$129 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 24, 2014 Check-out: Jul 26, 2014

Historic Santa Maria Inn

3 stars
801 S. Broadway, Santa Maria, CA 93454
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
267 reviews
Charming and convenient place to stay

This hotel has a very welcoming English looking, is clean and spatious. Rooms are nice and cozy and... See full review

  • Lina B.
  • Feb 18, 2014
Great getaway

The history was nice was a great place to stay. Would stay longer next time so we could enjoy the... See full review

  • Paul the bestie
  • Aug 18, 2013
History and Hollywood meet in Wine Country
Historic Santa Maria Inn was built in 1917 and is considered to be both a Central Coast landmark and a symbol of bygone luxury. Located in the Santa Maria Valley, the Historic Santa Maria Inn was a layover spot for Hollywood titans like Rudolph Valentino and Clark Gable. Guests enjoy peaceful rose gardens, an extensive wine cellar, English pub, a heated pool, fitness center and more. The inn is a short drive to San Luis Obispo, Hearst Castle, Santa Ynez wine trails, the PCPA Theater and Big Sur.
Highlights
  • Historic, pet-friendly inn
  • Free high-speed Internet
  • Rose gardens and an extensive wine cellar
Rooms
The 164 rooms at the Historic Santa Maria Inn are pet friendly (fees apply) and offer 5 acres of dog-walking fun. Guests can choose from king, queen or two double beds. Rooms are about 180 square feet, furnished in Victorian decor. A refrigerator, coffee-maker, hair-dryer, radio alarm clock, iron/ironing board, cable television with movies on-demand, Nintendo and free high-speed Internet are included. Larger executive tower rooms are furnished with English country decor. Tower rooms offer a king or two queen beds, bay windows, game table, ceiling fan, two vanities and the amenities stated above.
Features
The Historic Santa Maria Inn offers a spa, hair and nail salon, barbershop, gift shop, clothing boutique, travel agent, room service, daily guest laundry, and valet. Travelers get a feel for a different era in the courtyard among giant palm trees, a lush rose garden and antique fountain. An inviting pool, heated whirlpool, and fitness center invigorate guests. Hollywood legends Rudolph Valentino and Clark Gable once lounged in the Coach Room en route to Hearst Castle.
Dining
Historic Santa Maria Inn guests dine at the Garden Room Restaurant. A casual yet refined ambiance combines California cuisine and outstanding service. An award-winning champagne Sunday brunch is offered each weekend. The Old English Tap Room is popular with locals and travelers. The Wine Cellar & Martini Bar serves nightly hors d'oeuvres, and The 801 Espresso offers specialty coffee, snacks and sweets. Adjacent to the 801 Cafe is a piano lounge.
Transportation
  • Santa Maria Public Airport (3 mi/4.8 km)
  • Santa Barbara Municipal Airport (65.7 mi/105.7 km)
Attractions
  • PCPA Theater (2.5 mi/4 km)
  • Central Coast Wineries (15 mi/24.1 km)
  • Vandenberg Air Force Base (17 mi/27.4 km)
  • Pismo State Beach (18 mi/29 km)
  • Hearst Castle (60 mi/96.6 km)
Business
  • Free high-speed Internet
  • On-site catering available
  • Audiovisual equipment rentals
  • Offers 10,000 square feet of flexible meeting space that fits 350

Historic Santa Maria Inn Rooms

Historic Inn
Charming Historic Inn with old world Victorian decor originally built in 1917, approximately 180 sq ft, one king, one queen, or two double beds, high speed cable internet, coffee maker, refrigerator, hair dryer, radio/alarm, cable TV, in room movies, Nintendo, desk, iron & board, ceiling fan, second vanity area (in some rooms), phone, individual heat and A/C.
Executive Tower
Oversized executive room in newer Tower section, approximately 480 sq ft, one king or two queen beds, bay windows, game table and chairs, high speed cable internet, coffee maker, refrigerator, hair dryer, radio/alarm, cable TV, in room movies, Nintendo, desk, iron & board, ceiling fan, second vanity area, phone, individual heat and A/C. English country style decor.
Romance Package
Our Romantic Getaway includes chilled champagne, delectable chocolates, and Full American Buffet Breakfast for two served in our Garden Room Restaurant 6-9:30 a.m.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Historic Santa Maria Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Hotel Map

34.9438 -120.4367
Area served
Santa Maria downtown, Santa Barbara, CA
Nearby airports
Santa Barbara and Santa Maria Airport
Area description
The Santa Maria Inn is located midway between Los Angeles and San Francisco in the heart of the wine country on the central coast.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
From concept to completion, the meeting and catering professionals at The Historic Santa Maria Inn will ensure that your event is a memorable one. Whether you're planning a business meeting or a social affair, you'll appreciate our 10,000 square feet of flexible meeting space, personalized service and elegant catering.

Dining

Olde English Tap Room
Restored to its original congenial atmosphere, the Olde English Tap Room provides you with a quiet spot to sip your favorite drink before the warm glow of an inviting fire. Savor a variety of imported beers in this cozy European atmosphere. Open daily 11 am - close.
801 Cafe
Our 801 Expresso Caf proudly brews Starbuck coffee and Italian Sodas, as well as snacks and desserts. Perfect before or after dinner in the Garden Room. Open 6am - 2 pm daily and 5pm - 9pm Sunday - Thursday, 5pm - 10 pm Friday and Saturday. Adjacent to the 801 Caf is our new piano lounge. Enjoy music from our player baby grand as you relax with appetizers and drinks.
The Wine Cellar & Martini Bar
You'll enjoy a grand selection of local vintages and wines from around the world as well as signature martinis in this cozy and intimate downstairs nook. Open Tuesday - Saturday 4:30 p.m. - 9:00 p.m. Closed Sunday and Monday.
Garden Room Restaurant
An intimate full-service restaurant serving fresh and imaginative California cuisine for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. The Garden room was voted the "Most Romantic Restaurant" by the Santa Maria Sun. Enjoy our award-winning Sunday Champagne Brunch, named "Best Sunday Brunch" by the Santa Maria Times and Santa Maria Sun. We are open for dine in or room service 6am - 2pm and 5pm - 10pm. Check our menu for selections and pricing.
Tower Lane Shops
After checking in, you are welcome to explore The Historic Santa Maria retail facilities and shops. The spacious and decorative lobby houses everything you need to make your stay a memorable experience, whether it be a cup of espresso or a pampering trip to the beauty salon. The Tower Lane Shops in the promenade provide convenience, comfort and couture.

Unique gifts for the whole family - baby items, Franz porcelain, collectible fairies, music boxes, limited edition artwork, Thomas Kincaid, golf items & much, much more. A must see!

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (267)

Ratings and reviews for Historic Santa Maria Inn

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
267 out of 267
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.1
Value:
4

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Historic Santa Maria Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Aunt Lyn
Texas
Jul 7, 2014

Class Reunion

Good to know that the present generation cares about historic preservation! I was so pleased to see that the Inn has been brought back to it's former elegance! The staff was very friendly and helpful. i stayed in the "old" section of the Inn. It was my choice for "old times" sake!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

History museum. Also, the public library.

Review of Historic Santa Maria Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Meldonator
San Diego, CA, USA
Jun 29, 2014

Santa Maria

Nice hotel with good restaurant and bar. Close to nearby downtown Santa Maria and food.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Historic Santa Maria Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JPCL
Los Angeles
Jun 28, 2014

Good hotel for the area

The rooms feel a little aged, which makes the high price difficult to justify

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Historic Santa Maria Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
BT travels
Escondido , CA
Jun 13, 2014

Rustic lost it's charm.

Bed hard as a rock, WiFi blocks Netflix. Hallways freezing and very narrow, An actual bathtub but will not hold water. No counter tops or vanity space. The sink was a pedestal bowl style which is good for the small bathroom, but no place to put shaving, or hair brush or any other primping items. The T.V. Is a flat screen with the basic channels most analog. Our key card quit working, the second day, the staff then did not know that we were staying more than one night. ( booked 4) Apparently the keys are set for default. My wife & I was standing holding arm loads of items while phones and customers were being waited on. (They had one person handling the front desk) before they turned the key back on,. The room was on the street and you could hear the kids and skate boarders at night and early morning. It was a long walk down the halls with only access was thru the front parking lot. Which is okay once you have all of your luggage in the room. But not so much when you have to make several trips from your vehicle to your room. Each one of these Items by themselves is minor. But all together it took away from the charm.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The local attractions small and closed. Local theatre if you are a 3-d fan. Ignore help ratings on local restaurants stick with the chain ones. This is not a tourist town. It was within 40 minutes of Sulvang which is a plus.

Review of Historic Santa Maria Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RVN VET
Indio, Ca
Jun 6, 2014

Nice Stay in Quaint Hotel

The Historic Santa Maria Inn is an older hotel that has been upgraded very nicely and the Staff were amazing! While located in the older part of town, it is still close to the freeway, with access to nearby restaurants and shopping. Our stay was very enjoyable and we would stay there again on our next trip to the California Central Coast. The inn is in wine country and very nicely situated within easy commute to other attractions in the area. Overall: 4 1/2 Stars! Deserving of a return visit!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Go south on the 101 to the newer section of Santa Maria for a greater selection of restaurants. Take a light jacket, it is chilly in the evenings, even for June.

Review of Historic Santa Maria Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Student Summer Travelers
Lompoc, California
May 18, 2014

Relaxing getaway

We enjoyed our simple and relaxing stay at historic Inn. It had an old 1920's feel to the room complete with everything you need to be very comfortable away from home!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Historic Santa Maria Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mom of 4 Lovely Ladies
Thousand Oaks, CA
Apr 29, 2014

Quick Family Getaway

We booked an impromptu family getaway to San Luis Obispo. The location was close, the hotel was spacious and clean. We would definitely return again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Review of Historic Santa Maria Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LA doctor
Los Angeles
Mar 31, 2014

Comfortable wine country hotel

The Inn has a bit of faded glory. But it was a nice place to stay. The outdoor pool area is great except that the spa bubbles didn't work. The staff were charming. And it's a great location for a Santa Maria wine tour.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Los Alamos is a cute little town with excellent foodie lunch spots.

Review of Historic Santa Maria Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bruce S.
Winfield, KS
Mar 20, 2014

Historic and Comfortable

We enjoyed the comfortable king size bed in a room previously occupied by Marilyn Monroe. The soothing sounds of the water fountain below our deck was also a bonus.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Historic Santa Maria Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Happy Vistor
Springfield, MA
Mar 17, 2014

Kind and Friendly

This hotel made me feel very welcome. I have to praise the front office staff for helping my grandmother who is handicapped. THANK YOU!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top