Hotel Shangri-La

4 stars
1301 Ocean Ave, Santa Monica, CA 90401
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
27 reviews
Going there to see our kids.

Miesha= Thank you for the surprise birthday Treat for Brandi. That was so very nice of you to do... See full review

  • mrblazin04
  • May 21, 2014
Front and center

Unbeatable location and cool property at a good rate. See full review

  • NoMt2Hi
  • Sep 24, 2014
Perched on a high bluff, mere steps from the beach, this timeless Santa Monica boutique hotel has undergone a $30 million redesign promising you a stylish haven to see and be seen. A lush courtyard with elevated pool and cabanas encourages mingling and sunning. The gourmet restaurant, The Dining Room, offers first class cuisine and hushed intimacy, and the posh rooftop bar summons the ambiance of a chic private club.

Hotel Shangri-La Rooms

One Bedroom Suite with Gourmet Kitchen
King Bedded Suite with full gourmet kitchen, offers separate living and sleeping areas. Carrara marble bathrooms and living areas with a warm and stylish dcor which include hardwood floors, an Art Deco inspired sofa (some with sleeper sofas), coffee table, 42 inch flat panel TV's, high speed wireless, iPod docking station/alarm clock, and "cuisinette" dining area.
Terrace Suite
King Bedded Suite with french doors leading to a terrace, offers a separate living, sleeping, and a full gourmet Kitchen. Carrara marble bathrooms and living areas with a warm and stylish dcor which include hardwood floors, an Art Deco inspired sofa (some with sleeper sofas), coffee table, 42 inch flat panel TV's, high speed wireless, iPod docking station/alarm clock, and "cuisinette" dining area.
Shangrila Room
Standard room offers an intimate queen bedded sleeping area. Rooms have warm and stylish dcor which include Carrara marble bathrooms, hardwood floors, large flat panel TV, high speed wireless, and an iPod docking station/alarm clock.
Deluxe Ocean View
Deluxe King Bedded rooms with full ocean views offer a comfortable sleeping and working area. Carrara marble bathrooms. Rooms have warm and stylish dcor which include hardwood floors, large flat panel TV, high speed wireless, and an iPod docking station/alarm clock.
One Bedroom Suite
King Bedded Suite offers a separate living, sleeping, and work area. Featuring Carrara marble bathrooms and living spaces with warm and stylish dcor which include hardwood floors, an Art Deco inspired sofa, coffee table, 42 inch flat panel TV's, high speed wireless, and iPod docking station/alarm clock.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Map

34.0154 -118.4991
Area served
Santa Monica
Nearby airports
Los Angeles International Airport (LAX)
Burbank Airport (BUR)

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (27)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Shangri-La

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
27 out of 27
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.6

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Shangri-La

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mrblazin04
Business
Ottawa Lake Mi.
May 21, 2014

Going there to see our kids.

Miesha= Thank you for the surprise birthday Treat for Brandi. That was so very nice of you to do that. Lindsay= Thank you for helping me with my return flight paper work, it helped us make the return to the airport so very easy. These Ladies at the Front Desk are what makes a great place like this so much better !!! To the man and woman working out by the pool- lounge area, Thank you for taking time to cut Brandi's cake and the light candle on the plate. This made our final night perfect. Our next time back to Cali. hope to see you again. Gene & Mary

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk down to 3rd. street to see the sights

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Shangri-La

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
west palm beach, florida
Sep 9, 2009

Hotel Shangri-la

Hotel was great and helpful, also the bed was so comfortable, i had a great night sleep!! Our next stop Santa Barbara, 4 star hotel, beds were not as comfortable, nor was the room as nice as the shangri-la

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Shangri-La

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Crownsbroyal
Business
Southfield, MI
Mar 10, 2010

Great Hotel

It was great, the staff was exceptional. The rooms were great, we had a production suite and it was awesome with a great view! On Sat. night the hotel was rowdy and loud, but the staff was very quick to apoligize and make it right :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Parking, park right behind the hotel at the lot and not valet. It will save you at least $20 plus a day.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Shangri-La

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Major Disappointment
Business
Uniontown PA
Jan 2, 2010

Hotel Shangri-La

We visited the Pacific Park Peir Santa Monica pier. We really enjoyed how nice the area location of the hotel was within walking distance to the pier.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Shangri-La

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bikenutz
Business
Detroit, MI
May 7, 2009

Shangri La

Everything about the hotel was fantastic. It will be even better when the pool area and restaurant renovation is complete. Hotel staff are extremely congenial and most accomodating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Shangri-La

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ElMexicano
Business
Mexico
Oct 5, 2012

Hotel Review

Good hotel in a very good location and friendly personnel that makes you fill welcome.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Shangri-La

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jeremy Pike
Business
Hepburn springs Victoria Australia
Feb 1, 2014

Beautiful Hotel

I though this hotel was absolutely wonderful and would happily stay there again next time I am in Santa Monica

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Shangri-La

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
PA
Feb 19, 2010

Great Hotel

Excellent location. Newly renovated so clean and fresh. Rooms had lovely view of the ocean. Only negative is street noise (buses, trucks)but hotel has attempted to reduce this by noise quieting windows. Would definitely stay again and would highly recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Shangri-La

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Biz Mgr
Business
New york, New York
Oct 29, 2010

A Gem

Great Staff, amenities, and room. And right across the street from the Pacific. Great combination that can't be beat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Shangri-La

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bckwrdnsk
Business
Chicago
May 13, 2014

Great for a weekend getaway

Location, location, location. & that is what you're paying for here. You can drive 30 minutes to Hollywood, Venice Beach, and on a good day, Downtown L.A from the hotel. Being in my early 20's the rooftop happy hour was a nice feature. The rooftop bar can get loud some nights but since we were there to have a good time it didn't bother us. The hotel parking was expensive however convenient. Research on surrounding lots could be beneficial. The food was great & the pool was clean. The staff on the other hand could have been more welcoming. Most had an attitude and seemed annoyed by us coming in and out. Since the beach was half a block away, my boyfriend and I felt we could go back to the room in-between activities to change clothes or grab waters, but for some reason it bothered the staff. I gave a low score on value because other than the location & view from your room, you don't get much out of how much you pay. Feeling stressed after a long commute? Better stop at a CVS or a bar for a drink because their provided mini bar was more expensive than the drinks on the plane.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

For the adventure seekers; Go Surf L.A. offers one on one surfing lessons right down the street from this hotel. Being a first time surfer, they gave great tips, helped me out in the water, and by the end of it I was even able to surf a few waves.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top