$319 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 12, 2015 Check-out: Jul 13, 2015

Ocean View Hotel

3 stars
View map of 1447 Ocean Avenue, Santa Monica, CA 90401

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Ocean View Hotel

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
72 out of 72
Amenities:
2.5
Cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.4
Comfort:
3.2
Location:
4.4
Value:
2.9

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Ocean View Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
NY to LA businesman
Business
NY, NY
May 11, 2013

its all about the location

tvs are old, rooms are old, bath toiletries are terrible, and there is no food on site.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Ocean View Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mex Traveler
Business
San Diego, CA
Aug 12, 2013

To expensive for what they offer

The hotel sits right across the beach from Santa Monica and has a spectacular view of the pier and the park. Rooms are small, TV's are old, A/C is substandard, no noise cancellation from rooms, you can hear everything the guest on the next room are doing. No bell boy service or room service (they bring you food but it's from local restaurants), TV controller was not working, bathtub was also having problems with not holding water and at 6pm maintenance had gone home for the day . The room in itself it's old and hasn't been kept up to date. To be honest, for the price they charge, they need to do a lot of improvement, just because your right across the coast doesn't mean they get to charge premium pricing for the room and not offer a premium room for it. I will not be staying again there and would not recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Ocean View Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Cool Runnings 2
Business
New York, NY
Dec 20, 2013

Location is great, passable everything else.

Everything in Santa Monica is crazily expensive, so in that context this hotel isn't bad. Without the location, though, it would be similar to a "meh" Super 8.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you want healthy food during your business trip, stop by Tender Greens. Awesome!

Review of Ocean View Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Arroyo Grande, ca
Nov 17, 2009

Misleading advertizement by [...]

IThis place was one step above motel 6, [...] described this place at the same category as the Doubletree two blocks away.Noise from the next door compresor kept us awake. The staff of the hotel was aware of "that noisy room". Horrible beds and pillows!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Ocean View Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
tmbpinal
Business
Santa Monica, CA
Aug 5, 2014

Not as it seems

I was hoping this would be a great hotel to the end of our trip. Was I wrong - key machine not working - couldn't get in and out of room or elevator without going to get help. No drink machine or food on premises. Major construction day we were there and our car was filthy and very loud and dirty. When I asked for discount - was told flat out no refunds!!! Very displeased. Staff not helpful with help on room keys etc had to ask several times.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The pier was a lot of fun and very beautiful!

Review of Ocean View Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Enica C.
Business
N/A
Dec 21, 2014

Construction Troubles

It was a very expensive hotel for the low comfort. It was being remodeled and there was no true lobby, only one way to get in (that was mostly unsafe - where the cars came in), you had to pay to park (I hate when hotels do that!), and the room SMELLED. It was because it was newly remolded, but the new chemical smell was so strong that my eyes cried. Also, when I used the toilet it was not screwed into the ground - when I reached for the toilet paper I almost fell (lol)! They gave me a new room (with attitude - I don't know what that was about, I was nice about it), however this one smelled, too. Finally, there was horrible construction noise for most of the day (it was summer time so lots of daylight hours). I was underwhelmed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Ocean View Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
David Jr.
Business
Detroit, MI
Apr 8, 2014

Good location

The location was perfect, but there was no pool or gym or anything else. You also had to pay to park your car even if you are staying there. $22 a night. The rooms were newly renovated, but you werent allowed to use the fridge. Rooms and balconys were small, but fine for only 2 people. We payed the extra for the ocean view thankfully, other rooms had views of the alley or another building next to us. overall, it was an okay experience, but i'm not sure it was really worth the money payed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Third street promenade

Review of Ocean View Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tres313
Business
Seattle, WA
Dec 14, 2011

Very Satisfactory

The staff at the Ocaen View were as great as the view from our room. They were helpful, informative and courteous. The room and amenities were not out of this world but acceptable by any standard.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Yard - great restaurant around the corner for happy hour

Review of Ocean View Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Troutslayer
Business
Lake Isabella, CA, USA
Jan 7, 2012

Getaway

Hotel was OK,nothing special.Good location,Staff was ok Nothing said about parking charges $20.00 when booking room.Has sister hotel down the street (new) looks nice.OK for quick getaway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Proemenade was fun,Mexican restraunt on promenade was terrible.Service sucked.Don't remember name Blank cantina.

Review of Ocean View Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ACMilan
Business
Santa Barbara, CA
Jan 23, 2012

Great location

Room is average - not bad for the price. The parking charge is $20/day and this is not indicated anywhere nor do they tell you. The location is great and the staff was very courteous. The location couldn't be better for Santa Monica.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top