$450 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 27, 2014 Check-out: Jul 28, 2014

Hotel Shangri-La

4 stars
1301 Ocean Ave, Santa Monica, CA 90401
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
39 reviews
Going there to see our kids.

Miesha= Thank you for the surprise birthday Treat for Brandi. That was so very nice of you to do... See full review

  • mrblazin04
  • May 21, 2014
Great for a weekend getaway

Location, location, location. & that is what you're paying for here. You can drive 30 minutes to... See full review

  • bckwrdnsk
  • May 13, 2014
Perched on a high bluff, mere steps from the beach, this timeless Santa Monica boutique hotel has undergone a $30 million redesign promising you a stylish haven to see and be seen. A lush courtyard with elevated pool and cabanas encourages mingling and sunning. The gourmet restaurant, The Dining Room, offers first class cuisine and hushed intimacy, and the posh rooftop bar summons the ambiance of a chic private club.

Hotel Map

34.0154 -118.4991
Area served
Santa Monica
Nearby airports
Los Angeles International Airport (LAX)
Burbank Airport (BUR)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Shangri-La also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5

Hotel Shangri-La Rooms

One Bedroom Suite with Gourmet Kitchen
King Bedded Suite with full gourmet kitchen, offers separate living and sleeping areas. Carrara marble bathrooms and living areas with a warm and stylish dcor which include hardwood floors, an Art Deco inspired sofa (some with sleeper sofas), coffee table, 42 inch flat panel TV's, high speed wireless, iPod docking station/alarm clock, and "cuisinette" dining area.
Terrace Suite
King Bedded Suite with french doors leading to a terrace, offers a separate living, sleeping, and a full gourmet Kitchen. Carrara marble bathrooms and living areas with a warm and stylish dcor which include hardwood floors, an Art Deco inspired sofa (some with sleeper sofas), coffee table, 42 inch flat panel TV's, high speed wireless, iPod docking station/alarm clock, and "cuisinette" dining area.
Shangrila Room
Standard room offers an intimate queen bedded sleeping area. Rooms have warm and stylish dcor which include Carrara marble bathrooms, hardwood floors, large flat panel TV, high speed wireless, and an iPod docking station/alarm clock.
Deluxe Ocean View
Deluxe King Bedded rooms with full ocean views offer a comfortable sleeping and working area. Carrara marble bathrooms. Rooms have warm and stylish dcor which include hardwood floors, large flat panel TV, high speed wireless, and an iPod docking station/alarm clock.
One Bedroom Suite
King Bedded Suite offers a separate living, sleeping, and work area. Featuring Carrara marble bathrooms and living spaces with warm and stylish dcor which include hardwood floors, an Art Deco inspired sofa, coffee table, 42 inch flat panel TV's, high speed wireless, and iPod docking station/alarm clock.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (39)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Shangri-La

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
39 out of 39
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.6

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Shangri-La

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Major Disappointment
Uniontown PA
Jan 2, 2010

Hotel Shangri-La

We visited the Pacific Park Peir Santa Monica pier. We really enjoyed how nice the area location of the hotel was within walking distance to the pier.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hotel Shangri-La

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
west palm beach, florida
Sep 9, 2009

Hotel Shangri-la

Hotel was great and helpful, also the bed was so comfortable, i had a great night sleep!! Our next stop Santa Barbara, 4 star hotel, beds were not as comfortable, nor was the room as nice as the shangri-la

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Hotel Shangri-La

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
west palm beach, florida
Sep 9, 2009

Hotel Shangri-la

Hotel was great and helpful, also the bed was so comfortable, i had a great night sleep!! Our next stop Santa Barbara, 4 star hotel, beds were not as comfortable, nor was the room as nice as the shangri-la

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Hotel Shangri-La

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Crownsbroyal
Southfield, MI
Mar 10, 2010

Great Hotel

It was great, the staff was exceptional. The rooms were great, we had a production suite and it was awesome with a great view! On Sat. night the hotel was rowdy and loud, but the staff was very quick to apoligize and make it right :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Parking, park right behind the hotel at the lot and not valet. It will save you at least $20 plus a day.

Review of Hotel Shangri-La

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mrblazin04
Ottawa Lake Mi.
May 21, 2014

Going there to see our kids.

Miesha= Thank you for the surprise birthday Treat for Brandi. That was so very nice of you to do that. Lindsay= Thank you for helping me with my return flight paper work, it helped us make the return to the airport so very easy. These Ladies at the Front Desk are what makes a great place like this so much better !!! To the man and woman working out by the pool- lounge area, Thank you for taking time to cut Brandi's cake and the light candle on the plate. This made our final night perfect. Our next time back to Cali. hope to see you again. Gene & Mary

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk down to 3rd. street to see the sights

Review of Hotel Shangri-La

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Major Disappointment
Uniontown PA
Jan 2, 2010

Hotel Shangri-La

We visited the Pacific Park Peir Santa Monica pier. We really enjoyed how nice the area location of the hotel was within walking distance to the pier.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hotel Shangri-La

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Crownsbroyal
Southfield, MI
Mar 10, 2010

Great Hotel

It was great, the staff was exceptional. The rooms were great, we had a production suite and it was awesome with a great view! On Sat. night the hotel was rowdy and loud, but the staff was very quick to apoligize and make it right :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Parking, park right behind the hotel at the lot and not valet. It will save you at least $20 plus a day.

Review of Hotel Shangri-La

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Santa Barbara, CA
Jun 16, 2010

Lovely views of ocean and beach. Great l

Staff is one of the best ever. Food was excellent. Only a short walk from beach and third st. promenade Super ocean view from room. Downsides No privacy in toilet. Kinky glass walls. Boo! Paint them!! Strange light controls in room. All on or all off.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to wee bistro on other side of Arizona Ave. Delicious croissant/ham/cheese/coffee, Only $5

Review of Hotel Shangri-La

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
santa monica
Jul 31, 2011

Great place to stay

we enjoyed are stay, very friendly staff, very clean. one complaint they never mentioned you had to pay for parking at the hotel 33.00 per day!! was not mentioned until I went to pay the bill!!!! other then that it was close to all the shopping and the beach. We would go back.[...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hotel Shangri-La

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Switzerland
Dec 22, 2009

A gem in Santa Monica

Lovely boutique hotel right in Santa Monica one block from the beach. Lovely staff - very helpful and accommodating. The room was very clean and comfortable and well priced. Would recommend!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top