$100 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 1, 2015 Check-out: Jan 3, 2015

Chaminade Resort and Spa

4 stars
One Chaminade Ln, Santa Cruz, CA 95065
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
71 reviews
The Best Accommodations in Santa Cruz

Chaminade is a lovely resort on a hilltop with an unconstructed view of the Bay. From the rooms to... See full review

  • ReneeKay
  • Nov 29, 2014
Great place to stay after driving on the 1

We drove up from Pasadena on the 1. Very long ride. This was perfect place to stay after that long... See full review

  • Angelnav
  • Aug 11, 2014
Green Santa Cruz mountaintop retreat offers luxury in the outdoors

A full-service hotel and conference center, Chaminade Resort & Spa is set on 300 acres of eucalyptus and redwood-dense hills overlooking Santa Cruz. It's also one of the highest-rated hotels in this Northern California coastal town. Spanish-mission inspired architecture, contemporary furnishings and open-air patios make this an ideal place to unwind. Five miles removed from the activity of Santa Cruz, Chaminade is an easy drive within minutes to Pacific Ocean beaches, golf courses and local wineries.

Highlights

  • The first hotel in Santa Cruz County to receive a Green Business Certification for its environmental efforts
  • Full-service spa
  • Free parking
  • Airport and local transportation (fees apply)
  • Pet-friendly (fees apply)

Rooms

Several buildings that stretch through the wooded hillside house Chaminade Resort and Spa's 156 rooms. A $15 million renovation in 2009 brought upgrades to the interiors with luxurious feather beds, down-filled duvets and contemporary decor that still retains the Spanish flair that is part of the resort's history. Private patios are sheltered by forest. Some modernized suites have flat-screen TVs and high-speed Internet access (fees apply). Granite bathrooms feature Lather products and microfiber robes. 

Features

Chaminade Resort & Spa emphasizes the outdoors. Four tennis courts with a pro on hand, three miles of private on-site hiking trails, a ropes course, sand volleyball, badminton and croquet are all available. The 50-foot outdoor heated pool is open until 11 p.m. The full-scale fitness center offers aerobics, yoga and pilates in addition to standard workout equipment. Ladies' and mens' locker rooms, sauna and whirlpool are available. For all-natural treatments and rejuvenation, head to the full-service Spa at Chaminade.

Dining

Views of Monterey Bay are unbeatable from the fireside patios at Chaminade Resort & Spa. From the highly-regarded breakfast buffet to sunset cocktails at Linwood's Bar & Grill, two on-site restaurants here offer a selection from morning through after-hours. Fine cuisine draws ever-changing inspiration from local farms on the surrounding California coast. Room service is available for breakfast, lunch and dinner. 

Transportation

  • San Jose International Airport (34.8 mi/56 km)
  • Airport and local transportation (fees apply)

Attractions

  • Pasatiempo Golf Club (4.6 mi/7.5 km)
  • Santa Cruz Beach Boardwalk (6.5 mi/10.5 km)
  • University of California Santa Cruz (UCSC) (8.2 mi/13.2 km)
  • Henry Cowell Redwoods State Park (11.7 mi/18.8 km)

Business

  • 24-hour business center
  • 12 meeting rooms
  • Team building activities

Policies and fees
  • This hotel has a pet policy (fees apply).

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Chaminade Resort and Spa also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Chaminade Resort and Spa Rooms

Luxury
Chaminade Luxury Suite with One King Size Bed. Well appointed suite included a separate living room area with Casual Dining area Queen Sized Sofa Bed and Flat Screen Television. Accommodations feature Luxurious feather bedding in-room safe two line phone
Luxury
Luxury Fully Accessible Room with 2 Queen Beds. Accommodations feature Luxurious feather bedding in-room safe two line phone with voicemail premium cable Channels in-room movies and games coffee maker hair dryer and Iron/Ironing Board
Luxury
Chaminade Luxury Accessible Suite. Well appointed suite included a separate living room area with Casual Dining area Queen Sized Sofa Bed and Flat Screen Television. Accommodations feature Luxurious feather bedding High Speed Wired/Wireless internet in-ro
Luxury
Luxury Junior Suite King includes a King Size Bed Cozy Sectional Sofa and Casual Dining area. Accommodations feature Luxurious feather bedding Dual Vanity in-room safe two line phone with voicemail premium cable Channels in-room movies and games coffee ma
Luxury
Luxury Accessible Room with 2 Queen Beds. Accommodations feature Luxurious feather bedding in-room safe two line phone with voicemail premium cable Channels in-room movies and games coffee maker hair dryer and Iron/Ironing Board.
Luxury
Luxury Room with one queen bed. Accommodations feature luxurious feather bedding in-room safe two line phone with voicemail premium cable channels in-room movies and games coffee maker hair dryer and iron/ironing board.
Luxury
Luxury room with 2 queen size beds. Accommodations feature luxurious feather bedding in-room safe two line phone with voicemail premium cable channels in-room movies and games coffee maker hair dryer and iron/ironing board.
Luxury
Luxury Forest View Room with 2 Queen size beds. Accommodations feature Luxurious feather bedding in-room safe two line phone with voicemail premium cable Channels in-room movies and games coffee maker hair dryer and Iron/Ironing Board.
Luxury
Chaminade Luxury Suite with One Queen Size Bed. Well appointed suite included a separate living room area with Casual Dining area Queen Sized Sofa Bed and Flat Screen Television. Accommodations feature Luxurious feather bedding in-room safe two line pho
Luxury
Luxury room with King size bed. Accommodations feature Luxurious feather bedding in-room safe two line phone with voicemail premium cable Channels in-room movies and games coffee maker hair dryer and Iron/Ironing Board.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
24 hour security
FEMA approved
Activities
Heated pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Skiing
Children's activities
Jogging track
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Coffee shop
24 hour room service
Room service
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Gift shop
Copy service
News stand
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Cordless phone
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Turndown service
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub

Dining

Linwoods Bar And Grill
Linwood s features contemporary California cuisine capturing the rich flavors of the Central Coast. Partnering with local farmers menu items feature locally sourced products based on whats fresh on the market. Linwoods in an ideal setting to enjoy signat
Sunset Restaurant
The Sunset Restaurant is known for its vast assortment of fresh sumptuous buffet items. With panoramic views of the Monterey Bay and its renown Sunday Brunch the Sunset Restaurant has been voted best of Santa Cruz by local press.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (71)

Ratings and reviews for Chaminade Resort and Spa

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
17 out of 71
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.6

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Chaminade Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sandi J
Business
Aptos, CA
Jul 2, 2014

Nice relaxing place, great floral display

Pretty good, we stayed here while waiting to move into our house. Parking was challenging on the weekend we were there. Really needs another pool. Too may kids in pool, over 12 at one point, so couldn't relax very much poolside

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Parking can be a chore on a busy weekend

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chaminade Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dave from Calif
Business
California
Jun 15, 2014

Best hotel in town

This town has a lot of motel but no real good places to stay with a nice upscale vibe. This is the place!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chaminade Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Baseball Dad SF
Business
San Francisco
Aug 24, 2013

A great weekend spot

We had a great family trip here. Lot's of activities for everyone. Easy to get into to town but far enough away that it feels quiet and peaceful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chaminade Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chanis3
Business
San Francisco, CA
Nov 24, 2012

Nice stay.

Beautiful location. Nice stay with our child. Affordable breakfast buffet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chaminade Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
StephyH
Business
NAS Lemmore, Ca
Aug 29, 2012

Great but Pricey!

The hotel was in a nice area, not far from the downtown boardwalk area, but far enough. We loved it. The room was nice, however I would have liked a room that wasn't facing the parking lot. The dining available on site was good, but very very very over priced. The charged $27 for a bottle of Beringer White Zin (you can get it at Costco for $3 a bottle) and $20 for a vodka red bull... Bring your own booze!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

If you want to go to the "wonder spot" make sure you make reservations! We didn't get to go.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chaminade Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
denster
Business
Bay Area
Aug 15, 2012

Quick SC jaunt

Hotel was nice...apparently it used to be an old Catholic boarding school. Front desk was so-so and despite the wee bathroom, we thought that for the area it was quite nice. Salt water pool was a nice touch. Parking was a pain. Brunch was divine. We will be back as there are not a ton of decent hotels in Santa Cruz and the brunch/view was a real treat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chaminade Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Wawi Dawi
Business
Santa Cruz
Aug 13, 2012

Itwas a good gataway place

The room we had was in the first floor close to an entrance and an exit so it was very noisy, My wife complained that she had not slept more than two hours. I am the opposite I Slept well because I do deep sleeper than my wife. I do like the area and If I am booking this hotel next time I will ask not to be place next to any doors.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chaminade Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
VGar
Business
Livermore
Jul 30, 2012

Great place, family & per friendly

It was great , close to roaring camps, awesome food. We didn't leave the resort because everything we needed was there. Great hiking trails for families with toddlers; not too long, great pool and spa amenities. Lots to do which is perfect with kids!! Will definitely plan to visit again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chaminade Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jacqueleen
Business
Thousand Oaks, CA
Jul 10, 2012

My Favorite Santa Cruz Hotel

Grounds are wonderful. Hiking/jogging trails in the redwoods, pool, spa, tennis courts, firepit outside the restaurant overlooking the mountain/ocean view. Pet friendly. Really enjoyed our stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chaminade Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
osc707
Business
Vacaville, ca
Jul 2, 2012

Awesome family vacation spot

I've got to say that our experience at this resort was fantastic. We arrived to a clean, spacious, relaxing room. This resort has some stunning views and great surroundings. The hotel staff was extremely friendly. The night we arrived our girls wanted some drinks, so we set out to find a soda vending machine, much to our surprise, they had 1 vending machine on site that did not vendor sodas. So we asked a staff member if there was some where we could purchase cans of soda, and there was not. So the staff member asked is what kinds of drinks we'd like, went to the restaurant and returned promptly with 4 cans of soda for us. Little things like this should be noted, it made the girls night! All the family agreed that we'd for sure return to this wonderful Resort!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top