$212 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 25, 2015 Check-out: May 27, 2015

Ocean View Hotel

3 stars
View map of 1447 Ocean Avenue, Santa Monica, CA 90401

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Ocean View Hotel

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
72 out of 72
Amenities:
2.5
Cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.4
Comfort:
3.2
Location:
4.4
Value:
2.9

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Ocean View Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
L. A. Vibe
Business
Santa Monica
Sep 23, 2013

Perfect location

Had a very nice stay here. Nothing over-the-top but location couldn't be better and staff was very friendly and helpful. They are planning updates so perhaps next visit will be even better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean View Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
wfatum
Business
Browns Mills NJ
Sep 4, 2013

Handicap and other drivers beware,

These were the smallest rooms I have ever seen. Hotel has no amenities. Be careful when turning on the cold water it comes out scalding hot every time. Hotel staff allow non handicap drivers to park in handicap spots. Hotel guess pay $20.00 a night and are not guaranteed a parking spot. Staff asks you to park illegally because on weekends they fill the lot with public parking. This is the first hotel I ever stayed at that quests did not have preferential parking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

3rd street promenade very entertaining

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean View Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jimbomac7
Business
Florida
Aug 20, 2013

Great location

Close to everything! Easy to walk to shows, restaurants, & bars

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything is close

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean View Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mex Traveler
Business
San Diego, CA
Aug 12, 2013

To expensive for what they offer

The hotel sits right across the beach from Santa Monica and has a spectacular view of the pier and the park. Rooms are small, TV's are old, A/C is substandard, no noise cancellation from rooms, you can hear everything the guest on the next room are doing. No bell boy service or room service (they bring you food but it's from local restaurants), TV controller was not working, bathtub was also having problems with not holding water and at 6pm maintenance had gone home for the day . The room in itself it's old and hasn't been kept up to date. To be honest, for the price they charge, they need to do a lot of improvement, just because your right across the coast doesn't mean they get to charge premium pricing for the room and not offer a premium room for it. I will not be staying again there and would not recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean View Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CSanderson
Business
Alta Loma
Jul 21, 2013

Great Location, staff was friendly

This hotel was not our right choice but more of our last choice as we booked the room just a few hours before we arrived and did not know what to expect. The staff was friendly, the location was great, it was right across the street from the Santa Monica pier. The room was clean but it smelled of bleach when we arrived. The beds were clean and we slept well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything is close by, shopping, food and attractions.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean View Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Peterwk
Business
Denver, Co
May 29, 2013

Somewhat Shabby

Great location, but it's surprisingly shabby... an old hotel. No room service. Slightly dumb front-desk staff, but hey, the next person could be smarter. On checking out I commented that the air conditioning wasn't working in my room -- I thought I was doing them a favor! -- so the woman at the desk said "wait a minute," and walked off... came back 30 seconds later and said, "yes, it's working." "Um, no, it isn't, I just spent the night in the room." "I spoke to the woman who cleaned it, and she says it's working." "Well, it definitely isn't!" "We can go look if you want." ... "why would I want to look, I'm checking out!"

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean View Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
NY to LA businesman
Business
NY, NY
May 11, 2013

its all about the location

tvs are old, rooms are old, bath toiletries are terrible, and there is no food on site.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean View Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Marie Lee Gold
Business
LA
May 8, 2013

beach view??

As far a beach view goes if you count a view of the other buildings and parking lot beach view then here you go. upon check in I was informed there was a parking fee seems too much for a registered guess but fine but then mistakingly charge my card for hundreds even though it was for a prepaid room!!! and then just say sorry it should be reimbursed in a few days really! ! they should seriously get it together for a not cheap hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean View Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
howie 1
Business
north dakota
Apr 16, 2013

family getaway

location was good, right across from beach and santa monica pier. good restaurants close buy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean View Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Doug Man
Business
Ridgecrest, CA
Apr 9, 2013

The walls are thin.

Just hope you have a room that is not next to someone with small children running around. The wall are thin and you can hear everything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top