$277 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 5, 2015 Check-out: Jul 7, 2015

Ocean View Hotel

3 stars
View map of 1447 Ocean Avenue, Santa Monica, CA 90401

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Ocean View Hotel

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
72 out of 72
Amenities:
2.5
Cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.4
Comfort:
3.2
Location:
4.4
Value:
2.9

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Ocean View Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Carororo
Business
San Francisco, California
Nov 24, 2012

Clean and practical hotel

This hotel is ok for a cheap stay in Santa Monica, The room was clean and the hotel was well located but if you are looking for smth fancy don't stay there ! Parking is a bit expensive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Ocean View Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mary Colleen
Business
La Habra Heights, CA
Feb 21, 2013

Great View

It was really cool seeing all the people and the Pier.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Ocean View Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Doug Man
Business
Ridgecrest, CA
Apr 9, 2013

The walls are thin.

Just hope you have a room that is not next to someone with small children running around. The wall are thin and you can hear everything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Ocean View Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
howie 1
Business
north dakota
Apr 16, 2013

family getaway

location was good, right across from beach and santa monica pier. good restaurants close buy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Ocean View Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Marie Lee Gold
Business
LA
May 8, 2013

beach view??

As far a beach view goes if you count a view of the other buildings and parking lot beach view then here you go. upon check in I was informed there was a parking fee seems too much for a registered guess but fine but then mistakingly charge my card for hundreds even though it was for a prepaid room!!! and then just say sorry it should be reimbursed in a few days really! ! they should seriously get it together for a not cheap hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Ocean View Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Peterwk
Business
Denver, Co
May 29, 2013

Somewhat Shabby

Great location, but it's surprisingly shabby... an old hotel. No room service. Slightly dumb front-desk staff, but hey, the next person could be smarter. On checking out I commented that the air conditioning wasn't working in my room -- I thought I was doing them a favor! -- so the woman at the desk said "wait a minute," and walked off... came back 30 seconds later and said, "yes, it's working." "Um, no, it isn't, I just spent the night in the room." "I spoke to the woman who cleaned it, and she says it's working." "Well, it definitely isn't!" "We can go look if you want." ... "why would I want to look, I'm checking out!"

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Ocean View Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jimbomac7
Business
Florida
Aug 20, 2013

Great location

Close to everything! Easy to walk to shows, restaurants, & bars

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything is close

Review of Ocean View Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
L. A. Vibe
Business
Santa Monica
Sep 23, 2013

Perfect location

Had a very nice stay here. Nothing over-the-top but location couldn't be better and staff was very friendly and helpful. They are planning updates so perhaps next visit will be even better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Ocean View Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Super Lor
Business
Van Nuys, Ca
Dec 3, 2013

One Year Anniversary

Overall, we just needed a place to stay at. It was a very convenient place because it was near the places we wanted to go to.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

3rd st. Promenade

Review of Ocean View Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
CTobin
Business
Boston, MA
May 21, 2014

Not bad, but needs to be clear on amenities

The Ocean View Hotel was OK. The staff was fairly courteous but didn't seem knowledgeable about the area. The room was clean but the elevator and parking garage smelled strongly of urine. There were also a lot of vagrants around the parking area. There were zero amenities. They advertize "free wi-fi" but I was unable to connect to it at all. There were ice machines on the floor but there weren't any vending machines or any place to get a bottle of water on premises. All in all, it wasn't a bad place if you're just looking for a place to rest your head at night but if you're looking for more, I recommend looking elsewhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top