$319 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 12, 2015 Check-out: Jul 13, 2015

Ocean View Hotel

3 stars
View map of 1447 Ocean Avenue, Santa Monica, CA 90401

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Ocean View Hotel

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
72 out of 72
Amenities:
2.5
Cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.4
Comfort:
3.2
Location:
4.4
Value:
2.9

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Ocean View Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
lionlady
pennsylvania
Sep 26, 2012

3 nights in Santa Monica

although it was a local and not a name-brand hotel it was located in a great neighborhood to make walking to destinations perfect and safe easy to get to, right near the freeway, but on local street

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

santa monica pier - fun, fun, fun and great restaurants close by

Review of Ocean View Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
So Cal Vacay
Business
Denver, CO
Mar 29, 2013

Good hotel for the price

Great price for being a beach front hotel within walking distance to the Santa Monica pier.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Ocean View Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mary Colleen
Business
La Habra Heights, CA
Feb 21, 2013

Great View

It was really cool seeing all the people and the Pier.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Ocean View Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DrBud
Business
Santa Barbara, CA
Feb 2, 2013

Excellent location with ocean and pier view.

This is an older hotel with limited amenities but has a very pleasant staff and very central location. The room and its bathroom were quite acceptable. We thought it was a good choice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Be sure you dine at the JiRaffe Restaurant at Santa Monica and 5th. Unique food such as you have never had on your plate with the most marvelous flavors!

Review of Ocean View Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
gpb53
Business
Melbourne, Australia
Dec 8, 2012

Good value for money hotel.

Hotel was in great position in Santa Monica. Near pier, 3rd St Promenade, Broadway shopping mall, etc. Nothing fancy but ticked all the necessary boxes... Staff friendly and helpful, room clean and comfortable. View not great though... Looked out over concrete area where cars parked. I was told it looked out over a courtyard and thought it would have been a bit prettier than what it was. All up though it was good value for money in an area that can be rather expensive for accommodation usually.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Ocean View Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Aaron B
Business
Berlin
Nov 26, 2012

Only location.

Good location but... Our room was above restaurant/bar and they played music to 3am so loud that i could singalong. Hairdryer was missing, socket was broken and one towel missing. Hotel needs renovation and fast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Ocean View Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Carororo
Business
San Francisco, California
Nov 24, 2012

Clean and practical hotel

This hotel is ok for a cheap stay in Santa Monica, The room was clean and the hotel was well located but if you are looking for smth fancy don't stay there ! Parking is a bit expensive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Ocean View Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Urban Pink
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Oct 1, 2012

Basic, clean and location, location

Pleasant breezy hotel with lots of parking, currently. $20 overnight. Think my room card got zapped before check-out so a friendly staff member let me in. Ocean view rooms probably better for street noise on the upper levels, we were just above street level, which is fun if you like to people watch. The hotel is centered between the Pier and Wilshire Blvd. Most of Santa Monica shopping and restaurants are in walking distance. Our kids enjoyed the balcony and the grassy park areas above the beach. The beach is long and down some stairs and there's a handy foot bridge arching over PCH here. The hotel recommended a child friendly restaurant. Negatives were small beds and narrow hallways. And spotty wifi; in fact I could not get internet service Friday night. But the rooms didn't feel cramped at all, and often felt roomy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Ocean View Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Simmy
Business
Philadelphia, pa
Sep 13, 2012

Not cheap, great location

Rooms were more two star quality Couldn't get on the wireless Internet Registered for king, got two doubles They wouldn't give me a king Location is amazing

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Ocean View Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Lily68
Business
Arizona
Jul 16, 2012

Bad Bad!

The view was awful, i requested the view to look at the ocean, instead i got a view street with the noisy honking cars. The parking is awful and they charge extra. They asked me to move the garbage can in order to park my car. The room wasn't clean. I would not recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top