$319 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 11, 2015 Check-out: May 12, 2015

Hotel Shangri-La

4 stars
View map of 1301 Ocean Ave, Santa Monica, CA 90401

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
30 reviews
Great weekend Getaway

Hotel was clean and the service was great. Area was perfect and we were right in the middle of... See full review

  • Jason K.
  • Apr 28, 2015
Going there to see our kids.

Miesha= Thank you for the surprise birthday Treat for Brandi. That was so very nice of you to do... See full review

  • mrblazin04
  • May 21, 2014
Perched on a high bluff, mere steps from the beach, this timeless Santa Monica boutique hotel has undergone a $30 million redesign promising you a stylish haven to see and be seen. A lush courtyard with elevated pool and cabanas encourages mingling and sunning. The gourmet restaurant, The Dining Room, offers first class cuisine and hushed intimacy, and the posh rooftop bar summons the ambiance of a chic private club.

Hotel Shangri-La Rooms

One Bedroom Suite with Gourmet Kitchen
King Bedded Suite with full gourmet kitchen, offers separate living and sleeping areas. Carrara marble bathrooms and living areas with a warm and stylish dcor which include hardwood floors, an Art Deco inspired sofa (some with sleeper sofas), coffee table, 42 inch flat panel TV's, high speed wireless, iPod docking station/alarm clock, and "cuisinette" dining area.
Terrace Suite
King Bedded Suite with french doors leading to a terrace, offers a separate living, sleeping, and a full gourmet Kitchen. Carrara marble bathrooms and living areas with a warm and stylish dcor which include hardwood floors, an Art Deco inspired sofa (some with sleeper sofas), coffee table, 42 inch flat panel TV's, high speed wireless, iPod docking station/alarm clock, and "cuisinette" dining area.
Shangrila Room
Standard room offers an intimate queen bedded sleeping area. Rooms have warm and stylish dcor which include Carrara marble bathrooms, hardwood floors, large flat panel TV, high speed wireless, and an iPod docking station/alarm clock.
Deluxe Ocean View
Deluxe King Bedded rooms with full ocean views offer a comfortable sleeping and working area. Carrara marble bathrooms. Rooms have warm and stylish dcor which include hardwood floors, large flat panel TV, high speed wireless, and an iPod docking station/alarm clock.
One Bedroom Suite
King Bedded Suite offers a separate living, sleeping, and work area. Featuring Carrara marble bathrooms and living spaces with warm and stylish dcor which include hardwood floors, an Art Deco inspired sofa, coffee table, 42 inch flat panel TV's, high speed wireless, and iPod docking station/alarm clock.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Shangri-La

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
30 out of 30
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.6

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Shangri-La

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jason K.
Business
N/A
Apr 28, 2015

Great weekend Getaway

Hotel was clean and the service was great. Area was perfect and we were right in the middle of everything. I would recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Shangri-La

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Phil
Business
Allen
Feb 19, 2015

Excellent location

Entry to hotel and rooms is less than impressive but necessary due to location. Sliding glass inside windows is effective at limiting noise from busy road in front of hotel. Beautiful views, small but well appointed rooms. Very attentive and courteous staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Shangri-La

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NoMt2Hi
Business
Colorado
Sep 24, 2014

Front and center

Unbeatable location and cool property at a good rate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Find Capo for dinner!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Shangri-La

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
seven reasons
Business
southe bend in
Jul 30, 2014

had a great experience at the Shangri La. staff was wonderful

Right from the start when the hotel driver picked us up from the airport he was on time and courteous. From there it just kept getting better. I highly recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Venice board walk a must

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Shangri-La

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sway924
Business
santa monica California
Jul 18, 2014

great experience

The staff were very nice and helpful. The best part of staying at this hotel was that it was so close to the beach. Also it located near were all the store, restaurants and bars so we didn't need to drive much. Only problem was that the hotel had valet only parking but overall i loved it

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

3rd street is the place to be! All the stores are there and they stay open late

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Shangri-La

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mrblazin04
Business
Ottawa Lake Mi.
May 21, 2014

Going there to see our kids.

Miesha= Thank you for the surprise birthday Treat for Brandi. That was so very nice of you to do that. Lindsay= Thank you for helping me with my return flight paper work, it helped us make the return to the airport so very easy. These Ladies at the Front Desk are what makes a great place like this so much better !!! To the man and woman working out by the pool- lounge area, Thank you for taking time to cut Brandi's cake and the light candle on the plate. This made our final night perfect. Our next time back to Cali. hope to see you again. Gene & Mary

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk down to 3rd. street to see the sights

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Shangri-La

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jack tripper
Business
New York city
May 14, 2014

Location, location, location

Great location, very noisy, young drunks on the weekend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Shangri-La

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bckwrdnsk
Business
Chicago
May 13, 2014

Great for a weekend getaway

Location, location, location. & that is what you're paying for here. You can drive 30 minutes to Hollywood, Venice Beach, and on a good day, Downtown L.A from the hotel. Being in my early 20's the rooftop happy hour was a nice feature. The rooftop bar can get loud some nights but since we were there to have a good time it didn't bother us. The hotel parking was expensive however convenient. Research on surrounding lots could be beneficial. The food was great & the pool was clean. The staff on the other hand could have been more welcoming. Most had an attitude and seemed annoyed by us coming in and out. Since the beach was half a block away, my boyfriend and I felt we could go back to the room in-between activities to change clothes or grab waters, but for some reason it bothered the staff. I gave a low score on value because other than the location & view from your room, you don't get much out of how much you pay. Feeling stressed after a long commute? Better stop at a CVS or a bar for a drink because their provided mini bar was more expensive than the drinks on the plane.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

For the adventure seekers; Go Surf L.A. offers one on one surfing lessons right down the street from this hotel. Being a first time surfer, they gave great tips, helped me out in the water, and by the end of it I was even able to surf a few waves.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Shangri-La

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jeremy Pike
Business
Hepburn springs Victoria Australia
Feb 1, 2014

Beautiful Hotel

I though this hotel was absolutely wonderful and would happily stay there again next time I am in Santa Monica

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Shangri-La

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
VictoriaH
Business
Pasadena, CA
Jan 25, 2014

Parking

The hotel itself was pretty ordinary. I wasn't impressed with the parking situation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top