$143 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 12, 2014 Check-out: Dec 14, 2014

Chaminade Resort and Spa

4 stars
One Chaminade Ln, Santa Cruz, CA 95065
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
69 reviews
Great place to stay after driving on the 1

We drove up from Pasadena on the 1. Very long ride. This was perfect place to stay after that long... See full review

  • Angelnav
  • Aug 11, 2014
Relaxing stay

Was wonderful, nice massage and drinks under the stars next to a warm fire pit . See full review

  • Mom in Newark
  • Jul 21, 2014
Green Santa Cruz mountaintop retreat offers luxury in the outdoors

A full-service hotel and conference center, Chaminade Resort & Spa is set on 300 acres of eucalyptus and redwood-dense hills overlooking Santa Cruz. It's also one of the highest-rated hotels in this Northern California coastal town. Spanish-mission inspired architecture, contemporary furnishings and open-air patios make this an ideal place to unwind. Five miles removed from the activity of Santa Cruz, Chaminade is an easy drive within minutes to Pacific Ocean beaches, golf courses and local wineries.

Highlights

  • The first hotel in Santa Cruz County to receive a Green Business Certification for its environmental efforts
  • Full-service spa
  • Free parking
  • Airport and local transportation (fees apply)
  • Pet-friendly (fees apply)

Rooms

Several buildings that stretch through the wooded hillside house Chaminade Resort and Spa's 156 rooms. A $15 million renovation in 2009 brought upgrades to the interiors with luxurious feather beds, down-filled duvets and contemporary decor that still retains the Spanish flair that is part of the resort's history. Private patios are sheltered by forest. Some modernized suites have flat-screen TVs and high-speed Internet access (fees apply). Granite bathrooms feature Lather products and microfiber robes. 

Features

Chaminade Resort & Spa emphasizes the outdoors. Four tennis courts with a pro on hand, three miles of private on-site hiking trails, a ropes course, sand volleyball, badminton and croquet are all available. The 50-foot outdoor heated pool is open until 11 p.m. The full-scale fitness center offers aerobics, yoga and pilates in addition to standard workout equipment. Ladies' and mens' locker rooms, sauna and whirlpool are available. For all-natural treatments and rejuvenation, head to the full-service Spa at Chaminade.

Dining

Views of Monterey Bay are unbeatable from the fireside patios at Chaminade Resort & Spa. From the highly-regarded breakfast buffet to sunset cocktails at Linwood's Bar & Grill, two on-site restaurants here offer a selection from morning through after-hours. Fine cuisine draws ever-changing inspiration from local farms on the surrounding California coast. Room service is available for breakfast, lunch and dinner. 

Transportation

  • San Jose International Airport (34.8 mi/56 km)
  • Airport and local transportation (fees apply)

Attractions

  • Pasatiempo Golf Club (4.6 mi/7.5 km)
  • Santa Cruz Beach Boardwalk (6.5 mi/10.5 km)
  • University of California Santa Cruz (UCSC) (8.2 mi/13.2 km)
  • Henry Cowell Redwoods State Park (11.7 mi/18.8 km)

Business

  • 24-hour business center
  • 12 meeting rooms
  • Team building activities

Policies and fees
  • This hotel has a pet policy (fees apply).

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Chaminade Resort and Spa Rooms

Luxury
Chaminade Luxury Suite with One King Size Bed. Well appointed suite included a separate living room area with Casual Dining area Queen Sized Sofa Bed and Flat Screen Television. Accommodations feature Luxurious feather bedding in-room safe two line phone
Luxury
Luxury Fully Accessible Room with 2 Queen Beds. Accommodations feature Luxurious feather bedding in-room safe two line phone with voicemail premium cable Channels in-room movies and games coffee maker hair dryer and Iron/Ironing Board
Luxury
Chaminade Luxury Accessible Suite. Well appointed suite included a separate living room area with Casual Dining area Queen Sized Sofa Bed and Flat Screen Television. Accommodations feature Luxurious feather bedding High Speed Wired/Wireless internet in-ro
Luxury
Luxury Junior Suite King includes a King Size Bed Cozy Sectional Sofa and Casual Dining area. Accommodations feature Luxurious feather bedding Dual Vanity in-room safe two line phone with voicemail premium cable Channels in-room movies and games coffee ma
Luxury
Luxury Accessible Room with 2 Queen Beds. Accommodations feature Luxurious feather bedding in-room safe two line phone with voicemail premium cable Channels in-room movies and games coffee maker hair dryer and Iron/Ironing Board.
Luxury
Luxury Room with one queen bed. Accommodations feature luxurious feather bedding in-room safe two line phone with voicemail premium cable channels in-room movies and games coffee maker hair dryer and iron/ironing board.
Luxury
Luxury room with 2 queen size beds. Accommodations feature luxurious feather bedding in-room safe two line phone with voicemail premium cable channels in-room movies and games coffee maker hair dryer and iron/ironing board.
Luxury
Luxury Forest View Room with 2 Queen size beds. Accommodations feature Luxurious feather bedding in-room safe two line phone with voicemail premium cable Channels in-room movies and games coffee maker hair dryer and Iron/Ironing Board.
Luxury
Chaminade Luxury Suite with One Queen Size Bed. Well appointed suite included a separate living room area with Casual Dining area Queen Sized Sofa Bed and Flat Screen Television. Accommodations feature Luxurious feather bedding in-room safe two line pho
Luxury
Luxury room with King size bed. Accommodations feature Luxurious feather bedding in-room safe two line phone with voicemail premium cable Channels in-room movies and games coffee maker hair dryer and Iron/Ironing Board.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
24 hour security
FEMA approved
Activities
Heated pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Skiing
Children's activities
Jogging track
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Coffee shop
24 hour room service
Room service
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Gift shop
Copy service
News stand
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Cordless phone
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Turndown service
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Chaminade Resort and Spa also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Hotel Map

36.9964 -121.9854
Nearby airports
San Jose Intl Airport, (SJC), 35.00, MI, SW; San Francisco Intl Airport, (SFO), 62.00, MI, S; Monterey Peninsula Airport, (MRY), 40.00, MI, N;
Area description
Resort

Dining

Linwoods Bar And Grill
Linwood s features contemporary California cuisine capturing the rich flavors of the Central Coast. Partnering with local farmers menu items feature locally sourced products based on whats fresh on the market. Linwoods in an ideal setting to enjoy signat
Sunset Restaurant
The Sunset Restaurant is known for its vast assortment of fresh sumptuous buffet items. With panoramic views of the Monterey Bay and its renown Sunday Brunch the Sunset Restaurant has been voted best of Santa Cruz by local press.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (69)

Ratings and reviews for Chaminade Resort and Spa

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
69 out of 69
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.6

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Chaminade Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
VGar
Livermore
Jul 30, 2012

Great place, family & per friendly

It was great , close to roaring camps, awesome food. We didn't leave the resort because everything we needed was there. Great hiking trails for families with toddlers; not too long, great pool and spa amenities. Lots to do which is perfect with kids!! Will definitely plan to visit again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chaminade Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Ramon, CA
Jul 8, 2010

Overpriced with marginal customer servic

I believe reviews and ratings are relative to the price you pay. In a nutshell, this hotel is great, for an appropriate price.I have stayed here before and generally like this hotel. It's set in a beautiful wooded area, surrounded by trees, hiking trails, and nature. It is very relaxing and peaceful. The restaurant is a perfect hang out spot if you don't feel like going to town- patio with gorgeous view and firepit, or cozy fireplace inside by the bar. Rooms are nice- spacious and clean, I find the beds comfortable, the patio/balconies are great. Gym is good for a hotel.With that said, these amenities aren't so extraordinary to be worth $250/night we paid on a holiday weekend.The restaurant is expensive for the mediocre food. Jacuzzi was broken at one point. Bath tub area had little mold in some spots and really old shower head.The worst point of our last stay was check in. We arrived early, around noon, hoping to go get lunch and have our room ready maybe around 2 pm (not unreasonable, right?). I asked nicely if there was anything they could do- we have a small child that takes a nap. Well, they could care less and we didn't get our room until after 3 pm. We hung out in the front and I swear in 2 or so hours I did not see one other person check in, they did not look busy at all! People were certainly checking out (overheard double charges and misunderstandings). After all said and done, I asked the manager if their check out is at noon, does it really take them 3 hours to get a room ready?? He said "no" but they have to "follow procedure".[...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chaminade Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Modesto, Ca
Jun 1, 2010

Sweet upgrade...

We arrived Memorial Day and were immediately greeted by staff. We received a free upgrade to a Luxury King Suite because the other rooms were still being cleaned. The rooms had a small patio as well as a living and dining room. The bed was heavenly...in fact my husband and I inspected the tags to find out what type so we could buy one ourselves. The only downside was that you could hear people upstairs and everyone in the hallway walking and talking. So you can only imagine what they could hear from other guests.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Shadowbrook is wonderful. Try the Salmon.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chaminade Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Duh
Apr 4, 2010

Chaminade

Beds too soft major problem

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great food at restaurant

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chaminade Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Definemoment
Business
Watsonville, Ca
Mar 23, 2010

Lap of Luxury

My Husband and I work very hard and rarely get to have days when he and I can spend quality time together without children. This was a wonderful experience. The resort is tucked away in the Santa Cruz mountains where I have lived nearly all my life and never knew that this place existed. The rooms were small but had beautiful modern decor. The beds are very fluffy and comfortable. The ice machine was broken in our building but the resort arrainged for some to be delivered to our room. The remote to the television was a little difficult to understand. It was a game controller to access all the services the resort had to offer. Over all I LOVED IT!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chaminade Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York
Mar 18, 2010

Location,Location,Location!

Wonderful location and great views! Although the room was small and noisy, the hotel staff was helpful and the trails on their 200+ acres were great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Do not miss the hotel's hiking trail.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chaminade Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Martinez, Ca
Dec 28, 2009

Great Place

The hotel was beautiful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chaminade Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anti-climactic traveler
Business
Freemont, CA
Sep 20, 2009

Chaminade-dissappointing

Stayed at this property while attending a special friend's b-day weekend celebration. Upon c/i, I had to be moved 3 times. First room had a broken a/c unit, second room had a sliding glass door to patio that wouldn't close completely or capabable of being locked. Problems are clearly a common event as staff immediately responded to a room move w/o any hesitation. No offer of dicount for all of the troubles w/ rooms. Price per night was very high for quality - not worth it!!! Rooms are basic, no frills, odd smell in room-could invest in some odor eliminator products, no flat screen TV, bargain toiletries, soap was especially strange, one-ply TP, bed was basic w/ an odd pillow-top-add-on-piece that moved all night when sleeping, room service slow & food is average. There was just an overall general disrepair of the property and rooms. I travel all of the time (biz & pleasure) and have paid so much less per night in other spa/resort hotels that are, in my opinion, so superior!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chaminade Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Moraga, Ca
Sep 7, 2009

Chaminade Resort

The people running it were very friendly and helpful. It is a lovely location and wonderful views from the dining room. The food was quite good. The grounds were very nice and it was was very lovely to walk around. Our only complaint is that the room was not very clean for the money they charge. There were stains on the counters and a cup filled with cigarette butts outside our door on the table. We will think twice before we come again just for that reason.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Lots of things to do in the area and at the hotel. Swimming, volleyball, hiking and tennis.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chaminade Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Berkeley, CA
Sep 3, 2009

Chamanide in Santa Cruz

I took the cheap room which had 2 queen beds, which my wife wasn't too happy about. The mattresses were pretty comfy and it was nice that there were free tennis courts available. If I had known I would have brought my own rackets since the hotel charged a small fee to rent their rackets. All in all great hotel. The only problem was finding parking right in front of the room in the evening. We had to park a in a side lot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chaminade Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
St. George UT
Aug 9, 2009

Beautiful location near 2 great beaches

I loved everything but the rooms. They were a little dark and dated. The balcony views were outstanding and the beds were very comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top