$199 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 25, 2015 Check-out: Jan 28, 2015

Ocean View Hotel

3 stars
1447 Ocean Avenue, Santa Monica, CA 90401
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.9
out of 5
68 reviews
Rooms a remodeled!

I was so excited to get there and see all the remodeling they were doing to the rooms. They have me... See full review

  • Chrizztopher
  • Apr 14, 2014
Service Needs Work

Great Hotel Manager. Poor desk service. Poor phone answering, concierge service. See full review

  • GI Jenni
  • Nov 20, 2014
The perfect hotel in Santa Monica - affordable- stylish and across the street from Santa Monica Beach- only one block from the Santa Monica Pier- Shopping Mall and Third Street Promenade. Travelers to Santa Monica will find refined charm in a warm and appealing atmosphere at the AAA 3-diamond rated and green certified Ocean View Hotel. Guests to this hotel will enjoy close access and panoramic views of beautiful Santa Monica Beach. Hotel accommodations feature well-appointed 100 percent non-smoking guest rooms and free high-speed Internet access. Select rooms include private balconies with ocean views. This Santa Monica hotels prestigious location places guests within walking distance of the areas finest restaurants- shopping-entertainment- cafes and art galleries including the excitement of Santa Monica Pier and the popular Third Street Promenade. Experience year-round sunshine- caressed by gentle Pacific breezes and cooled by the clear blue waters of Santa Monica Bay at the Ocean View Hotel. Our staff extends you a warm and friendly invitation- Come and enjoy our hospitality and let us make the Ocean View Hotel your place to stay in Santa Monica. Make an online reservation today for a low rate guarantee. Located across the street from the beach- one block from Santa Monica Pier- Third Street Promenade- Santa Monica Place Shopping Mall- and Civic Auditorium. 6 miles from Los Angeles International Airport-LAX. 1 mile from Venice Beach. 15 minutes to Malibu Beach- Beverly Hills- Hollywood- and downtown Los Angeles.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Ocean View Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Ocean View Hotel Rooms

1 King Bed-Courtyard
1 King Bed-Courtyard-Non Smoking-Complimentary Wireless Internet
1 King Bed-Courtyard-Private Bal
1 King Bed-Courtyard-Private Balcony-Non Smoking-Complimentary Wireless Internet
1 King Bed-Ocean View-Private Ba
1 King Bed-Ocean View-Private Balcony-Non Smoking-Complimentary Wireless Internet
Two Double Beds-Courtyard-Privat
Two Double Beds-Courtyard-Private Balcony-Non Smoking-Complimentary Wireless Internet
Two Double Beds-Courtyard
Two Double Beds-Courtyard-Non Smoking-Complimentary Wireless Internet
Two Double Beds-Ocean View-Priva
Two Double Beds-Ocean View-Private Balcony-Non Smoking-Complimentary Wireless Internet
ROOM AMENITIES
Description not provided

Amenities

General
Concierge
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Golf
Tennis
Fishing
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Services
24 hour front desk
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Barber/Beauty shop
Parking
Parking
Room
Television with cable
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (68)

Ratings and reviews for Ocean View Hotel

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
68 out of 68
Amenities:
2.4
Room cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.4
Room comfort:
3.1
Location:
4.4
Value:
2.8

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Ocean View Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
lionlady
pennsylvania
Sep 26, 2012

3 nights in Santa Monica

although it was a local and not a name-brand hotel it was located in a great neighborhood to make walking to destinations perfect and safe easy to get to, right near the freeway, but on local street

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

santa monica pier - fun, fun, fun and great restaurants close by

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean View Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Lily68
Business
Arizona
Jul 16, 2012

Bad Bad!

The view was awful, i requested the view to look at the ocean, instead i got a view street with the noisy honking cars. The parking is awful and they charge extra. They asked me to move the garbage can in order to park my car. The room wasn't clean. I would not recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean View Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
wfatum
Business
Browns Mills NJ
Sep 4, 2013

Handicap and other drivers beware,

These were the smallest rooms I have ever seen. Hotel has no amenities. Be careful when turning on the cold water it comes out scalding hot every time. Hotel staff allow non handicap drivers to park in handicap spots. Hotel guess pay $20.00 a night and are not guaranteed a parking spot. Staff asks you to park illegally because on weekends they fill the lot with public parking. This is the first hotel I ever stayed at that quests did not have preferential parking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

3rd street promenade very entertaining

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean View Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
bobdylansbuddy
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Oct 9, 2013

Over Priced

Nice location, but if it weren't for the location this place would probably charge by the hour. Disgusting rooms. The alarm clock turns off when you turn the lights to the room off....helpful!! No Amenities. $200 a night is crazy I won't be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Coffee Bean on 2nd ave is solid.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean View Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
michael429
Business
new york
Jan 29, 2014

A Dump

Checked in, saw the room, my girlfriend and i looked at each other and without a word, picked up our bags and left the hotel. Tried to use our booking fee at their sister property (which is very nice) but they would not honor it. Staff was rude and worse.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean View Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Atlanta Travelers
Business
Atlanta Travelers
Dec 3, 2009

Roaches Roaches

We chose this hotel for the location the week of 11/24. We had to change rooms due to the large pests. The hotel resisted in crediting us for parking. The parking is loosely monitored and they do not enforce parking spaces. Good luck with driving to the lower levels of their garage due to other guests parking on the sides thus narrowing the driving path. Both roaches were found in the bathroom on separate occassions. Oh the third roach was found in the breakfast area on the wall with the muffins. Do not stay here. Next door is the Plaza. Stay there or at Holiday Inn.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Third street promenade is two blocks over, but everything closes early- around ten. Broadway O dinner is nice. We also enjoyed Rosco's on Pico Blvd.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean View Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bellingham, WA
Dec 12, 2009

Bad. Bad. Bad.

The rooms desperately need remodeling. They are depressing. For the same price or maybe a few dollars more you would be very comfortable. Why stay here when you could easily do better?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean View Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Juls checking colleges
Business
San Jose, California
Sep 8, 2014

Good looks on the outside can't cover for flaws

We were severely disappointed in this hotel. Upon check in we were hit with a steep per night parking fee that was never mentioned in the reservation process. It's not in the hotel policies and additional billing information. Several parking lots within a block away charge less. Newly remodeled our television was not cabled correctly and did not work. After a 45 min wait someone came to fix it. The cable offerings were not as advertised, there were very few channels, no channel guide capability and no HBO which they touted on the website. They were short staffed and thus multiple trips to the front desk were required because phones not answered. The phone system was not set up and pushing speed dial buttons for customer service inoperable. Only one of the two elevators serviced the 2nd level parking so if we were on the wrong one, we had to switch elevators in the lobby - very inconvenient. This is an amazing location right across from the beach however for the high dollars charged, everything should work.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean View Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
KittyTina
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Oct 1, 2014

Blatant Misinformation on this 2* hotel masquerading as 3*

First of all, the lies based on the listing: -This is a 2 star hotel. The reasons are listed below. -Listed with Fitness Center or Spa. Instead, there is a gym nearby they will give you a discount for. It is not on property, and it is not included. -Restaurant. There is no restaurant on site. -Room Service. There is no room service on site. Instead, they will give you a listing for a private delivery service to deliver from local chain restaurants... If this is room service, than every hotel in Santa Monica has room service. -Parking is $30, and that price is not listed anywhere on their site or this one. -Barber/Beauty Shop - Again, not on property. In addition to not having half of the amenities they list on their page, the "courtyard view" is a view of the parking lot/back alley; The checkout is 11:00am, not 12:00pm as they list; and all of their hallways are exterior. The rooms themselves are dimly lit and not well cleaned (3 downstairs hairs in the tub were there at our arrival). Additionally, there is no food on property AT ALL other than your minibar offerings. No vending machines, no room service, no restaurant, no water stations...It's $8 M&Ms or you're leaving the hotel. Quite simply, I don't know anyone who would be happy here. No Frills Travelers: If you are looking for a no frills 2-2.5* in a good location, then this would be great, except they seem to charge roughly 200% more than the other 2* locations in the area. Romantic Travelers: Thin walls, and alley views Family Travelers: Thin walls (again), Exterior Hallways, No vending, No food, etc. For the price they charge (I just pulled a random date, and they priced themselves as more than the actual 3 stars AND some 4 stars in the area), you shouldn't stay here. You will be disappointed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean View Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Manutd fan
Business
New York, ny
Jun 18, 2012

Disappointing hotel on amazing location

I had high hopes and expectations for this hotel but was very disappointed. The rooms were far below average. The room doesn't even have a fridge. You would think the hotel would at least invest in a refrigerator so that their guests can have a cold drink after they spend hours out on the beach in the sun. They also have awful Internet connection. It's wifi network is extremely spotty. The connections are also unsecured so anyone on the street can connect to it and potentially steal your information. Finally, don't let the name of the hotel fool you. Only a limited number of rooms have actual ocean view and it's not even that great because the building is only four stories high.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Tons of attractions, shopping centers and food nearby.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean View Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Aaron B
Business
Berlin
Nov 26, 2012

Only location.

Good location but... Our room was above restaurant/bar and they played music to 3am so loud that i could singalong. Hairdryer was missing, socket was broken and one towel missing. Hotel needs renovation and fast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top