$387 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 30, 2015 Check-out: Aug 31, 2015

Hotel Shangri-La

4 stars
View map of 1301 Ocean Ave, Santa Monica, CA 90401

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Shangri-La

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
31 out of 31
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.6

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Shangri-La

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Santa Barbara, CA
Jun 16, 2010

Lovely views of ocean and beach. Great l

Staff is one of the best ever. Food was excellent. Only a short walk from beach and third st. promenade Super ocean view from room. Downsides No privacy in toilet. Kinky glass walls. Boo! Paint them!! Strange light controls in room. All on or all off.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to wee bistro on other side of Arizona Ave. Delicious croissant/ham/cheese/coffee, Only $5

Review of Hotel Shangri-La

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sleepy Hollow, NY
Apr 22, 2009

Unbeatable location for the price

It's a beautiful hotel with excellent service. We got a great rate because they are undergoing constuction on thier pool area and their restaurants weren't open. Both the pool and reastaurants looked like they were going to be really nice. You can't beat the views and location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Shangri-La

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tuscaloosa AL
Jan 19, 2010

Shangri-La is awesome

My husband and I stayed in Hotel Shangri-La and attended the University of Alabama at Rose bowl. We had a wonderful time at this hotel. Our room had an ocean view with a king size bed with luxury down bedding. The Shangri-La breakfast is awesome. The hotel staff was very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Shangri-La

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Super Traveling Man
Business
Chicago
Sep 9, 2009

Very nice

Nice hotel! Very modern. Nice room. Great pool! They just finished a remodel so the place is very upscale and clean. Friendly staff, great door people, Very classy bar.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Shangri-La

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Marquis Mark
Business
San Francisco
May 30, 2011

Near to Paradise

This is a lovely, vintage hotel with extremely comfortable beds, windows that open to catch the sea breeze, staff that may be lacking somewhat in experience but makes up for it in effort and a fantastically convenient location. I have stayed at the Hotel Oceana (avoid at all costs) and the Georgian (my favourite) in the area and the Shangri-La is a solid competitor for the upscale market.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Call to confirm your reservation the day before arrival and ask if they have any suites available. I received an upgrade just by asking.

Review of Hotel Shangri-La

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
santa monica
Jul 31, 2011

Great place to stay

we enjoyed are stay, very friendly staff, very clean. one complaint they never mentioned you had to pay for parking at the hotel 33.00 per day!! was not mentioned until I went to pay the bill!!!! other then that it was close to all the shopping and the beach. We would go back.[...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Shangri-La

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Switzerland
Dec 22, 2009

A gem in Santa Monica

Lovely boutique hotel right in Santa Monica one block from the beach. Lovely staff - very helpful and accommodating. The room was very clean and comfortable and well priced. Would recommend!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Shangri-La

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sway924
Business
santa monica California
Jul 18, 2014

great experience

The staff were very nice and helpful. The best part of staying at this hotel was that it was so close to the beach. Also it located near were all the store, restaurants and bars so we didn't need to drive much. Only problem was that the hotel had valet only parking but overall i loved it

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

3rd street is the place to be! All the stores are there and they stay open late

Review of Hotel Shangri-La

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
seven reasons
Business
southe bend in
Jul 30, 2014

had a great experience at the Shangri La. staff was wonderful

Right from the start when the hotel driver picked us up from the airport he was on time and courteous. From there it just kept getting better. I highly recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Venice board walk a must

Review of Hotel Shangri-La

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NoMt2Hi
Business
Colorado
Sep 24, 2014

Front and center

Unbeatable location and cool property at a good rate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Find Capo for dinner!

Back to menu Return to top