Ocean View Hotel

3 stars
1447 Ocean Avenue, Santa Monica, CA 90401
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.9
out of 5
68 reviews
Rooms a remodeled!

I was so excited to get there and see all the remodeling they were doing to the rooms. They have me... See full review

  • Chrizztopher
  • Apr 14, 2014
Service Needs Work

Great Hotel Manager. Poor desk service. Poor phone answering, concierge service. See full review

  • GI Jenni
  • Nov 20, 2014
The perfect hotel in Santa Monica - affordable- stylish and across the street from Santa Monica Beach- only one block from the Santa Monica Pier- Shopping Mall and Third Street Promenade. Travelers to Santa Monica will find refined charm in a warm and appealing atmosphere at the AAA 3-diamond rated and green certified Ocean View Hotel. Guests to this hotel will enjoy close access and panoramic views of beautiful Santa Monica Beach. Hotel accommodations feature well-appointed 100 percent non-smoking guest rooms and free high-speed Internet access. Select rooms include private balconies with ocean views. This Santa Monica hotels prestigious location places guests within walking distance of the areas finest restaurants- shopping-entertainment- cafes and art galleries including the excitement of Santa Monica Pier and the popular Third Street Promenade. Experience year-round sunshine- caressed by gentle Pacific breezes and cooled by the clear blue waters of Santa Monica Bay at the Ocean View Hotel. Our staff extends you a warm and friendly invitation- Come and enjoy our hospitality and let us make the Ocean View Hotel your place to stay in Santa Monica. Make an online reservation today for a low rate guarantee. Located across the street from the beach- one block from Santa Monica Pier- Third Street Promenade- Santa Monica Place Shopping Mall- and Civic Auditorium. 6 miles from Los Angeles International Airport-LAX. 1 mile from Venice Beach. 15 minutes to Malibu Beach- Beverly Hills- Hollywood- and downtown Los Angeles.

Ocean View Hotel Rooms

1 King Bed-Courtyard
1 King Bed-Courtyard-Non Smoking-Complimentary Wireless Internet
1 King Bed-Courtyard-Private Bal
1 King Bed-Courtyard-Private Balcony-Non Smoking-Complimentary Wireless Internet
1 King Bed-Ocean View-Private Ba
1 King Bed-Ocean View-Private Balcony-Non Smoking-Complimentary Wireless Internet
Two Double Beds-Courtyard-Privat
Two Double Beds-Courtyard-Private Balcony-Non Smoking-Complimentary Wireless Internet
Two Double Beds-Courtyard
Two Double Beds-Courtyard-Non Smoking-Complimentary Wireless Internet
Two Double Beds-Ocean View-Priva
Two Double Beds-Ocean View-Private Balcony-Non Smoking-Complimentary Wireless Internet
ROOM AMENITIES
Description not provided

Amenities

General
Concierge
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Golf
Tennis
Fishing
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Services
24 hour front desk
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Barber/Beauty shop
Parking
Parking
Room
Television with cable
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock

Hotel Map

34.0132 -118.4965
Area description
City Center

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (68)

Ratings and reviews for Ocean View Hotel

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
68 out of 68
Amenities:
2.4
Room cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.4
Room comfort:
3.1
Location:
4.4
Value:
2.8

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Ocean View Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Chrizztopher
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Apr 14, 2014

Rooms a remodeled!

I was so excited to get there and see all the remodeling they were doing to the rooms. They have me a really beautiful room with that was just remodeled and it was such an amazing stay. Close to the beach and near the Pramanad for shopping and outings, best part is everything is near our hotel that my girlfriend and I enjoyed a nice stay there to enjoy the best of Santa Monica. Again the rooms are amazing!! I will definitely come back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean View Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Love To Travel Deb
Business
Carroll, IA
Mar 20, 2011

Awesome location

Definitely get the ocean side room. The view is fantastic. Do not get the city side unless you don't mind a view of the water heater. We were able to walk easily to the 3rd street promenade, the Santa Monica pier, the beach, Palisades Park and Venice. This hotel is so close to so much that we didn't mind there was no continental breakfast. We would definitely go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Plenty of shopping for everyone.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean View Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sleven002
Business
Saskatoon
Oct 13, 2011

Would stay here again.

Great location, Nice staff. Would have been nice to have a mini fridge in room. Right near all the nightlife of santa monica. Great times were had.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean View Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Brentlowski
Business
Apple Valley
Apr 23, 2012

Excellent location

The location of this hotel was excellent. Right next to the beach and the pier. We were not in the room much because of all the things to do. Walked to Malibu and back to Venice then to the 3rd street prominade. The best thing was that if we needed to put things in the room or grab something it did not waste any time at all. We would go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

bring proper clothes

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean View Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
shorton
Business
Denver, CO, USA
May 1, 2012

It was okay....

nothing spectacular about it but hey for the price and the location it wasn't bad. I don't know if I would stay there again but it wasn't horrible. Also the parking attendant is really SHADY. He tries to get extra parking money from you when you have already settled up with the hotel. Stay away from the parking attendant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

one block from the pier and the promenade. park at the hotel because its safe. but stay away from teh parking attendant when he asks for more parking money. He's SHADY.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean View Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
lionlady
Business
pennsylvania
Sep 26, 2012

3 nights in Santa Monica

although it was a local and not a name-brand hotel it was located in a great neighborhood to make walking to destinations perfect and safe easy to get to, right near the freeway, but on local street

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

santa monica pier - fun, fun, fun and great restaurants close by

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean View Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
gpb53
Business
Melbourne, Australia
Dec 8, 2012

Good value for money hotel.

Hotel was in great position in Santa Monica. Near pier, 3rd St Promenade, Broadway shopping mall, etc. Nothing fancy but ticked all the necessary boxes... Staff friendly and helpful, room clean and comfortable. View not great though... Looked out over concrete area where cars parked. I was told it looked out over a courtyard and thought it would have been a bit prettier than what it was. All up though it was good value for money in an area that can be rather expensive for accommodation usually.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean View Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DrBud
Business
Santa Barbara, CA
Feb 2, 2013

Excellent location with ocean and pier view.

This is an older hotel with limited amenities but has a very pleasant staff and very central location. The room and its bathroom were quite acceptable. We thought it was a good choice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Be sure you dine at the JiRaffe Restaurant at Santa Monica and 5th. Unique food such as you have never had on your plate with the most marvelous flavors!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean View Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
So Cal Vacay
Business
Denver, CO
Mar 29, 2013

Good hotel for the price

Great price for being a beach front hotel within walking distance to the Santa Monica pier.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean View Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CSanderson
Business
Alta Loma
Jul 21, 2013

Great Location, staff was friendly

This hotel was not our right choice but more of our last choice as we booked the room just a few hours before we arrived and did not know what to expect. The staff was friendly, the location was great, it was right across the street from the Santa Monica pier. The room was clean but it smelled of bleach when we arrived. The beds were clean and we slept well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything is close by, shopping, food and attractions.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top