$400 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 3, 2015 Check-out: Jul 5, 2015

Hotel Shangri-La

4 stars
View map of 1301 Ocean Ave, Santa Monica, CA 90401

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
34 reviews
Great weekend Getaway

Hotel was clean and the service was great. Area was perfect and we were right in the middle of... See full review

  • Jason K.
  • Apr 28, 2015
Going there to see our kids.

Miesha= Thank you for the surprise birthday Treat for Brandi. That was so very nice of you to do... See full review

  • mrblazin04
  • May 21, 2014
Perched on a high bluff, mere steps from the beach, this timeless Santa Monica boutique hotel has undergone a $30 million redesign promising you a stylish haven to see and be seen. A lush courtyard with elevated pool and cabanas encourages mingling and sunning. The gourmet restaurant, The Dining Room, offers first class cuisine and hushed intimacy, and the posh rooftop bar summons the ambiance of a chic private club.

Hotel Shangri-La Rooms

One Bedroom Suite with Gourmet Kitchen
King Bedded Suite with full gourmet kitchen, offers separate living and sleeping areas. Carrara marble bathrooms and living areas with a warm and stylish dcor which include hardwood floors, an Art Deco inspired sofa (some with sleeper sofas), coffee table, 42 inch flat panel TV's, high speed wireless, iPod docking station/alarm clock, and "cuisinette" dining area.
Terrace Suite
King Bedded Suite with french doors leading to a terrace, offers a separate living, sleeping, and a full gourmet Kitchen. Carrara marble bathrooms and living areas with a warm and stylish dcor which include hardwood floors, an Art Deco inspired sofa (some with sleeper sofas), coffee table, 42 inch flat panel TV's, high speed wireless, iPod docking station/alarm clock, and "cuisinette" dining area.
Shangrila Room
Standard room offers an intimate queen bedded sleeping area. Rooms have warm and stylish dcor which include Carrara marble bathrooms, hardwood floors, large flat panel TV, high speed wireless, and an iPod docking station/alarm clock.
Deluxe Ocean View
Deluxe King Bedded rooms with full ocean views offer a comfortable sleeping and working area. Carrara marble bathrooms. Rooms have warm and stylish dcor which include hardwood floors, large flat panel TV, high speed wireless, and an iPod docking station/alarm clock.
One Bedroom Suite
King Bedded Suite offers a separate living, sleeping, and work area. Featuring Carrara marble bathrooms and living spaces with warm and stylish dcor which include hardwood floors, an Art Deco inspired sofa, coffee table, 42 inch flat panel TV's, high speed wireless, and iPod docking station/alarm clock.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Shangri-La

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
6 out of 34
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.5
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.3

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Shangri-La

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tired Traveller from NYC
Business
flagstaff
Jun 2, 2015

work trip

Hotel was great location. Just did not care for the configuration of the rooms or how dark the hotel was

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Shangri-La

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jack tripper
Business
New York city
May 14, 2014

Location, location, location

Great location, very noisy, young drunks on the weekend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Shangri-La

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ElMexicano
Business
Mexico
Oct 5, 2012

Hotel Review

Good hotel in a very good location and friendly personnel that makes you fill welcome.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Shangri-La

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
iuly
Business
Seattle, WA, USA
Mar 20, 2012

beatiful view

too small, no fridge, too expensive for the offer.....................................................................................................................................

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Shangri-La

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Nautibuoy
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Jul 29, 2011

Not worth the price

I was in town for business last week and the Shangri-la was very close. As I parked in the valet lot I could hear a large party. Whaddaya know, it was in the Shangri-la! A hoard of 20somethings drunker than drunk. It was 2:30 when I arrived and went to check in and was told I had to wait till 3:00. Really? At 10:00 at night the light fixture over the tub starting gushing water when the person above me took a shower. I called and they said they needed to verify that this was the case and then told me they had no rooms available. When I protested they found me a tiny room in the bottom corner of the hotel. The WORST stay at a hotel I've had in a long time and surely not worth the exorbitant price or the unfriendly staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Shangri-La

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Biz Mgr
Business
New york, New York
Oct 29, 2010

A Gem

Great Staff, amenities, and room. And right across the street from the Pacific. Great combination that can't be beat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top