$319 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 13, 2015 Check-out: Sep 15, 2015

Hotel Shangri-La

4 stars
View map of 1301 Ocean Ave, Santa Monica, CA 90401

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
32 reviews
Couple Trip

Our stay was awesome! It was very clean and had everything we needed there. See full review

  • Bethany S.
  • Aug 20, 2015
Great weekend Getaway

Hotel was clean and the service was great. Area was perfect and we were right in the middle of... See full review

  • Jason K.
  • Apr 28, 2015
Perched on a high bluff, mere steps from the beach, this timeless Santa Monica boutique hotel has undergone a $30 million redesign promising you a stylish haven to see and be seen. A lush courtyard with elevated pool and cabanas encourages mingling and sunning. The gourmet restaurant, The Dining Room, offers first class cuisine and hushed intimacy, and the posh rooftop bar summons the ambiance of a chic private club.

Hotel Shangri-La Rooms

One Bedroom Suite with Gourmet Kitchen
King Bedded Suite with full gourmet kitchen, offers separate living and sleeping areas. Carrara marble bathrooms and living areas with a warm and stylish dcor which include hardwood floors, an Art Deco inspired sofa (some with sleeper sofas), coffee table, 42 inch flat panel TV's, high speed wireless, iPod docking station/alarm clock, and "cuisinette" dining area.
Terrace Suite
King Bedded Suite with french doors leading to a terrace, offers a separate living, sleeping, and a full gourmet Kitchen. Carrara marble bathrooms and living areas with a warm and stylish dcor which include hardwood floors, an Art Deco inspired sofa (some with sleeper sofas), coffee table, 42 inch flat panel TV's, high speed wireless, iPod docking station/alarm clock, and "cuisinette" dining area.
Shangrila Room
Standard room offers an intimate queen bedded sleeping area. Rooms have warm and stylish dcor which include Carrara marble bathrooms, hardwood floors, large flat panel TV, high speed wireless, and an iPod docking station/alarm clock.
Deluxe Ocean View
Deluxe King Bedded rooms with full ocean views offer a comfortable sleeping and working area. Carrara marble bathrooms. Rooms have warm and stylish dcor which include hardwood floors, large flat panel TV, high speed wireless, and an iPod docking station/alarm clock.
One Bedroom Suite
King Bedded Suite offers a separate living, sleeping, and work area. Featuring Carrara marble bathrooms and living spaces with warm and stylish dcor which include hardwood floors, an Art Deco inspired sofa, coffee table, 42 inch flat panel TV's, high speed wireless, and iPod docking station/alarm clock.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Shangri-La

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
32 out of 32
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.7

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Shangri-La

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Ns
Not Provided
Dec 14, 2010

The hotel was in a fantastic location,

The hotel was in a fantastic location, right across from Santa Monica beach and the pier, and on bus routes if you didn't have a car. A short walk to all the shops. A small complex renovated in the Art-deco style. All the staff were friendly, bed was very comfortable. Lovely pool area but being winter was too cold to use. Would be great to have coffee/tea facilities in the room, but seems to be normal for most hotels that we stayed in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
No rating
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Ns

Review of Hotel Shangri-La

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bethany S.
Couples
N/A
Aug 20, 2015

Couple Trip

Our stay was awesome! It was very clean and had everything we needed there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Hotel Shangri-La

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bubby 5
Couples
N/A
Jul 28, 2015

Santa Monica Getaway

There was a problem with our initial room... Front desk bent over backwards to change our room the following day. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful. Our first room was tiny! We were in a handicap accessible room the second night.... Much bigger! Rooms could use a redo.... Very dated.... But immaculate!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Hotel Shangri-La

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tired Traveller from NYC
Business
flagstaff
Jun 2, 2015

work trip

Hotel was great location. Just did not care for the configuration of the rooms or how dark the hotel was

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Shangri-La

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Sophia
Couples
N/A
May 6, 2015

Poor Value

The value of the hotel was not worth the money I spent. The decor was very plain and the room layout was very narrow and had poor flow.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Hotel Shangri-La

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jason K.
Couples
N/A
Apr 28, 2015

Great weekend Getaway

Hotel was clean and the service was great. Area was perfect and we were right in the middle of everything. I would recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Hotel Shangri-La

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Phil
Couples
Allen
Feb 19, 2015

Excellent location

Entry to hotel and rooms is less than impressive but necessary due to location. Sliding glass inside windows is effective at limiting noise from busy road in front of hotel. Beautiful views, small but well appointed rooms. Very attentive and courteous staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Hotel Shangri-La

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NoMt2Hi
Couples
Colorado
Sep 24, 2014

Front and center

Unbeatable location and cool property at a good rate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Find Capo for dinner!

Review of Hotel Shangri-La

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
seven reasons
Couples
southe bend in
Jul 30, 2014

had a great experience at the Shangri La. staff was wonderful

Right from the start when the hotel driver picked us up from the airport he was on time and courteous. From there it just kept getting better. I highly recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Venice board walk a must

Review of Hotel Shangri-La

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sway924
Couples
santa monica California
Jul 18, 2014

great experience

The staff were very nice and helpful. The best part of staying at this hotel was that it was so close to the beach. Also it located near were all the store, restaurants and bars so we didn't need to drive much. Only problem was that the hotel had valet only parking but overall i loved it

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

3rd street is the place to be! All the stores are there and they stay open late

Review of Hotel Shangri-La

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mrblazin04
Couples
Ottawa Lake Mi.
May 21, 2014

Going there to see our kids.

Miesha= Thank you for the surprise birthday Treat for Brandi. That was so very nice of you to do that. Lindsay= Thank you for helping me with my return flight paper work, it helped us make the return to the airport so very easy. These Ladies at the Front Desk are what makes a great place like this so much better !!! To the man and woman working out by the pool- lounge area, Thank you for taking time to cut Brandi's cake and the light candle on the plate. This made our final night perfect. Our next time back to Cali. hope to see you again. Gene & Mary

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk down to 3rd. street to see the sights

Back to menu Return to top