$215 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 28, 2015 Check-out: May 29, 2015

Chaminade Resort and Spa

4 stars
View map of One Chaminade Ln, Santa Cruz, CA 95065

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Chaminade Resort and Spa

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
76 out of 76
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.6

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Chaminade Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
VGar
Livermore
Jul 30, 2012

Great place, family & per friendly

It was great , close to roaring camps, awesome food. We didn't leave the resort because everything we needed was there. Great hiking trails for families with toddlers; not too long, great pool and spa amenities. Lots to do which is perfect with kids!! Will definitely plan to visit again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chaminade Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
badmamajama
Business
Santa Barbara
Nov 27, 2010

Alternative to Staying with In-Laws

We liked staying at the Chaminade Resort and Spa. It was a great location, convenient to the Roaring Camp Railroad and downtown Santa Cruz. The dining was good and there was plenty to do for exercise (i.e. tennis, walking trails, and a large gym). The only complaint I have is that the bathroom looked a little dirty. There was dirt in the grout and underneath the soap tray in the shower there was grime. Despite a little dirt, the heat not working when we got there, and our cable not working, we would probably stay there again. The staff made it very enjoyable and they were quick to fix any problems we had with our room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

It was a short drive to Roaring Camp, the Boardwalk, and downtown Santa Cruz.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chaminade Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sunnyvale CA
Nov 15, 2010

Overall good experience

Relaxing environment. The landscape is very good. We liked the rawness of the landscape in general. Loads of eucaleptus trees right there at your own little private patio. We liked the patio verhy much. Room Service is good, fast. Staff is friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Boardwalk is full of entertainment. The neptune arcade has pool-tables, pingpong, loads of video games. The beach is great.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chaminade Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Mateo, CA
Nov 1, 2010

Highs and Lows

It was a 24 hour Anniversary getaway, one Wednesday night at the highest rated hotel we could find in Santa Cruz. It feels like a wannabe four star hotel, and given the location, the customer-focused attitude of the people and the general ambience and architecture it deserves the opportunity. But we found it seriously deficient in the details. Three examples: (1) The bed sheets were ill-fitting: I found my feet were resting on an uncovered mattress most of the night. We also had a non-functioning second sink. (2) Only three out of the twelve jets in the outdoor hot tub were functioning. The indoor hot tub was completely broken. (3) They offer a High Def TV, but none of the major networks were High Def programming! It's the little details like these that make the stay less than appealing and, unless the management focus improves, unlikely that we will return again - especially given the other competition in the same city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Dining in the hotel is good but expensive. Santa Cruz is University Town so check out the unique and good-value restaurants in the main shopping street. There is even a free parking structure nearby...!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chaminade Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pope46
Business
Oakdale, CA
Oct 25, 2010

Great hotel!

Great hotel...wonderful setting. Restaurant was fabulous! The scenery was fantastic. Wasn't far from the beach/boardwalk, short drive. Bedding was so comfy!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Eat at the Hindquarter Bar & Grill just down Soquel Ave from the hotel. Fantastic steak house!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chaminade Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Alabama
Oct 13, 2010

Very nice

Nice large room, beautiful surroundings. Rooms are not in main building, but spread our in several outbuildings. Made parking easy. Nice breakfast buffet. The $18 required fee is ridiculous!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chaminade Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Westerville, Ohio
Oct 5, 2010

Unbeatable Location for the Price

Beuatiful location in the mountains high above Santa Cruz. Great for relaxation or business

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Great location for all types of dining.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chaminade Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco
Sep 25, 2010

Romantic Weekend

Everything was wonderful, the only negative thing was that the restaurant was terrible. The waitress was a mess and it took 15-20 minutes to get everything. Water and bread in the beginning, our order taken, the wine. The food came pretty promptly after it had been ordered but it was not good. It was bland and mediocre at best. Definitely not worth what they are charging. The room service breakfast was better than our dinner.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chaminade Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Ramon, CA
Jul 8, 2010

Overpriced with marginal customer servic

I believe reviews and ratings are relative to the price you pay. In a nutshell, this hotel is great, for an appropriate price.I have stayed here before and generally like this hotel. It's set in a beautiful wooded area, surrounded by trees, hiking trails, and nature. It is very relaxing and peaceful. The restaurant is a perfect hang out spot if you don't feel like going to town- patio with gorgeous view and firepit, or cozy fireplace inside by the bar. Rooms are nice- spacious and clean, I find the beds comfortable, the patio/balconies are great. Gym is good for a hotel.With that said, these amenities aren't so extraordinary to be worth $250/night we paid on a holiday weekend.The restaurant is expensive for the mediocre food. Jacuzzi was broken at one point. Bath tub area had little mold in some spots and really old shower head.The worst point of our last stay was check in. We arrived early, around noon, hoping to go get lunch and have our room ready maybe around 2 pm (not unreasonable, right?). I asked nicely if there was anything they could do- we have a small child that takes a nap. Well, they could care less and we didn't get our room until after 3 pm. We hung out in the front and I swear in 2 or so hours I did not see one other person check in, they did not look busy at all! People were certainly checking out (overheard double charges and misunderstandings). After all said and done, I asked the manager if their check out is at noon, does it really take them 3 hours to get a room ready?? He said "no" but they have to "follow procedure".[...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chaminade Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Modesto, Ca
Jun 1, 2010

Sweet upgrade...

We arrived Memorial Day and were immediately greeted by staff. We received a free upgrade to a Luxury King Suite because the other rooms were still being cleaned. The rooms had a small patio as well as a living and dining room. The bed was heavenly...in fact my husband and I inspected the tags to find out what type so we could buy one ourselves. The only downside was that you could hear people upstairs and everyone in the hallway walking and talking. So you can only imagine what they could hear from other guests.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Shadowbrook is wonderful. Try the Salmon.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chaminade Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Duh
Apr 4, 2010

Chaminade

Beds too soft major problem

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great food at restaurant

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top