$219 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 7, 2015 Check-out: Sep 8, 2015

Ocean View Hotel

3 stars
View map of 1447 Ocean Avenue, Santa Monica, CA 90401

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Ocean View Hotel

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
70 out of 70
Amenities:
2.5
Cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.4
Comfort:
3.1
Location:
4.4
Value:
2.9

69% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Ocean View Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Super Lor
Couples
Van Nuys, Ca
Dec 3, 2013

One Year Anniversary

Overall, we just needed a place to stay at. It was a very convenient place because it was near the places we wanted to go to.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

3rd st. Promenade

Review of Ocean View Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
CTobin
Couples
Boston, MA
May 21, 2014

Not bad, but needs to be clear on amenities

The Ocean View Hotel was OK. The staff was fairly courteous but didn't seem knowledgeable about the area. The room was clean but the elevator and parking garage smelled strongly of urine. There were also a lot of vagrants around the parking area. There were zero amenities. They advertize "free wi-fi" but I was unable to connect to it at all. There were ice machines on the floor but there weren't any vending machines or any place to get a bottle of water on premises. All in all, it wasn't a bad place if you're just looking for a place to rest your head at night but if you're looking for more, I recommend looking elsewhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Ocean View Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
San Diego
Apr 22, 2009

Good location on the water, rooms OK

There on a doctors visit. One night stay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Ocean View Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DBEEZY
Business
Denver, CO
Dec 6, 2009

The Pictures are Somewhat Deceiving

The location of this hotel was great, but it looks alot better on the internet than it is in real-life. It is close to a beautiful beach area, great restuarants, and good nightlife. I wouldn't break the bank trying to stay here though. They also charge you $15 a day for parking whcih was a little steep after you pay $180 per night to stay here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Tons of great bars and clubs with-in a stones throw

Review of Ocean View Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
Portland, OR
Dec 7, 2009

Santa Monica

We could hear traffic and parking garage noise all night. The staff were very welcoming and made the stay very enjoyable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of restaurants and shops within a very short walking distance.

Review of Ocean View Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Santa Rosa, CA
Jan 6, 2010

Great location!

Just fine for business travel. A great location. Hallways and rooms are not particularly appealing, but okay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Ocean View Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Atlantic Beach, FL
Jan 22, 2010

Not bad.

Not bad,could us a little update. The room was small but clean. You could hear everything that was going on in the rooms closest to you. All and all, not bad, good place for a short term stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Ocean View Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
travelin through
Couples
SF
May 27, 2010

Santa Monica - skip this one

It is an average hotel in a good location - we visited with friends and this is centrally located for restaurants/stores/beach. There really was nothing memorable about the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Ocean View Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Porterville, CA
Aug 2, 2010

Great location

I loved it I thought it was expensive but worth it...walking distance to the beach restaurants n shopping. I enjoyed the stay and it's one of the best hotels I've stayed in

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Ocean View Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Holly Crew
Family
Colorado
Aug 17, 2010

Great Location

Location is perfect, walking distance to shopping, beach and pier. Parking is tight and limited. Outside doors were loud when closing. Large trucks could be heard in the alley. Front desk staff very friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Back to menu Return to top