$319 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 14, 2015 Check-out: Sep 15, 2015

Hotel Shangri-La

4 stars
View map of 1301 Ocean Ave, Santa Monica, CA 90401

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Shangri-La

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
32 out of 32
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.7

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Shangri-La

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Biz Mgr
Business
New york, New York
Oct 29, 2010

A Gem

Great Staff, amenities, and room. And right across the street from the Pacific. Great combination that can't be beat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Shangri-La

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
southern Florida
Jul 12, 2010

It's just the facade

I loved staying in the heart of Santa Monica and the hotel's location was perfect. The room was tiny and overlooked a a multi-tiered parking lot. The noise from the pool area was extremely loud and intensified at night. The air conditioner buffered most of the distractions. I thoroughly enjoyed the friendly staff and my room was kept immaculately. I was dissappointed with the lack of amenities ... no coffee pot or refrigerator (only mini-bar). It was not a welcoming room but did have a very comforable queen sized bed. Compared to other visits to LA and Hollywood, having stayed in up-scale hotel's ... this was non-impressive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Single

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Located within easy walking distance of shopping, movies, fabulous reataurants, market, Santa Monica Pier. Lots of busses to go to explore Los Angeles and Hollywood.

Review of Hotel Shangri-La

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Santa Barbara, CA
Jun 16, 2010

Lovely views of ocean and beach. Great l

Staff is one of the best ever. Food was excellent. Only a short walk from beach and third st. promenade Super ocean view from room. Downsides No privacy in toilet. Kinky glass walls. Boo! Paint them!! Strange light controls in room. All on or all off.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to wee bistro on other side of Arizona Ave. Delicious croissant/ham/cheese/coffee, Only $5

Review of Hotel Shangri-La

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Crownsbroyal
Couples
Southfield, MI
Mar 10, 2010

Great Hotel

It was great, the staff was exceptional. The rooms were great, we had a production suite and it was awesome with a great view! On Sat. night the hotel was rowdy and loud, but the staff was very quick to apoligize and make it right :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Parking, park right behind the hotel at the lot and not valet. It will save you at least $20 plus a day.

Review of Hotel Shangri-La

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
PA
Feb 19, 2010

Great Hotel

Excellent location. Newly renovated so clean and fresh. Rooms had lovely view of the ocean. Only negative is street noise (buses, trucks)but hotel has attempted to reduce this by noise quieting windows. Would definitely stay again and would highly recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Hotel Shangri-La

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Tuscaloosa AL
Jan 19, 2010

Shangri-La is awesome

My husband and I stayed in Hotel Shangri-La and attended the University of Alabama at Rose bowl. We had a wonderful time at this hotel. Our room had an ocean view with a king size bed with luxury down bedding. The Shangri-La breakfast is awesome. The hotel staff was very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Hotel Shangri-La

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Major Disappointment
Family
Uniontown PA
Jan 2, 2010

Hotel Shangri-La

We visited the Pacific Park Peir Santa Monica pier. We really enjoyed how nice the area location of the hotel was within walking distance to the pier.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Hotel Shangri-La

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Switzerland
Dec 22, 2009

A gem in Santa Monica

Lovely boutique hotel right in Santa Monica one block from the beach. Lovely staff - very helpful and accommodating. The room was very clean and comfortable and well priced. Would recommend!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Hotel Shangri-La

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
west palm beach, florida
Sep 9, 2009

Hotel Shangri-la

Hotel was great and helpful, also the bed was so comfortable, i had a great night sleep!! Our next stop Santa Barbara, 4 star hotel, beds were not as comfortable, nor was the room as nice as the shangri-la

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Hotel Shangri-La

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Super Traveling Man
Single
Chicago
Sep 9, 2009

Very nice

Nice hotel! Very modern. Nice room. Great pool! They just finished a remodel so the place is very upscale and clean. Friendly staff, great door people, Very classy bar.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Back to menu Return to top