$134 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 23, 2015 Check-out: Aug 26, 2015

Coastview Inn Santa Cruz

3 stars
View map of 301 Beach Street, Santa Cruz, CA 95060

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
60 reviews
enjoyed our stay

Stayed for one night with my husband. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Room was clean,... See full review

  • AnnGl
  • Nov 24, 2014
Basic room, very close to beach

The location here rocks! The room was bare bones basic, exactly what we expected. The staff was... See full review

  • Sarah W.
  • Jul 10, 2015

Coastview Inn Santa Cruz boasts an unbeatable and rare beachfront location just across from Santa Cruz's main beach. A large seasonal courtyard and heated pool offers guests to choice to relax onsite. Cross the street for immediate beach access or walk three blocks further to ride the Giant Dipper roller coaster at the famous Boardwalk. The combination of simple accommodations and a beachfront location make Coastview Inn Santa Cruz a good value for budget-minded families and first-time visitors to Santa Cruz.

Rooms

Coastview Inn Santa Cruz has standard king and queen rooms on two levels, each equipped with microwaves, refrigerators, individual temperature control, satellite TV and HBO. Well-appointed granite bathrooms provide bath products, hairdryers, irons and ironing boards. Free wireless Internet access is available in all rooms. ADA rooms with one queen bed are available. Some upgraded rooms have an ocean view and flatscreen TVs. All rooms feature a simple, clean and comfortable decor.

Property features

Coastview Inn is across the street from the main Santa Cruz beachfront and famous Beach Boardwalk. Enjoy the convenience of free parking, complimentary breakfast and a heated swimming pool all within steps of the sand. The large sunny swimming pool and courtyard area (seasonal) is tucked away from the street for guest privacy. 

Highlights

  • A unique and coveted location just across the street from beach
  • Free parking
  • 100 percent non-smoking property
  • Complimentary continental breakfast
  • Free in-room wireless Internet access

Nearby attractions

  • Pier and Beach Boardwalk (Across the street)
  • Downtown/Pacific Street (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Santa Cruz Museum of Art and History (1.1 mi/1.7 km)
  • De Laveaga Golf Course one mile (3.3 mi/5.3 km)
  • University of California Santa Cruz (UCSC) (4.6 mi/7.4 km)
  • Henry Cowell Redwoods State Park (9.9 mi/15.9 km)
  • Monterey Bay Aquarium (44.6 mi/71.8 km)

Business

  • In-room desks
  • Faxing services (fees apply)
  • Free wireless Internet access is available in all guest rooms

Transportation

  • Santa Cruz Metro Center/Greyhound bus station (0.7 mi/1.2 km)
  • San Jose International Airport (34.5 mi/55.6 km)

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Coastview Inn Santa Cruz also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

Coastview Inn Santa Cruz Rooms

Ocean View 2 Queen
Ocean View 2 Queen Ocean view room, 2 queen beds, free parking, free high speed Internet, free
Standard 2 Queen
Standard 2 Queen Standard room with 2 queen beds, free parking, free high speed Internet, free
Standard King
Standard King Standard room with 1 king bed, free parking, free high speed Internet, free brea
Ocean View King
Ocean View King King room with ocean view, free parking, free high speed Internet, free breakf

Amenities

  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Continental breakfast
Services
Wake-up service
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Shower

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Coastview Inn Santa Cruz

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
60 out of 60
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.5

70% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Coastview Inn Santa Cruz

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sarah W.
Business
Alexandria
Jul 10, 2015

Basic room, very close to beach

The location here rocks! The room was bare bones basic, exactly what we expected. The staff was friendly and helpful -- we'd stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Coastview Inn Santa Cruz

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
hiddeng
Business
N/A
Jul 9, 2015

great location

Hotel itself is pretty old and small but the guy at the front desk, he's so nice and kind and so helpful. Most of all it has the best location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Coastview Inn Santa Cruz

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
lorena g
Business
fresno
May 12, 2015

great for a quick getaway

The hotel room itself was nice clean and up to date...smelled great...didn't like the parking lot above our rooms since parking is only located above the hotel. The staff was ok but did charge us 2 times for our room setting us back financially and almost ruining our stay... affordable but probably won't return since they told me I was crazy for saying I got charged twice

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Coastview Inn Santa Cruz

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Beverly W.Donsgirl
Business
N/A
Mar 4, 2015

Great location

Older motel, but clean. Room with two queen beds was too crowded. Manager gave us a room with one bed and it was great. The Santa Cruz location couldn't have been better. We didn't use the car at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Coastview Inn Santa Cruz

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
AnnGl
Business
Berkeley, Ca
Nov 24, 2014

enjoyed our stay

Stayed for one night with my husband. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Room was clean, bathroom seemed to be recently remodeled. Bed was super comfy! Would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Coastview Inn Santa Cruz

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
the beautifil senorita
Business
washington state
Sep 19, 2014

beautiiful for honey moon

Very peacefill i enjoy my vacations close to the ocean

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Coastview Inn Santa Cruz

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
goliboy
Business
Ontario, CA
Sep 3, 2014

Location & Value for Price

Location was across from the beach and just a block from the pier. Were there for one night and didn't explore the area like we wanted. Desk person was very helpful and led us in the right direction to some eateries just a block from the hotel. Must go to the Ideal Bar & Grill! Best clam chowder we've had in a long time. Room was cozy and clean. Nothing fancy, but good for the price. Parking was in the upper lot as the spaces in the lower areas were occupied. Will stay again when we return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ideal Bar & Grill!

Review of Coastview Inn Santa Cruz

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
vrose
Business
Palo Alto, CA
Jul 22, 2014

Comfortable, clean

There was plenty of parking (additional lot on the building's roof), and the front desk was friendly. The location is great (1 min walk to the beach!). Our room was very clean and I was pleased with the fridge and other amenities. We bought the cheapest room and were pleased with our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Coastview Inn Santa Cruz

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ClaymoreBirdseed
Business
Yosemite
Jul 16, 2014

coupleS getaway

My wife and I were on a week long vacation that started with us going to the mountains where it was in the 100's...!! After a week in that heat it was nice be right down on the beach... we only stayed one night, but your location was ideal for us. The room was good, my only issue is the tiny parking lot... My full size pickup truck was hard to park in there... I made it work however...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Coastview Inn Santa Cruz

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
SoCal Beach Lover
Business
Moreno Valley, CA
Jul 12, 2014

Okay Room, Great Location

First off, The location of this motel was great. It couldn't be any better. The room on the other hand was not that great. It was very small for me, my wife, and two children. The bathroom door was difficult to open and my 11 year-old daughter even got stuck inside it. I told the management about it, but they didn't seem to care. The bathroom also smelled like mildew.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Fish Fire on the wharf was awesome for dinner.

Back to menu Return to top