$199 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 25, 2015 Check-out: Jan 28, 2015

Ocean View Hotel

3 stars
1447 Ocean Avenue, Santa Monica, CA 90401
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.9
out of 5
68 reviews
Rooms a remodeled!

I was so excited to get there and see all the remodeling they were doing to the rooms. They have me... See full review

  • Chrizztopher
  • Apr 14, 2014
Service Needs Work

Great Hotel Manager. Poor desk service. Poor phone answering, concierge service. See full review

  • GI Jenni
  • Nov 20, 2014
The perfect hotel in Santa Monica - affordable- stylish and across the street from Santa Monica Beach- only one block from the Santa Monica Pier- Shopping Mall and Third Street Promenade. Travelers to Santa Monica will find refined charm in a warm and appealing atmosphere at the AAA 3-diamond rated and green certified Ocean View Hotel. Guests to this hotel will enjoy close access and panoramic views of beautiful Santa Monica Beach. Hotel accommodations feature well-appointed 100 percent non-smoking guest rooms and free high-speed Internet access. Select rooms include private balconies with ocean views. This Santa Monica hotels prestigious location places guests within walking distance of the areas finest restaurants- shopping-entertainment- cafes and art galleries including the excitement of Santa Monica Pier and the popular Third Street Promenade. Experience year-round sunshine- caressed by gentle Pacific breezes and cooled by the clear blue waters of Santa Monica Bay at the Ocean View Hotel. Our staff extends you a warm and friendly invitation- Come and enjoy our hospitality and let us make the Ocean View Hotel your place to stay in Santa Monica. Make an online reservation today for a low rate guarantee. Located across the street from the beach- one block from Santa Monica Pier- Third Street Promenade- Santa Monica Place Shopping Mall- and Civic Auditorium. 6 miles from Los Angeles International Airport-LAX. 1 mile from Venice Beach. 15 minutes to Malibu Beach- Beverly Hills- Hollywood- and downtown Los Angeles.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Ocean View Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Ocean View Hotel Rooms

1 King Bed-Courtyard
1 King Bed-Courtyard-Non Smoking-Complimentary Wireless Internet
1 King Bed-Courtyard-Private Bal
1 King Bed-Courtyard-Private Balcony-Non Smoking-Complimentary Wireless Internet
1 King Bed-Ocean View-Private Ba
1 King Bed-Ocean View-Private Balcony-Non Smoking-Complimentary Wireless Internet
Two Double Beds-Courtyard-Privat
Two Double Beds-Courtyard-Private Balcony-Non Smoking-Complimentary Wireless Internet
Two Double Beds-Courtyard
Two Double Beds-Courtyard-Non Smoking-Complimentary Wireless Internet
Two Double Beds-Ocean View-Priva
Two Double Beds-Ocean View-Private Balcony-Non Smoking-Complimentary Wireless Internet
ROOM AMENITIES
Description not provided

Amenities

General
Concierge
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Golf
Tennis
Fishing
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Services
24 hour front desk
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Barber/Beauty shop
Parking
Parking
Room
Television with cable
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (68)

Ratings and reviews for Ocean View Hotel

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
68 out of 68
Amenities:
2.4
Room cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.4
Room comfort:
3.1
Location:
4.4
Value:
2.8

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Ocean View Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Porterville, CA
Aug 2, 2010

Great location

I loved it I thought it was expensive but worth it...walking distance to the beach restaurants n shopping. I enjoyed the stay and it's one of the best hotels I've stayed in

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean View Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Holly Crew
Business
Colorado
Aug 17, 2010

Great Location

Location is perfect, walking distance to shopping, beach and pier. Parking is tight and limited. Outside doors were loud when closing. Large trucks could be heard in the alley. Front desk staff very friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean View Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Soquel, CA
Nov 23, 2010

Rather dated for the price

Visiting friends. Didn't spend a lot of time in the room. The price was a bit high for a rather simple and outdated room. We paid for the view. Would have been nice to have a small refrigerator. Best thing was the very comfortable bed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

All the shopping and dining one could want. Beautiful beach just across the street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean View Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
NY City boy and the German
Business
New York, NY
Dec 22, 2010

The Ocean View was so so...

We arrived on a rainy Monday afternoon after driving in from Vegas... thought it would be great to stay near the beach and show my boyfriend something different. The room rate was very affordable and seemed reasonable for the amenities it said it offered. Once we checked in, we went up to the room, the room was fairly small, with "courtyard" view... which was really a view over the parking spaces and the roofs of the near by shops and other rooms in our hotel... NOT THAT Pretty - shouldn't be called a "courtyard" as there was no courtyard at all to view. The bed wasn't all that special, but I did like the pillows. The bathroom was your average bathroom. The one thing that I have to say particularly is that there is a terrible humming or vibrating sound continuously throughout the day/night there - not sure if it is from a bathroom fan that never shuts off in another room, or it is from the elevator??? Couldn't tell, but it was very annoying! When I woke up on our last day, the TV/Cable was out... so I couldn't get my news on the weather. Lastly, the "continental" breakfast was the worst I've EVER had at ANY hotel. They offered sliced bread, and small soggy bagels along with mini muffins. There was only apple jelly, butter or Cream cheese to choose from. You had a choice of tea, coffee or Juice (orange or guava) from this machine. We ended up having to go out to get food as it wasn't satisfying at all and was hardly a breakfast at all. Overall, it was ok, but I definitely see myself staying there again. They do have free Wifi, so that is a BONUS for sure

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Definitely go take the VIP Tour at Universal Studios... worth the money and travel for sure! That was the entire reason we were there and it made up for the average hotel stay

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean View Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Win
Business
Santa Barbara
Jan 26, 2011

A wonderful day away

All that was expected was realized. Great views made for peaceful journey

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Great access to shopping, beach and restaurants

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean View Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
H.Sku
Business
Minneapolis
Jun 14, 2014

Three stars all around

Nice small hotel. Rooms are a tiny bit tight but nice enough. Staff was nice and helpful. Location was about a block north and across street form pier and beach. Our room faced rooftops and other balconies but that was fine as we didn't spend much time inside. The tv and furnishings were nice. And the room was clean and smelled wonderfully of Aveda!! Parking is only $20 and it's right downstairs, it's tight but seems safe and secure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean View Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Awen89
Business
Rockford Illinois
Aug 13, 2014

An ok stay

Very good location near beach, but for families traveling with children- no. Next to bars that play music all hours of the night. No smoking anywhere- big fines if caught. Beautiful view but for $500 a night I would enjoy to smoke on my balcony. False advertisement. No complimentary breakfast. Parking is real tight. Otherwise, good location and good view.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

3rd street promenade was amazing! Lots of places to shop and eat. The beach was a further walk than expected. The pier was also decently close but very crowded!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean View Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Randi L
Business
Boston MA
Sep 18, 2014

Great location but...

The hotel is in a great location. Room was nice. The night front deck had attitude. The building was being painted outside so we couldn't sit on our deck facing the ocean which we paid for. We had to complain, so they came and removed the film on the windows but couldn't find the deck furniture. When we arrived we didn't have any shampoo etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean View Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Chestickles
Business
Gold Coast, Australia
Sep 18, 2014

All about the location

Our stay at the Ocean View apartments was short but sweet. Renovations and painting were still being done while we were there and the compulsory valet service was a slight pain, but the location is enviable; a 5 minute walk to the pier with restaurants and bars within even closer proximity.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Book yourself a room with a view if your budget allows, watching the pier light up at night and all the characters walk by from the comfort of your room is worth it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean View Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Love To Travel Deb
Business
Carroll, IA
Mar 20, 2011

Awesome location

Definitely get the ocean side room. The view is fantastic. Do not get the city side unless you don't mind a view of the water heater. We were able to walk easily to the 3rd street promenade, the Santa Monica pier, the beach, Palisades Park and Venice. This hotel is so close to so much that we didn't mind there was no continental breakfast. We would definitely go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Plenty of shopping for everyone.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top