$319 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 14, 2015 Check-out: Sep 15, 2015

Hotel Shangri-La

4 stars
View map of 1301 Ocean Ave, Santa Monica, CA 90401

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Shangri-La

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
32 out of 32
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.7

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Shangri-La

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jack tripper
Business
New York city
May 14, 2014

Location, location, location

Great location, very noisy, young drunks on the weekend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Shangri-La

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bckwrdnsk
Couples
Chicago
May 13, 2014

Great for a weekend getaway

Location, location, location. & that is what you're paying for here. You can drive 30 minutes to Hollywood, Venice Beach, and on a good day, Downtown L.A from the hotel. Being in my early 20's the rooftop happy hour was a nice feature. The rooftop bar can get loud some nights but since we were there to have a good time it didn't bother us. The hotel parking was expensive however convenient. Research on surrounding lots could be beneficial. The food was great & the pool was clean. The staff on the other hand could have been more welcoming. Most had an attitude and seemed annoyed by us coming in and out. Since the beach was half a block away, my boyfriend and I felt we could go back to the room in-between activities to change clothes or grab waters, but for some reason it bothered the staff. I gave a low score on value because other than the location & view from your room, you don't get much out of how much you pay. Feeling stressed after a long commute? Better stop at a CVS or a bar for a drink because their provided mini bar was more expensive than the drinks on the plane.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

For the adventure seekers; Go Surf L.A. offers one on one surfing lessons right down the street from this hotel. Being a first time surfer, they gave great tips, helped me out in the water, and by the end of it I was even able to surf a few waves.

Review of Hotel Shangri-La

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jeremy Pike
Single
Hepburn springs Victoria Australia
Feb 1, 2014

Beautiful Hotel

I though this hotel was absolutely wonderful and would happily stay there again next time I am in Santa Monica

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Hotel Shangri-La

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
VictoriaH
Couples
Pasadena, CA
Jan 25, 2014

Parking

The hotel itself was pretty ordinary. I wasn't impressed with the parking situation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Hotel Shangri-La

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ElMexicano
Business
Mexico
Oct 5, 2012

Hotel Review

Good hotel in a very good location and friendly personnel that makes you fill welcome.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Shangri-La

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
BillSF
Couples
San Fracnisco
May 21, 2012

Shangri-La Could Step-it-up

WE've stayed at the Shangri-La twice. This most recent trip left a little to be desired. The room smelled like cigarette smoke, desk staff wasn't terribly helpful and housekeeping not very thorough. The upside, location is amazing, nice pool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Hotel Shangri-La

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
iuly
Business
Seattle, WA, USA
Mar 20, 2012

beatiful view

too small, no fridge, too expensive for the offer.....................................................................................................................................

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Shangri-La

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
santa monica
Jul 31, 2011

Great place to stay

we enjoyed are stay, very friendly staff, very clean. one complaint they never mentioned you had to pay for parking at the hotel 33.00 per day!! was not mentioned until I went to pay the bill!!!! other then that it was close to all the shopping and the beach. We would go back.[...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Hotel Shangri-La

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Nautibuoy
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Jul 29, 2011

Not worth the price

I was in town for business last week and the Shangri-la was very close. As I parked in the valet lot I could hear a large party. Whaddaya know, it was in the Shangri-la! A hoard of 20somethings drunker than drunk. It was 2:30 when I arrived and went to check in and was told I had to wait till 3:00. Really? At 10:00 at night the light fixture over the tub starting gushing water when the person above me took a shower. I called and they said they needed to verify that this was the case and then told me they had no rooms available. When I protested they found me a tiny room in the bottom corner of the hotel. The WORST stay at a hotel I've had in a long time and surely not worth the exorbitant price or the unfriendly staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Shangri-La

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Marquis Mark
Single
San Francisco
May 30, 2011

Near to Paradise

This is a lovely, vintage hotel with extremely comfortable beds, windows that open to catch the sea breeze, staff that may be lacking somewhat in experience but makes up for it in effort and a fantastically convenient location. I have stayed at the Hotel Oceana (avoid at all costs) and the Georgian (my favourite) in the area and the Shangri-La is a solid competitor for the upscale market.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Call to confirm your reservation the day before arrival and ask if they have any suites available. I received an upgrade just by asking.

Back to menu Return to top