$380 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 5, 2015 Check-out: Jul 6, 2015

Hotel Shangri-La

4 stars
View map of 1301 Ocean Ave, Santa Monica, CA 90401

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Shangri-La

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
34 out of 34
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.4

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Shangri-La

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jeremy Pike
Business
Hepburn springs Victoria Australia
Feb 1, 2014

Beautiful Hotel

I though this hotel was absolutely wonderful and would happily stay there again next time I am in Santa Monica

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Shangri-La

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
VictoriaH
Business
Pasadena, CA
Jan 25, 2014

Parking

The hotel itself was pretty ordinary. I wasn't impressed with the parking situation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Shangri-La

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ElMexicano
Business
Mexico
Oct 5, 2012

Hotel Review

Good hotel in a very good location and friendly personnel that makes you fill welcome.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Shangri-La

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
BillSF
Business
San Fracnisco
May 21, 2012

Shangri-La Could Step-it-up

WE've stayed at the Shangri-La twice. This most recent trip left a little to be desired. The room smelled like cigarette smoke, desk staff wasn't terribly helpful and housekeeping not very thorough. The upside, location is amazing, nice pool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Shangri-La

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
iuly
Business
Seattle, WA, USA
Mar 20, 2012

beatiful view

too small, no fridge, too expensive for the offer.....................................................................................................................................

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Shangri-La

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
santa monica
Jul 31, 2011

Great place to stay

we enjoyed are stay, very friendly staff, very clean. one complaint they never mentioned you had to pay for parking at the hotel 33.00 per day!! was not mentioned until I went to pay the bill!!!! other then that it was close to all the shopping and the beach. We would go back.[...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Shangri-La

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Nautibuoy
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Jul 29, 2011

Not worth the price

I was in town for business last week and the Shangri-la was very close. As I parked in the valet lot I could hear a large party. Whaddaya know, it was in the Shangri-la! A hoard of 20somethings drunker than drunk. It was 2:30 when I arrived and went to check in and was told I had to wait till 3:00. Really? At 10:00 at night the light fixture over the tub starting gushing water when the person above me took a shower. I called and they said they needed to verify that this was the case and then told me they had no rooms available. When I protested they found me a tiny room in the bottom corner of the hotel. The WORST stay at a hotel I've had in a long time and surely not worth the exorbitant price or the unfriendly staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Shangri-La

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Marquis Mark
Business
San Francisco
May 30, 2011

Near to Paradise

This is a lovely, vintage hotel with extremely comfortable beds, windows that open to catch the sea breeze, staff that may be lacking somewhat in experience but makes up for it in effort and a fantastically convenient location. I have stayed at the Hotel Oceana (avoid at all costs) and the Georgian (my favourite) in the area and the Shangri-La is a solid competitor for the upscale market.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Call to confirm your reservation the day before arrival and ask if they have any suites available. I received an upgrade just by asking.

Review of Hotel Shangri-La

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
tourdefrance
Business
Chicago
May 21, 2011

Avoid this hotel

Major charity event at hotel with music so loud it was hard to sleep. Staff seemed to be clueless as to service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Shangri-La

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
tourdefrance
Business
Chicago
May 21, 2011

Avoid this hotel

Major charity event at hotel with music so loud it was hard to sleep. Staff seemed to be clueless as to service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top