$319 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 11, 2015 Check-out: May 12, 2015

Hotel Shangri-La

4 stars
View map of 1301 Ocean Ave, Santa Monica, CA 90401

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Shangri-La

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
28 out of 28
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.5

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Shangri-La

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
PA
Feb 19, 2010

Great Hotel

Excellent location. Newly renovated so clean and fresh. Rooms had lovely view of the ocean. Only negative is street noise (buses, trucks)but hotel has attempted to reduce this by noise quieting windows. Would definitely stay again and would highly recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Shangri-La

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Biz Mgr
Business
New york, New York
Oct 29, 2010

A Gem

Great Staff, amenities, and room. And right across the street from the Pacific. Great combination that can't be beat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Shangri-La

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bckwrdnsk
Business
Chicago
May 13, 2014

Great for a weekend getaway

Location, location, location. & that is what you're paying for here. You can drive 30 minutes to Hollywood, Venice Beach, and on a good day, Downtown L.A from the hotel. Being in my early 20's the rooftop happy hour was a nice feature. The rooftop bar can get loud some nights but since we were there to have a good time it didn't bother us. The hotel parking was expensive however convenient. Research on surrounding lots could be beneficial. The food was great & the pool was clean. The staff on the other hand could have been more welcoming. Most had an attitude and seemed annoyed by us coming in and out. Since the beach was half a block away, my boyfriend and I felt we could go back to the room in-between activities to change clothes or grab waters, but for some reason it bothered the staff. I gave a low score on value because other than the location & view from your room, you don't get much out of how much you pay. Feeling stressed after a long commute? Better stop at a CVS or a bar for a drink because their provided mini bar was more expensive than the drinks on the plane.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

For the adventure seekers; Go Surf L.A. offers one on one surfing lessons right down the street from this hotel. Being a first time surfer, they gave great tips, helped me out in the water, and by the end of it I was even able to surf a few waves.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Shangri-La

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Santa Barbara, CA
Jun 16, 2010

Lovely views of ocean and beach. Great l

Staff is one of the best ever. Food was excellent. Only a short walk from beach and third st. promenade Super ocean view from room. Downsides No privacy in toilet. Kinky glass walls. Boo! Paint them!! Strange light controls in room. All on or all off.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to wee bistro on other side of Arizona Ave. Delicious croissant/ham/cheese/coffee, Only $5

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Shangri-La

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sleepy Hollow, NY
Apr 22, 2009

Unbeatable location for the price

It's a beautiful hotel with excellent service. We got a great rate because they are undergoing constuction on thier pool area and their restaurants weren't open. Both the pool and reastaurants looked like they were going to be really nice. You can't beat the views and location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Shangri-La

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tuscaloosa AL
Jan 19, 2010

Shangri-La is awesome

My husband and I stayed in Hotel Shangri-La and attended the University of Alabama at Rose bowl. We had a wonderful time at this hotel. Our room had an ocean view with a king size bed with luxury down bedding. The Shangri-La breakfast is awesome. The hotel staff was very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Shangri-La

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Super Traveling Man
Business
Chicago
Sep 9, 2009

Very nice

Nice hotel! Very modern. Nice room. Great pool! They just finished a remodel so the place is very upscale and clean. Friendly staff, great door people, Very classy bar.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Shangri-La

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Marquis Mark
Business
San Francisco
May 30, 2011

Near to Paradise

This is a lovely, vintage hotel with extremely comfortable beds, windows that open to catch the sea breeze, staff that may be lacking somewhat in experience but makes up for it in effort and a fantastically convenient location. I have stayed at the Hotel Oceana (avoid at all costs) and the Georgian (my favourite) in the area and the Shangri-La is a solid competitor for the upscale market.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Call to confirm your reservation the day before arrival and ask if they have any suites available. I received an upgrade just by asking.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Shangri-La

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
santa monica
Jul 31, 2011

Great place to stay

we enjoyed are stay, very friendly staff, very clean. one complaint they never mentioned you had to pay for parking at the hotel 33.00 per day!! was not mentioned until I went to pay the bill!!!! other then that it was close to all the shopping and the beach. We would go back.[...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Shangri-La

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Switzerland
Dec 22, 2009

A gem in Santa Monica

Lovely boutique hotel right in Santa Monica one block from the beach. Lovely staff - very helpful and accommodating. The room was very clean and comfortable and well priced. Would recommend!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top