$215 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 4, 2015 Check-out: Aug 7, 2015

Chaminade Resort and Spa

4 stars
View map of One Chaminade Ln, Santa Cruz, CA 95065

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
74 reviews
relaxing

hotel staff were super friendly. got an upgrade to a jr. suite! See full review

  • penstarr
  • Mar 16, 2015
The Best Accommodations in Santa Cruz

Chaminade is a lovely resort on a hilltop with an unconstructed view of the Bay. From the rooms to... See full review

  • ReneeKay
  • Nov 29, 2014

A full-service hotel and conference center, Chaminade Resort & Spa is set on 300 acres of eucalyptus and redwood-dense hills overlooking Santa Cruz. It's also one of the highest-rated hotels in this Northern California coastal town. Spanish-mission inspired architecture, contemporary furnishings and open-air patios make this an ideal place to unwind. Five miles removed from the activity of Santa Cruz, Chaminade is an easy drive within minutes to Pacific Ocean beaches, golf courses and local wineries.

Dining

Views of Monterey Bay are unbeatable from the fireside patios at Chaminade Resort & Spa. From the highly-regarded breakfast buffet to sunset cocktails at Linwood's Bar & Grill, two on-site restaurants here offer a selection from morning through after-hours. Fine cuisine draws ever-changing inspiration from local farms on the surrounding California coast. Room service is available for breakfast, lunch and dinner. 

Rooms

Several buildings that stretch through the wooded hillside house Chaminade Resort and Spa's 156 rooms. A $15 million renovation in 2009 brought upgrades to the interiors with luxurious feather beds, down-filled duvets and contemporary decor that still retains the Spanish flair that is part of the resort's history. Private patios are sheltered by forest. Some modernized suites have flat-screen TVs and high-speed Internet access (fees apply). Granite bathrooms feature Lather products and microfiber robes. 

Property features

Chaminade Resort & Spa emphasizes the outdoors. Four tennis courts with a pro on hand, three miles of private on-site hiking trails, a ropes course, sand volleyball, badminton and croquet are all available. The 50-foot outdoor heated pool is open until 11 p.m. The full-scale fitness center offers aerobics, yoga and pilates in addition to standard workout equipment. Ladies' and mens' locker rooms, sauna and whirlpool are available. For all-natural treatments and rejuvenation, head to the full-service Spa at Chaminade.

Highlights

  • The first hotel in Santa Cruz County to receive a Green Business Certification for its environmental efforts
  • Full-service spa
  • Free parking
  • Airport and local transportation (fees apply)
  • Pet-friendly (fees apply)

Nearby attractions

  • Pasatiempo Golf Club (4.6 mi/7.5 km)
  • Santa Cruz Beach Boardwalk (6.5 mi/10.5 km)
  • University of California Santa Cruz (UCSC) (8.2 mi/13.2 km)
  • Henry Cowell Redwoods State Park (11.7 mi/18.8 km)

Business

  • 24-hour business center
  • 12 meeting rooms
  • Team building activities

Transportation

  • San Jose International Airport (34.8 mi/56 km)
  • Airport and local transportation (fees apply)

Policies
  • This hotel has a pet policy (fees apply).

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Chaminade Resort and Spa also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Chaminade Resort and Spa Rooms

Luxury
Chaminade Luxury Suite with One King Size Bed. Well appointed suite included a separate living room area with Casual Dining area Queen Sized Sofa Bed and Flat Screen Television. Accommodations feature Luxurious feather bedding in-room safe two line phone with voicemail premium cable Channels in-room movi
Luxury
Luxury Fully Accessible Room with 2 Queen Beds. Accommodations feature Luxurious feather bedding in-room safe two line phone with voicemail premium cable Channels in-room movies and games coffee maker hair dryer and Iron/Ironing Board
Luxury
Chaminade Luxury Accessible Suite. Well appointed suite included a separate living room area with Casual Dining area Queen Sized Sofa Bed and Flat Screen Television. Accommodations feature Luxurious feather bedding High Speed Wired/Wireless internet in-room safe two line phone with voicemail premium cabl
Luxury
Luxury Junior Suite King includes a King Size Bed Cozy Sectional Sofa and Casual Dining area. Accommodations feature Luxurious feather bedding Dual Vanity in-room safe two line phone with voicemail premium cable Channels in-room movies and games coffee maker hair dryer and Iron/Ironing Board
Luxury
Luxury Accessible Room with 2 Queen Beds. Accommodations feature Luxurious feather bedding in-room safe two line phone with voicemail premium cable Channels in-room movies and games coffee maker hair dryer and Iron/Ironing Board.
Luxury
Luxury Room with one queen bed. Accommodations feature luxurious feather bedding in-room safe two line phone with voicemail premium cable channels in-room movies and games coffee maker hair dryer and iron/ironing board.
Luxury
Luxury room with 2 queen size beds. Accommodations feature luxurious feather bedding in-room safe two line phone with voicemail premium cable channels in-room movies and games coffee maker hair dryer and iron/ironing board.
Luxury
Luxury Forest View Room with 2 Queen size beds. Accommodations feature Luxurious feather bedding in-room safe two line phone with voicemail premium cable Channels in-room movies and games coffee maker hair dryer and Iron/Ironing Board.
Luxury
Chaminade Luxury Suite with One Queen Size Bed. Well appointed suite included a separate living room area with Casual Dining area Queen Sized Sofa Bed and Flat Screen Television. Accommodations feature Luxurious feather bedding in-room safe two line phone with voicemail premium cable Channels in-room m
Luxury
Luxury room with King size bed. Accommodations feature Luxurious feather bedding in-room safe two line phone with voicemail premium cable Channels in-room movies and games coffee maker hair dryer and Iron/Ironing Board.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
24 hour security
FEMA approved
Activities
Heated pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Skiing
Children's activities
Jogging track
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Coffee shop
24 hour room service
Room service
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Gift shop
Copy service
News stand
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Cordless phone
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Turndown service
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub

Dining

Linwoods Bar And Grill
Linwood s features contemporary California cuisine capturing the rich flavors of the Central Coast. Partnering with local farmers menu items feature locally sourced products based on whats fresh on the market. Linwoods in an ideal setting to enjoy signature cocktails cozy indoor-outdoor fireside seating
Sunset Restaurant
The Sunset Restaurant is known for its vast assortment of fresh sumptuous buffet items. With panoramic views of the Monterey Bay and its renown Sunday Brunch the Sunset Restaurant has been voted best of Santa Cruz by local press.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Chaminade Resort and Spa

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
74 out of 74
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.6

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Chaminade Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Menomale
Business
Napa
Jul 14, 2014

Noisy till the whee hours

While the location is beautiful and the rooms look nice, they are not insulated at all. Our junior suite had a patio to the parking lot, the entrance to the building was next to our room and slammed shut every time someone was coming or going, rattling the wall next to the bed. The doors to the rooms on our hallway pretty much had the same effect and one could follow whole conversations held in the hallway. Finally got to sleep at 3 AM and then awakened by somone emptying the ice maker at 6AM! Not restful!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Gayle's Bakery in Capitola has great espresso drinks, pastries and lunches

Review of Chaminade Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Evajonbi
Business
L.A., CA
Jun 17, 2013

excellent location, smelly room

Excellent location and amenities although we did not try the pool but we tried the fitness center and it was great. The room was so-so, it smelled like musk when we first opened the door, we had to open the door to the balcony immediately, nice view from the balcony. There was no fridge (another big disappointment). The bathroom was also so-so, there was no storage space nor counter top for personal effects, only a very small shelf, and the fan was terribly noisy. Good food at the Sunset restaurant and Lynwood bar & Grill although we had to wait for at least 30 minutes at the Lynnwood Bar & grill for dinner to be served. Their wine list was mediocre. Overall the room was overpriced.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Chaminade Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Ms. nessa
Business
Sacramento
Jun 1, 2014

Unsatisfied

Overcrowded, far from beach, unclean room that smelled of mold and cigerettes and uncooked food which lead to food posioning left me unsatisfied

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Chaminade Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Mateo, CA
Nov 1, 2010

Highs and Lows

It was a 24 hour Anniversary getaway, one Wednesday night at the highest rated hotel we could find in Santa Cruz. It feels like a wannabe four star hotel, and given the location, the customer-focused attitude of the people and the general ambience and architecture it deserves the opportunity. But we found it seriously deficient in the details. Three examples: (1) The bed sheets were ill-fitting: I found my feet were resting on an uncovered mattress most of the night. We also had a non-functioning second sink. (2) Only three out of the twelve jets in the outdoor hot tub were functioning. The indoor hot tub was completely broken. (3) They offer a High Def TV, but none of the major networks were High Def programming! It's the little details like these that make the stay less than appealing and, unless the management focus improves, unlikely that we will return again - especially given the other competition in the same city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Dining in the hotel is good but expensive. Santa Cruz is University Town so check out the unique and good-value restaurants in the main shopping street. There is even a free parking structure nearby...!

Review of Chaminade Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anti-climactic traveler
Business
Freemont, CA
Sep 20, 2009

Chaminade-dissappointing

Stayed at this property while attending a special friend's b-day weekend celebration. Upon c/i, I had to be moved 3 times. First room had a broken a/c unit, second room had a sliding glass door to patio that wouldn't close completely or capabable of being locked. Problems are clearly a common event as staff immediately responded to a room move w/o any hesitation. No offer of dicount for all of the troubles w/ rooms. Price per night was very high for quality - not worth it!!! Rooms are basic, no frills, odd smell in room-could invest in some odor eliminator products, no flat screen TV, bargain toiletries, soap was especially strange, one-ply TP, bed was basic w/ an odd pillow-top-add-on-piece that moved all night when sleeping, room service slow & food is average. There was just an overall general disrepair of the property and rooms. I travel all of the time (biz & pleasure) and have paid so much less per night in other spa/resort hotels that are, in my opinion, so superior!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Chaminade Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Vallejo
Jun 15, 2008

Not as appealing as it seems

The Chaminade Hotel looks very nice and luxorious in all the pictures and discriptions, however, I don't think I would ever go back or recommend it to friends. We chose this hotel because it was just a little more expensive then an average hotel and we were thinking for the price the amenities would be worth it. We were looking forward to a relaxing yet fun getaway. When we got there, the pool was cold and the hot tub was broken. It was shut down for our entire visit. During peak season and for the price you're paying, in my opinion, that should be unacceptable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Chaminade Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Vs123
Business
Los angeles
Feb 17, 2014

It could be better

Needs upgrades in rooms Restaurant food needs upgrading... Bland

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Chaminade Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
drkinrow
Business
Rowlett, TX
Jul 19, 2012

Nice scenery but...

This was a good hotel, but nothing special and not worth the price. Based on the write up we expected something much fancier and luxurious. It was adequate and clean, with friendly staff and nice scenery, but not very fancy for what we paid. The pool and hot tub were nice, and well maintained. We did not use the spa services as they seemed a little pricey too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Chaminade Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
weigel
Business
san francisco
Sep 11, 2012

about a B or B -

requested a normal queen bed room and we received 2 full beds. we were too tired to fix the issue and just simply passed out in separate beds. nothing fancy about the room, no mini fridge, ok coffee station, few amenities in the bathroom, horrible clumpy small feather pillows, feather top mattress that had feathers poking out of it, and fan was ok, really loud and not to powerful. we went to the restaurant attached to hotel, it was very yummy and the waitress and bartender were very kind and made the experience amazing. in the morning my fiance made a last minute spa appointment for a facial and she was very impressed with the beauty of the spa, great staff and very relaxing facial. overall we would both recommend the hotel but don't go in expecting a miracle. its a good hotel for the price, i've had better but it was good. i would give it an overall 3.5 stars.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Chaminade Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Readit
Business
Bakersfield, CA, USA
Nov 18, 2013

Nestled in the woods

Nice location. Good for relaxing. Dog friendly and even included a free "Yapatizer" for our dog. Nice staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top