$259 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 24, 2014 Check-out: Aug 25, 2014

Ocean View Hotel

3 stars
1447 Ocean Avenue, Santa Monica, CA 90401
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.0
out of 5
80 reviews
Rooms a remodeled!

I was so excited to get there and see all the remodeling they were doing to the rooms. They have me... See full review

  • Chrizztopher
  • Apr 14, 2014
Great Location, staff was friendly

This hotel was not our right choice but more of our last choice as we booked the room just a few... See full review

  • CSanderson
  • Jul 21, 2013
The perfect hotel in Santa Monica - affordable- stylish and across the street from Santa Monica Beach- only one block from the Santa Monica Pier- Shopping Mall and Third Street Promenade. Travelers to Santa Monica will find refined charm in a warm and appealing atmosphere at the AAA 3-diamond rated and green certified Ocean View Hotel. Guests to this hotel will enjoy close access and panoramic views of beautiful Santa Monica Beach. Hotel accommodations feature well-appointed 100 percent non-smoking guest rooms and free high-speed Internet access. Select rooms include private balconies with ocean views. This Santa Monica hotels prestigious location places guests within walking distance of the areas finest restaurants- shopping-entertainment- cafes and art galleries including the excitement of Santa Monica Pier and the popular Third Street Promenade. Experience year-round sunshine- caressed by gentle Pacific breezes and cooled by the clear blue waters of Santa Monica Bay at the Ocean View Hotel. Our staff extends you a warm and friendly invitation- Come and enjoy our hospitality and let us make the Ocean View Hotel your place to stay in Santa Monica. Make an online reservation today for a low rate guarantee. Located across the street from the beach- one block from Santa Monica Pier- Third Street Promenade- Santa Monica Place Shopping Mall- and Civic Auditorium. 6 miles from Los Angeles International Airport-LAX. 1 mile from Venice Beach. 15 minutes to Malibu Beach- Beverly Hills- Hollywood- and downtown Los Angeles.

Hotel Map

34.0132 -118.4965
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Ocean View Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Ocean View Hotel Rooms

1 King Bed-Courtyard
1 King Bed-Courtyard-Non Smoking-Complimentary Wireless Internet
1 King Bed-Courtyard-Private Bal
1 King Bed-Courtyard-Private Balcony-Non Smoking-Complimentary Wireless Internet
1 King Bed-Ocean View-Private Ba
1 King Bed-Ocean View-Private Balcony-Non Smoking-Complimentary Wireless Internet
Two Double Beds-Courtyard-Privat
Two Double Beds-Courtyard-Private Balcony-Non Smoking-Complimentary Wireless Internet
Two Double Beds-Courtyard
Two Double Beds-Courtyard-Non Smoking-Complimentary Wireless Internet
Two Double Beds-Ocean View-Priva
Two Double Beds-Ocean View-Private Balcony-Non Smoking-Complimentary Wireless Internet
ROOM AMENITIES
Description not provided

Amenities

General
Concierge
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Golf
Tennis
Fishing
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Services
24 hour front desk
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Barber/Beauty shop
Parking
Parking
Room
Television with cable
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (80)

Ratings and reviews for Ocean View Hotel

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
36 out of 80
Amenities:
2.5
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.5
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.6
Value:
2.8

69% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Ocean View Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
wfatum
Browns Mills NJ
Sep 4, 2013

Handicap and other drivers beware,

These were the smallest rooms I have ever seen. Hotel has no amenities. Be careful when turning on the cold water it comes out scalding hot every time. Hotel staff allow non handicap drivers to park in handicap spots. Hotel guess pay $20.00 a night and are not guaranteed a parking spot. Staff asks you to park illegally because on weekends they fill the lot with public parking. This is the first hotel I ever stayed at that quests did not have preferential parking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

3rd street promenade very entertaining

Review of Ocean View Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Atlanta Travelers
Atlanta Travelers
Dec 3, 2009

Roaches Roaches

We chose this hotel for the location the week of 11/24. We had to change rooms due to the large pests. The hotel resisted in crediting us for parking. The parking is loosely monitored and they do not enforce parking spaces. Good luck with driving to the lower levels of their garage due to other guests parking on the sides thus narrowing the driving path. Both roaches were found in the bathroom on separate occassions. Oh the third roach was found in the breakfast area on the wall with the muffins. Do not stay here. Next door is the Plaza. Stay there or at Holiday Inn.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Third street promenade is two blocks over, but everything closes early- around ten. Broadway O dinner is nice. We also enjoyed Rosco's on Pico Blvd.

Review of Ocean View Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Atlanta Travelers
Atlanta Travelers
Dec 3, 2009

Roaches Roaches

We chose this hotel for the location the week of 11/24. We had to change rooms due to the large pests. The hotel resisted in crediting us for parking. The parking is loosely monitored and they do not enforce parking spaces. Good luck with driving to the lower levels of their garage due to other guests parking on the sides thus narrowing the driving path. Both roaches were found in the bathroom on separate occassions. Oh the third roach was found in the breakfast area on the wall with the muffins. Do not stay here. Next door is the Plaza. Stay there or at Holiday Inn.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Third street promenade is two blocks over, but everything closes early- around ten. Broadway O dinner is nice. We also enjoyed Rosco's on Pico Blvd.

Review of Ocean View Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mex Traveler
San Diego, CA
Aug 12, 2013

To expensive for what they offer

The hotel sits right across the beach from Santa Monica and has a spectacular view of the pier and the park. Rooms are small, TV's are old, A/C is substandard, no noise cancellation from rooms, you can hear everything the guest on the next room are doing. No bell boy service or room service (they bring you food but it's from local restaurants), TV controller was not working, bathtub was also having problems with not holding water and at 6pm maintenance had gone home for the day . The room in itself it's old and hasn't been kept up to date. To be honest, for the price they charge, they need to do a lot of improvement, just because your right across the coast doesn't mean they get to charge premium pricing for the room and not offer a premium room for it. I will not be staying again there and would not recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Ocean View Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
David Jr.
Detroit, MI
Apr 8, 2014

Good location

The location was perfect, but there was no pool or gym or anything else. You also had to pay to park your car even if you are staying there. $22 a night. The rooms were newly renovated, but you werent allowed to use the fridge. Rooms and balconys were small, but fine for only 2 people. We payed the extra for the ocean view thankfully, other rooms had views of the alley or another building next to us. overall, it was an okay experience, but i'm not sure it was really worth the money payed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Third street promenade

Review of Ocean View Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Diego
Apr 22, 2009

Good location on the water, rooms OK

There on a doctors visit. One night stay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Ocean View Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Soquel, CA
Nov 23, 2010

Rather dated for the price

Visiting friends. Didn't spend a lot of time in the room. The price was a bit high for a rather simple and outdated room. We paid for the view. Would have been nice to have a small refrigerator. Best thing was the very comfortable bed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

All the shopping and dining one could want. Beautiful beach just across the street.

Review of Ocean View Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Soquel, CA
Nov 23, 2010

Rather dated for the price

Visiting friends. Didn't spend a lot of time in the room. The price was a bit high for a rather simple and outdated room. We paid for the view. Would have been nice to have a small refrigerator. Best thing was the very comfortable bed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

All the shopping and dining one could want. Beautiful beach just across the street.

Review of Ocean View Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
NY City boy and the German
New York, NY
Dec 22, 2010

The Ocean View was so so...

We arrived on a rainy Monday afternoon after driving in from Vegas... thought it would be great to stay near the beach and show my boyfriend something different. The room rate was very affordable and seemed reasonable for the amenities it said it offered. Once we checked in, we went up to the room, the room was fairly small, with "courtyard" view... which was really a view over the parking spaces and the roofs of the near by shops and other rooms in our hotel... NOT THAT Pretty - shouldn't be called a "courtyard" as there was no courtyard at all to view. The bed wasn't all that special, but I did like the pillows. The bathroom was your average bathroom. The one thing that I have to say particularly is that there is a terrible humming or vibrating sound continuously throughout the day/night there - not sure if it is from a bathroom fan that never shuts off in another room, or it is from the elevator??? Couldn't tell, but it was very annoying! When I woke up on our last day, the TV/Cable was out... so I couldn't get my news on the weather. Lastly, the "continental" breakfast was the worst I've EVER had at ANY hotel. They offered sliced bread, and small soggy bagels along with mini muffins. There was only apple jelly, butter or Cream cheese to choose from. You had a choice of tea, coffee or Juice (orange or guava) from this machine. We ended up having to go out to get food as it wasn't satisfying at all and was hardly a breakfast at all. Overall, it was ok, but I definitely see myself staying there again. They do have free Wifi, so that is a BONUS for sure

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Definitely go take the VIP Tour at Universal Studios... worth the money and travel for sure! That was the entire reason we were there and it made up for the average hotel stay

Review of Ocean View Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Diego
Apr 22, 2009

Good location on the water, rooms OK

There on a doctors visit. One night stay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top