$199 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Oct 19, 2014 Check-out: Oct 21, 2014

Ocean View Hotel

3 stars
1447 Ocean Avenue, Santa Monica, CA 90401
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.0
out of 5
63 reviews
Rooms a remodeled!

I was so excited to get there and see all the remodeling they were doing to the rooms. They have me... See full review

  • Chrizztopher
  • Apr 14, 2014
Nice hotel near the beach

Good hotel for the price. Very close to the beach. See full review

  • Southern Cali girl
  • Aug 1, 2014
The perfect hotel in Santa Monica - affordable- stylish and across the street from Santa Monica Beach- only one block from the Santa Monica Pier- Shopping Mall and Third Street Promenade. Travelers to Santa Monica will find refined charm in a warm and appealing atmosphere at the AAA 3-diamond rated and green certified Ocean View Hotel. Guests to this hotel will enjoy close access and panoramic views of beautiful Santa Monica Beach. Hotel accommodations feature well-appointed 100 percent non-smoking guest rooms and free high-speed Internet access. Select rooms include private balconies with ocean views. This Santa Monica hotels prestigious location places guests within walking distance of the areas finest restaurants- shopping-entertainment- cafes and art galleries including the excitement of Santa Monica Pier and the popular Third Street Promenade. Experience year-round sunshine- caressed by gentle Pacific breezes and cooled by the clear blue waters of Santa Monica Bay at the Ocean View Hotel. Our staff extends you a warm and friendly invitation- Come and enjoy our hospitality and let us make the Ocean View Hotel your place to stay in Santa Monica. Make an online reservation today for a low rate guarantee. Located across the street from the beach- one block from Santa Monica Pier- Third Street Promenade- Santa Monica Place Shopping Mall- and Civic Auditorium. 6 miles from Los Angeles International Airport-LAX. 1 mile from Venice Beach. 15 minutes to Malibu Beach- Beverly Hills- Hollywood- and downtown Los Angeles.

Hotel Map

34.0132 -118.4965
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Ocean View Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Ocean View Hotel Rooms

1 King Bed-Courtyard
1 King Bed-Courtyard-Non Smoking-Complimentary Wireless Internet
1 King Bed-Courtyard-Private Bal
1 King Bed-Courtyard-Private Balcony-Non Smoking-Complimentary Wireless Internet
1 King Bed-Ocean View-Private Ba
1 King Bed-Ocean View-Private Balcony-Non Smoking-Complimentary Wireless Internet
Two Double Beds-Courtyard-Privat
Two Double Beds-Courtyard-Private Balcony-Non Smoking-Complimentary Wireless Internet
Two Double Beds-Courtyard
Two Double Beds-Courtyard-Non Smoking-Complimentary Wireless Internet
Two Double Beds-Ocean View-Priva
Two Double Beds-Ocean View-Private Balcony-Non Smoking-Complimentary Wireless Internet
ROOM AMENITIES
Description not provided

Amenities

General
Concierge
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Golf
Tennis
Fishing
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Services
24 hour front desk
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Barber/Beauty shop
Parking
Parking
Room
Television with cable
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (63)

Ratings and reviews for Ocean View Hotel

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
63 out of 63
Amenities:
2.4
Room cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.4
Room comfort:
3.1
Location:
4.4
Value:
2.9

70% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Ocean View Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
wfatum
Browns Mills NJ
Sep 4, 2013

Handicap and other drivers beware,

These were the smallest rooms I have ever seen. Hotel has no amenities. Be careful when turning on the cold water it comes out scalding hot every time. Hotel staff allow non handicap drivers to park in handicap spots. Hotel guess pay $20.00 a night and are not guaranteed a parking spot. Staff asks you to park illegally because on weekends they fill the lot with public parking. This is the first hotel I ever stayed at that quests did not have preferential parking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

3rd street promenade very entertaining

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean View Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
michael429
Business
new york
Jan 29, 2014

A Dump

Checked in, saw the room, my girlfriend and i looked at each other and without a word, picked up our bags and left the hotel. Tried to use our booking fee at their sister property (which is very nice) but they would not honor it. Staff was rude and worse.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean View Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
bobdylansbuddy
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Oct 9, 2013

Over Priced

Nice location, but if it weren't for the location this place would probably charge by the hour. Disgusting rooms. The alarm clock turns off when you turn the lights to the room off....helpful!! No Amenities. $200 a night is crazy I won't be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Coffee Bean on 2nd ave is solid.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean View Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Atlanta Travelers
Atlanta Travelers
Dec 3, 2009

Roaches Roaches

We chose this hotel for the location the week of 11/24. We had to change rooms due to the large pests. The hotel resisted in crediting us for parking. The parking is loosely monitored and they do not enforce parking spaces. Good luck with driving to the lower levels of their garage due to other guests parking on the sides thus narrowing the driving path. Both roaches were found in the bathroom on separate occassions. Oh the third roach was found in the breakfast area on the wall with the muffins. Do not stay here. Next door is the Plaza. Stay there or at Holiday Inn.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Third street promenade is two blocks over, but everything closes early- around ten. Broadway O dinner is nice. We also enjoyed Rosco's on Pico Blvd.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean View Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Bellingham, WA
Dec 12, 2009

Bad. Bad. Bad.

The rooms desperately need remodeling. They are depressing. For the same price or maybe a few dollars more you would be very comfortable. Why stay here when you could easily do better?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean View Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Lily68
Arizona
Jul 16, 2012

Bad Bad!

The view was awful, i requested the view to look at the ocean, instead i got a view street with the noisy honking cars. The parking is awful and they charge extra. They asked me to move the garbage can in order to park my car. The room wasn't clean. I would not recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean View Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Juls checking colleges
San Jose, California
Sep 8, 2014

Good looks on the outside can't cover for flaws

We were severely disappointed in this hotel. Upon check in we were hit with a steep per night parking fee that was never mentioned in the reservation process. It's not in the hotel policies and additional billing information. Several parking lots within a block away charge less. Newly remodeled our television was not cabled correctly and did not work. After a 45 min wait someone came to fix it. The cable offerings were not as advertised, there were very few channels, no channel guide capability and no HBO which they touted on the website. They were short staffed and thus multiple trips to the front desk were required because phones not answered. The phone system was not set up and pushing speed dial buttons for customer service inoperable. Only one of the two elevators serviced the 2nd level parking so if we were on the wrong one, we had to switch elevators in the lobby - very inconvenient. This is an amazing location right across from the beach however for the high dollars charged, everything should work.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean View Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Manutd fan
New York, ny
Jun 18, 2012

Disappointing hotel on amazing location

I had high hopes and expectations for this hotel but was very disappointed. The rooms were far below average. The room doesn't even have a fridge. You would think the hotel would at least invest in a refrigerator so that their guests can have a cold drink after they spend hours out on the beach in the sun. They also have awful Internet connection. It's wifi network is extremely spotty. The connections are also unsecured so anyone on the street can connect to it and potentially steal your information. Finally, don't let the name of the hotel fool you. Only a limited number of rooms have actual ocean view and it's not even that great because the building is only four stories high.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Tons of attractions, shopping centers and food nearby.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean View Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Arroyo Grande, ca
Nov 17, 2009

Misleading advertizement by [...]

IThis place was one step above motel 6, [...] described this place at the same category as the Doubletree two blocks away.Noise from the next door compresor kept us awake. The staff of the hotel was aware of "that noisy room". Horrible beds and pillows!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean View Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
tmbpinal
Santa Monica, CA
Aug 5, 2014

Not as it seems

I was hoping this would be a great hotel to the end of our trip. Was I wrong - key machine not working - couldn't get in and out of room or elevator without going to get help. No drink machine or food on premises. Major construction day we were there and our car was filthy and very loud and dirty. When I asked for discount - was told flat out no refunds!!! Very displeased. Staff not helpful with help on room keys etc had to ask several times.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The pier was a lot of fun and very beautiful!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search