't get in and out of room or elevator without going to get help. No drink machine or food on premises. Major construction day we were there and our car was filthy and very loud and dirty. When I asked for discount - was told flat out no refunds!!! Very displeased. Staff not helpful with help on room keys etc had to ask several times.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The pier was a lot of fun and very beautiful!

Review of Ocean View Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Southern Cali girl
San Diego, ca
Aug 1, 2014

Nice hotel near the beach

Good hotel for the price. Very close to the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Ocean View Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
H.Sku
Minneapolis
Jun 14, 2014

Three stars all around

Nice small hotel. Rooms are a tiny bit tight but nice enough. Staff was nice and helpful. Location was about a block north and across street form pier and beach. Our room faced rooftops and other balconies but that was fine as we didn't spend much time inside. The tv and furnishings were nice. And the room was clean and smelled wonderfully of Aveda!! Parking is only $20 and it's right downstairs, it's tight but seems safe and secure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Ocean View Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
CTobin
Boston, MA
May 21, 2014

Not bad, but needs to be clear on amenities

The Ocean View Hotel was OK. The staff was fairly courteous but didn't seem knowledgeable about the area. The room was clean but the elevator and parking garage smelled strongly of urine. There were also a lot of vagrants around the parking area. There were zero amenities. They advertize "free wi-fi" but I was unable to connect to it at all. There were ice machines on the floor but there weren't any vending machines or any place to get a bottle of water on premises. All in all, it wasn't a bad place if you're just looking for a place to rest your head at night but if you're looking for more, I recommend looking elsewhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Ocean View Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Chrizztopher
Phoenix, AZ
Apr 14, 2014

Rooms a remodeled!

I was so excited to get there and see all the remodeling they were doing to the rooms. They have me a really beautiful room with that was just remodeled and it was such an amazing stay. Close to the beach and near the Pramanad for shopping and outings, best part is everything is near our hotel that my girlfriend and I enjoyed a nice stay there to enjoy the best of Santa Monica. Again the rooms are amazing!! I will definitely come back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Ocean View Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
David Jr.
Detroit, MI
Apr 8, 2014

Good location

The location was perfect, but there was no pool or gym or anything else. You also had to pay to park your car even if you are staying there. $22 a night. The rooms were newly renovated, but you werent allowed to use the fridge. Rooms and balconys were small, but fine for only 2 people. We payed the extra for the ocean view thankfully, other rooms had views of the alley or another building next to us. overall, it was an okay experience, but i'm not sure it was really worth the money payed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Third street promenade

Review of Ocean View Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Focal
Melbourne, Australia
Apr 2, 2014

Great holiday.

Great location for beach goers. Perfect location between Dana Point and San Diego. Otherwise everything else was as expected.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Ocean View Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Focal
Melbourne, Australia
Apr 2, 2014

Great holiday.

Location is perfect. Not too far away from the pier. The front desk staff were great help.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Ocean View Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
michael429
Business
new york
Jan 29, 2014

A Dump

Checked in, saw the room, my girlfriend and i looked at each other and without a word, picked up our bags and left the hotel. Tried to use our booking fee at their sister property (which is very nice) but they would not honor it. Staff was rude and worse.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top

Change search