$422 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 17, 2014 Check-out: Aug 19, 2014

Hotel Shangri-La

4 stars
1301 Ocean Ave, Santa Monica, CA 90401
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
40 reviews
Going there to see our kids.

Miesha= Thank you for the surprise birthday Treat for Brandi. That was so very nice of you to do... See full review

  • mrblazin04
  • May 21, 2014
great experience

The staff were very nice and helpful. The best part of staying at this hotel was that it was so... See full review

  • sway924
  • Jul 18, 2014
Perched on a high bluff, mere steps from the beach, this timeless Santa Monica boutique hotel has undergone a $30 million redesign promising you a stylish haven to see and be seen. A lush courtyard with elevated pool and cabanas encourages mingling and sunning. The gourmet restaurant, The Dining Room, offers first class cuisine and hushed intimacy, and the posh rooftop bar summons the ambiance of a chic private club.

Hotel Shangri-La Rooms

One Bedroom Suite with Gourmet Kitchen
King Bedded Suite with full gourmet kitchen, offers separate living and sleeping areas. Carrara marble bathrooms and living areas with a warm and stylish dcor which include hardwood floors, an Art Deco inspired sofa (some with sleeper sofas), coffee table, 42 inch flat panel TV's, high speed wireless, iPod docking station/alarm clock, and "cuisinette" dining area.
Terrace Suite
King Bedded Suite with french doors leading to a terrace, offers a separate living, sleeping, and a full gourmet Kitchen. Carrara marble bathrooms and living areas with a warm and stylish dcor which include hardwood floors, an Art Deco inspired sofa (some with sleeper sofas), coffee table, 42 inch flat panel TV's, high speed wireless, iPod docking station/alarm clock, and "cuisinette" dining area.
Shangrila Room
Standard room offers an intimate queen bedded sleeping area. Rooms have warm and stylish dcor which include Carrara marble bathrooms, hardwood floors, large flat panel TV, high speed wireless, and an iPod docking station/alarm clock.
Deluxe Ocean View
Deluxe King Bedded rooms with full ocean views offer a comfortable sleeping and working area. Carrara marble bathrooms. Rooms have warm and stylish dcor which include hardwood floors, large flat panel TV, high speed wireless, and an iPod docking station/alarm clock.
One Bedroom Suite
King Bedded Suite offers a separate living, sleeping, and work area. Featuring Carrara marble bathrooms and living spaces with warm and stylish dcor which include hardwood floors, an Art Deco inspired sofa, coffee table, 42 inch flat panel TV's, high speed wireless, and iPod docking station/alarm clock.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Shangri-La also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5

Hotel Map

34.0154 -118.4991
Area served
Santa Monica
Nearby airports
Los Angeles International Airport (LAX)
Burbank Airport (BUR)

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (40)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Shangri-La

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
40 out of 40
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.6

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Shangri-La

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Nautibuoy
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Jul 29, 2011

Not worth the price

I was in town for business last week and the Shangri-la was very close. As I parked in the valet lot I could hear a large party. Whaddaya know, it was in the Shangri-la! A hoard of 20somethings drunker than drunk. It was 2:30 when I arrived and went to check in and was told I had to wait till 3:00. Really? At 10:00 at night the light fixture over the tub starting gushing water when the person above me took a shower. I called and they said they needed to verify that this was the case and then told me they had no rooms available. When I protested they found me a tiny room in the bottom corner of the hotel. The WORST stay at a hotel I've had in a long time and surely not worth the exorbitant price or the unfriendly staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Shangri-La

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Nautibuoy
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Jul 29, 2011

Not worth the price

I was in town for business last week and the Shangri-la was very close. As I parked in the valet lot I could hear a large party. Whaddaya know, it was in the Shangri-la! A hoard of 20somethings drunker than drunk. It was 2:30 when I arrived and went to check in and was told I had to wait till 3:00. Really? At 10:00 at night the light fixture over the tub starting gushing water when the person above me took a shower. I called and they said they needed to verify that this was the case and then told me they had no rooms available. When I protested they found me a tiny room in the bottom corner of the hotel. The WORST stay at a hotel I've had in a long time and surely not worth the exorbitant price or the unfriendly staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Shangri-La

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Marquis Mark
San Francisco
May 30, 2011

Near to Paradise

This is a lovely, vintage hotel with extremely comfortable beds, windows that open to catch the sea breeze, staff that may be lacking somewhat in experience but makes up for it in effort and a fantastically convenient location. I have stayed at the Hotel Oceana (avoid at all costs) and the Georgian (my favourite) in the area and the Shangri-La is a solid competitor for the upscale market.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Call to confirm your reservation the day before arrival and ask if they have any suites available. I received an upgrade just by asking.

Review of Hotel Shangri-La

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Marquis Mark
San Francisco
May 30, 2011

Near to Paradise

This is a lovely, vintage hotel with extremely comfortable beds, windows that open to catch the sea breeze, staff that may be lacking somewhat in experience but makes up for it in effort and a fantastically convenient location. I have stayed at the Hotel Oceana (avoid at all costs) and the Georgian (my favourite) in the area and the Shangri-La is a solid competitor for the upscale market.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Call to confirm your reservation the day before arrival and ask if they have any suites available. I received an upgrade just by asking.

Review of Hotel Shangri-La

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
tourdefrance
Chicago
May 21, 2011

Avoid this hotel

Major charity event at hotel with music so loud it was hard to sleep. Staff seemed to be clueless as to service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Hotel Shangri-La

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Biz Mgr
Business
New york, New York
Oct 29, 2010

A Gem

Great Staff, amenities, and room. And right across the street from the Pacific. Great combination that can't be beat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Shangri-La

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Biz Mgr
Business
New york, New York
Oct 29, 2010

A Gem

Great Staff, amenities, and room. And right across the street from the Pacific. Great combination that can't be beat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Shangri-La

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
southern Florida
Jul 12, 2010

It's just the facade

I loved staying in the heart of Santa Monica and the hotel's location was perfect. The room was tiny and overlooked a a multi-tiered parking lot. The noise from the pool area was extremely loud and intensified at night. The air conditioner buffered most of the distractions. I thoroughly enjoyed the friendly staff and my room was kept immaculately. I was dissappointed with the lack of amenities ... no coffee pot or refrigerator (only mini-bar). It was not a welcoming room but did have a very comforable queen sized bed. Compared to other visits to LA and Hollywood, having stayed in up-scale hotel's ... this was non-impressive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Located within easy walking distance of shopping, movies, fabulous reataurants, market, Santa Monica Pier. Lots of busses to go to explore Los Angeles and Hollywood.

Review of Hotel Shangri-La

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
southern Florida
Jul 12, 2010

It's just the facade

I loved staying in the heart of Santa Monica and the hotel's location was perfect. The room was tiny and overlooked a a multi-tiered parking lot. The noise from the pool area was extremely loud and intensified at night. The air conditioner buffered most of the distractions. I thoroughly enjoyed the friendly staff and my room was kept immaculately. I was dissappointed with the lack of amenities ... no coffee pot or refrigerator (only mini-bar). It was not a welcoming room but did have a very comforable queen sized bed. Compared to other visits to LA and Hollywood, having stayed in up-scale hotel's ... this was non-impressive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Located within easy walking distance of shopping, movies, fabulous reataurants, market, Santa Monica Pier. Lots of busses to go to explore Los Angeles and Hollywood.

Review of Hotel Shangri-La

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Santa Barbara, CA
Jun 16, 2010

Lovely views of ocean and beach. Great l

Staff is one of the best ever. Food was excellent. Only a short walk from beach and third st. promenade Super ocean view from room. Downsides No privacy in toilet. Kinky glass walls. Boo! Paint them!! Strange light controls in room. All on or all off.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to wee bistro on other side of Arizona Ave. Delicious croissant/ham/cheese/coffee, Only $5

Back to menu Return to top