$201 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 24, 2014 Check-out: Sep 27, 2014

Chaminade Resort and Spa

4 stars
One Chaminade Ln, Santa Cruz, CA 95065
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
68 reviews
Great place to stay after driving on the 1

We drove up from Pasadena on the 1. Very long ride. This was perfect place to stay after that long... See full review

  • Angelnav
  • Aug 11, 2014
Relaxing stay

Was wonderful, nice massage and drinks under the stars next to a warm fire pit . See full review

  • Mom in Newark
  • Jul 21, 2014
Green Santa Cruz mountaintop retreat offers luxury in the outdoors

A full-service hotel and conference center, Chaminade Resort & Spa is set on 300 acres of eucalyptus and redwood-dense hills overlooking Santa Cruz. It's also one of the highest-rated hotels in this Northern California coastal town. Spanish-mission inspired architecture, contemporary furnishings and open-air patios make this an ideal place to unwind. Five miles removed from the activity of Santa Cruz, Chaminade is an easy drive within minutes to Pacific Ocean beaches, golf courses and local wineries.

Highlights

  • The first hotel in Santa Cruz County to receive a Green Business Certification for its environmental efforts
  • Full-service spa
  • Free parking
  • Airport and local transportation (fees apply)
  • Pet-friendly (fees apply)

Rooms

Several buildings that stretch through the wooded hillside house Chaminade Resort and Spa's 156 rooms. A $15 million renovation in 2009 brought upgrades to the interiors with luxurious feather beds, down-filled duvets and contemporary decor that still retains the Spanish flair that is part of the resort's history. Private patios are sheltered by forest. Some modernized suites have flat-screen TVs and high-speed Internet access (fees apply). Granite bathrooms feature Lather products and microfiber robes. 

Features

Chaminade Resort & Spa emphasizes the outdoors. Four tennis courts with a pro on hand, three miles of private on-site hiking trails, a ropes course, sand volleyball, badminton and croquet are all available. The 50-foot outdoor heated pool is open until 11 p.m. The full-scale fitness center offers aerobics, yoga and pilates in addition to standard workout equipment. Ladies' and mens' locker rooms, sauna and whirlpool are available. For all-natural treatments and rejuvenation, head to the full-service Spa at Chaminade.

Dining

Views of Monterey Bay are unbeatable from the fireside patios at Chaminade Resort & Spa. From the highly-regarded breakfast buffet to sunset cocktails at Linwood's Bar & Grill, two on-site restaurants here offer a selection from morning through after-hours. Fine cuisine draws ever-changing inspiration from local farms on the surrounding California coast. Room service is available for breakfast, lunch and dinner. 

Transportation

  • San Jose International Airport (34.8 mi/56 km)
  • Airport and local transportation (fees apply)

Attractions

  • Pasatiempo Golf Club (4.6 mi/7.5 km)
  • Santa Cruz Beach Boardwalk (6.5 mi/10.5 km)
  • University of California Santa Cruz (UCSC) (8.2 mi/13.2 km)
  • Henry Cowell Redwoods State Park (11.7 mi/18.8 km)

Business

  • 24-hour business center
  • 12 meeting rooms
  • Team building activities

Policies and fees
  • This hotel has a pet policy (fees apply).

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

36.9964 -121.9854
Nearby airports
San Jose Intl Airport, (SJC), 35.00, MI, SW; San Francisco Intl Airport, (SFO), 62.00, MI, S; Monterey Peninsula Airport, (MRY), 40.00, MI, N;
Area description
Resort

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Chaminade Resort and Spa also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Chaminade Resort and Spa Rooms

Luxury
Chaminade Luxury Suite with One King Size Bed. Well appointed suite included a separate living room area with Casual Dining area Queen Sized Sofa Bed and Flat Screen Television. Accommodations feature Luxurious feather bedding in-room safe two line phone
Luxury
Luxury Fully Accessible Room with 2 Queen Beds. Accommodations feature Luxurious feather bedding in-room safe two line phone with voicemail premium cable Channels in-room movies and games coffee maker hair dryer and Iron/Ironing Board
Luxury
Chaminade Luxury Accessible Suite. Well appointed suite included a separate living room area with Casual Dining area Queen Sized Sofa Bed and Flat Screen Television. Accommodations feature Luxurious feather bedding High Speed Wired/Wireless internet in-ro
Luxury
Luxury Junior Suite King includes a King Size Bed Cozy Sectional Sofa and Casual Dining area. Accommodations feature Luxurious feather bedding Dual Vanity in-room safe two line phone with voicemail premium cable Channels in-room movies and games coffee ma
Luxury
Luxury Accessible Room with 2 Queen Beds. Accommodations feature Luxurious feather bedding in-room safe two line phone with voicemail premium cable Channels in-room movies and games coffee maker hair dryer and Iron/Ironing Board.
Luxury
Luxury Room with one queen bed. Accommodations feature luxurious feather bedding in-room safe two line phone with voicemail premium cable channels in-room movies and games coffee maker hair dryer and iron/ironing board.
Luxury
Luxury room with 2 queen size beds. Accommodations feature luxurious feather bedding in-room safe two line phone with voicemail premium cable channels in-room movies and games coffee maker hair dryer and iron/ironing board.
Luxury
Luxury Forest View Room with 2 Queen size beds. Accommodations feature Luxurious feather bedding in-room safe two line phone with voicemail premium cable Channels in-room movies and games coffee maker hair dryer and Iron/Ironing Board.
Luxury
Chaminade Luxury Suite with One Queen Size Bed. Well appointed suite included a separate living room area with Casual Dining area Queen Sized Sofa Bed and Flat Screen Television. Accommodations feature Luxurious feather bedding in-room safe two line pho
Luxury
Luxury room with King size bed. Accommodations feature Luxurious feather bedding in-room safe two line phone with voicemail premium cable Channels in-room movies and games coffee maker hair dryer and Iron/Ironing Board.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
24 hour security
FEMA approved
Activities
Heated pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Skiing
Children's activities
Jogging track
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Coffee shop
24 hour room service
Room service
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Gift shop
Copy service
News stand
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Cordless phone
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Turndown service
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub

Dining

Linwoods Bar And Grill
Linwood s features contemporary California cuisine capturing the rich flavors of the Central Coast. Partnering with local farmers menu items feature locally sourced products based on whats fresh on the market. Linwoods in an ideal setting to enjoy signat
Sunset Restaurant
The Sunset Restaurant is known for its vast assortment of fresh sumptuous buffet items. With panoramic views of the Monterey Bay and its renown Sunday Brunch the Sunset Restaurant has been voted best of Santa Cruz by local press.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (68)

Ratings and reviews for Chaminade Resort and Spa

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
68 out of 68
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.6

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Chaminade Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ignatz the cat
Novato, Ca
Jul 2, 2012

what a find!

Our room was large, the king bed was VERY comfortable, the pool was great, and the price was right. We will be back

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chaminade Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mom in Newark
Newark, Ca
Jul 21, 2014

Relaxing stay

Was wonderful, nice massage and drinks under the stars next to a warm fire pit .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chaminade Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Green Gypsy
Business
Cupertino, CA
Jun 2, 2014

A lovely getaway!!!

I LOVE the Chaminade!!! Its such a lovely getaway tucked away in nature with trees and trails and beautiful views of the Santa Cruz mountains. The spa is very peaceful and relaxing; the hot tub outdoors at the spa is a real treat with amazing sunset views. There is even a stone bench next to the waterfall pond that is perfect for meditation and taking in all that nature has to offer :-) For me, the restaurant needs more vegetarian options and some work on the food. The wine was tasty though! My room was too close to the tennis courts so took away from my level of comfort with the noise. A room farther away would have been perfect so next time for sure. Overall, the Chaminade is truly lovely with nice and friendly folks on staff. I highly recommend this place for a lovely Santa Cruz getaway!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Hiking trails onsite

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chaminade Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
StuShell
Livermore
Jun 18, 2012

Great family getaway.

We had a great time. We enjoyed the pool and hot tub. The room was very nice. The fitness center and lounge was great. We would love to make this a getaway serveral times a year. Wish there were more rate specials offered. Thank you, It was wonderful!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The Resort is very close to the Boardwalk. But the Resort is very nice you do not have to leave to enjoy.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chaminade Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Martinez, Ca
Dec 28, 2009

Great Place

The hotel was beautiful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chaminade Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lil nicki
Santa Cruz
Mar 30, 2014

So much fun

Great experience! We had so much fun in the pool and hot tub. The staff was amazing and very helpful. I left my ring there and to my shock, housekeeping turned it in. Yay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chaminade Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
osc707
Vacaville, ca
Jul 2, 2012

Awesome family vacation spot

I've got to say that our experience at this resort was fantastic. We arrived to a clean, spacious, relaxing room. This resort has some stunning views and great surroundings. The hotel staff was extremely friendly. The night we arrived our girls wanted some drinks, so we set out to find a soda vending machine, much to our surprise, they had 1 vending machine on site that did not vendor sodas. So we asked a staff member if there was some where we could purchase cans of soda, and there was not. So the staff member asked is what kinds of drinks we'd like, went to the restaurant and returned promptly with 4 cans of soda for us. Little things like this should be noted, it made the girls night! All the family agreed that we'd for sure return to this wonderful Resort!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chaminade Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Jul 4, 2007

stunning location and very romantic setting

the chaminade hotel was a dream, a perfect location with all amenities very quiet and quite romantic . the room was great and spacious but no fridge for ice or drinks .it is close to downtown and the piers 10 minutes, very enjoyable .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

we had deers while lunching quite magic

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chaminade Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jere1
modesto
Dec 30, 2012

it was great

My son and his fiance were very pleased with their trip

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chaminade Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Salem, MA
Dec 22, 2010

Will stay again!

Recently rennovated, the room was comfortable and the breakfast buffet a great value. The workout facility is worth investing in and the staff was most professional. Great view, too!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Breakfast buffet!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search