$229 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 26, 2015 Check-out: Apr 29, 2015

Ocean View Hotel

3 stars
View map of 1447 Ocean Avenue, Santa Monica, CA 90401

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Ocean View Hotel

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
71 out of 71
Amenities:
2.5
Cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.4
Comfort:
3.1
Location:
4.4
Value:
2.9

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Ocean View Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
tmbpinal
Business
Santa Monica, CA
Aug 5, 2014

Not as it seems

I was hoping this would be a great hotel to the end of our trip. Was I wrong - key machine not working - couldn't get in and out of room or elevator without going to get help. No drink machine or food on premises. Major construction day we were there and our car was filthy and very loud and dirty. When I asked for discount - was told flat out no refunds!!! Very displeased. Staff not helpful with help on room keys etc had to ask several times.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The pier was a lot of fun and very beautiful!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean View Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Southern Cali girl
Business
San Diego, ca
Aug 1, 2014

Nice hotel near the beach

Good hotel for the price. Very close to the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean View Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
H.Sku
Business
Minneapolis
Jun 14, 2014

Three stars all around

Nice small hotel. Rooms are a tiny bit tight but nice enough. Staff was nice and helpful. Location was about a block north and across street form pier and beach. Our room faced rooftops and other balconies but that was fine as we didn't spend much time inside. The tv and furnishings were nice. And the room was clean and smelled wonderfully of Aveda!! Parking is only $20 and it's right downstairs, it's tight but seems safe and secure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean View Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
CTobin
Business
Boston, MA
May 21, 2014

Not bad, but needs to be clear on amenities

The Ocean View Hotel was OK. The staff was fairly courteous but didn't seem knowledgeable about the area. The room was clean but the elevator and parking garage smelled strongly of urine. There were also a lot of vagrants around the parking area. There were zero amenities. They advertize "free wi-fi" but I was unable to connect to it at all. There were ice machines on the floor but there weren't any vending machines or any place to get a bottle of water on premises. All in all, it wasn't a bad place if you're just looking for a place to rest your head at night but if you're looking for more, I recommend looking elsewhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean View Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Chrizztopher
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Apr 14, 2014

Rooms a remodeled!

I was so excited to get there and see all the remodeling they were doing to the rooms. They have me a really beautiful room with that was just remodeled and it was such an amazing stay. Close to the beach and near the Pramanad for shopping and outings, best part is everything is near our hotel that my girlfriend and I enjoyed a nice stay there to enjoy the best of Santa Monica. Again the rooms are amazing!! I will definitely come back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean View Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
David Jr.
Business
Detroit, MI
Apr 8, 2014

Good location

The location was perfect, but there was no pool or gym or anything else. You also had to pay to park your car even if you are staying there. $22 a night. The rooms were newly renovated, but you werent allowed to use the fridge. Rooms and balconys were small, but fine for only 2 people. We payed the extra for the ocean view thankfully, other rooms had views of the alley or another building next to us. overall, it was an okay experience, but i'm not sure it was really worth the money payed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Third street promenade

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean View Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
michael429
Business
new york
Jan 29, 2014

A Dump

Checked in, saw the room, my girlfriend and i looked at each other and without a word, picked up our bags and left the hotel. Tried to use our booking fee at their sister property (which is very nice) but they would not honor it. Staff was rude and worse.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean View Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Cool Runnings 2
Business
New York, NY
Dec 20, 2013

Location is great, passable everything else.

Everything in Santa Monica is crazily expensive, so in that context this hotel isn't bad. Without the location, though, it would be similar to a "meh" Super 8.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you want healthy food during your business trip, stop by Tender Greens. Awesome!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean View Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Super Lor
Business
Van Nuys, Ca
Dec 3, 2013

One Year Anniversary

Overall, we just needed a place to stay at. It was a very convenient place because it was near the places we wanted to go to.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

3rd st. Promenade

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean View Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
bobdylansbuddy
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Oct 9, 2013

Over Priced

Nice location, but if it weren't for the location this place would probably charge by the hour. Disgusting rooms. The alarm clock turns off when you turn the lights to the room off....helpful!! No Amenities. $200 a night is crazy I won't be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Coffee Bean on 2nd ave is solid.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top