$159 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Oct 24, 2014 Check-out: Oct 25, 2014

Chaminade Resort and Spa

4 stars
One Chaminade Ln, Santa Cruz, CA 95065
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
68 reviews
Great place to stay after driving on the 1

We drove up from Pasadena on the 1. Very long ride. This was perfect place to stay after that long... See full review

  • Angelnav
  • Aug 11, 2014
Relaxing stay

Was wonderful, nice massage and drinks under the stars next to a warm fire pit . See full review

  • Mom in Newark
  • Jul 21, 2014
Green Santa Cruz mountaintop retreat offers luxury in the outdoors

A full-service hotel and conference center, Chaminade Resort & Spa is set on 300 acres of eucalyptus and redwood-dense hills overlooking Santa Cruz. It's also one of the highest-rated hotels in this Northern California coastal town. Spanish-mission inspired architecture, contemporary furnishings and open-air patios make this an ideal place to unwind. Five miles removed from the activity of Santa Cruz, Chaminade is an easy drive within minutes to Pacific Ocean beaches, golf courses and local wineries.

Highlights

  • The first hotel in Santa Cruz County to receive a Green Business Certification for its environmental efforts
  • Full-service spa
  • Free parking
  • Airport and local transportation (fees apply)
  • Pet-friendly (fees apply)

Rooms

Several buildings that stretch through the wooded hillside house Chaminade Resort and Spa's 156 rooms. A $15 million renovation in 2009 brought upgrades to the interiors with luxurious feather beds, down-filled duvets and contemporary decor that still retains the Spanish flair that is part of the resort's history. Private patios are sheltered by forest. Some modernized suites have flat-screen TVs and high-speed Internet access (fees apply). Granite bathrooms feature Lather products and microfiber robes. 

Features

Chaminade Resort & Spa emphasizes the outdoors. Four tennis courts with a pro on hand, three miles of private on-site hiking trails, a ropes course, sand volleyball, badminton and croquet are all available. The 50-foot outdoor heated pool is open until 11 p.m. The full-scale fitness center offers aerobics, yoga and pilates in addition to standard workout equipment. Ladies' and mens' locker rooms, sauna and whirlpool are available. For all-natural treatments and rejuvenation, head to the full-service Spa at Chaminade.

Dining

Views of Monterey Bay are unbeatable from the fireside patios at Chaminade Resort & Spa. From the highly-regarded breakfast buffet to sunset cocktails at Linwood's Bar & Grill, two on-site restaurants here offer a selection from morning through after-hours. Fine cuisine draws ever-changing inspiration from local farms on the surrounding California coast. Room service is available for breakfast, lunch and dinner. 

Transportation

  • San Jose International Airport (34.8 mi/56 km)
  • Airport and local transportation (fees apply)

Attractions

  • Pasatiempo Golf Club (4.6 mi/7.5 km)
  • Santa Cruz Beach Boardwalk (6.5 mi/10.5 km)
  • University of California Santa Cruz (UCSC) (8.2 mi/13.2 km)
  • Henry Cowell Redwoods State Park (11.7 mi/18.8 km)

Business

  • 24-hour business center
  • 12 meeting rooms
  • Team building activities

Policies and fees
  • This hotel has a pet policy (fees apply).

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

36.9964 -121.9854
Nearby airports
San Jose Intl Airport, (SJC), 35.00, MI, SW; San Francisco Intl Airport, (SFO), 62.00, MI, S; Monterey Peninsula Airport, (MRY), 40.00, MI, N;
Area description
Resort

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Chaminade Resort and Spa also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Chaminade Resort and Spa Rooms

Luxury
Chaminade Luxury Suite with One King Size Bed. Well appointed suite included a separate living room area with Casual Dining area Queen Sized Sofa Bed and Flat Screen Television. Accommodations feature Luxurious feather bedding in-room safe two line phone
Luxury
Luxury Fully Accessible Room with 2 Queen Beds. Accommodations feature Luxurious feather bedding in-room safe two line phone with voicemail premium cable Channels in-room movies and games coffee maker hair dryer and Iron/Ironing Board
Luxury
Chaminade Luxury Accessible Suite. Well appointed suite included a separate living room area with Casual Dining area Queen Sized Sofa Bed and Flat Screen Television. Accommodations feature Luxurious feather bedding High Speed Wired/Wireless internet in-ro
Luxury
Luxury Junior Suite King includes a King Size Bed Cozy Sectional Sofa and Casual Dining area. Accommodations feature Luxurious feather bedding Dual Vanity in-room safe two line phone with voicemail premium cable Channels in-room movies and games coffee ma
Luxury
Luxury Accessible Room with 2 Queen Beds. Accommodations feature Luxurious feather bedding in-room safe two line phone with voicemail premium cable Channels in-room movies and games coffee maker hair dryer and Iron/Ironing Board.
Luxury
Luxury Room with one queen bed. Accommodations feature luxurious feather bedding in-room safe two line phone with voicemail premium cable channels in-room movies and games coffee maker hair dryer and iron/ironing board.
Luxury
Luxury room with 2 queen size beds. Accommodations feature luxurious feather bedding in-room safe two line phone with voicemail premium cable channels in-room movies and games coffee maker hair dryer and iron/ironing board.
Luxury
Luxury Forest View Room with 2 Queen size beds. Accommodations feature Luxurious feather bedding in-room safe two line phone with voicemail premium cable Channels in-room movies and games coffee maker hair dryer and Iron/Ironing Board.
Luxury
Chaminade Luxury Suite with One Queen Size Bed. Well appointed suite included a separate living room area with Casual Dining area Queen Sized Sofa Bed and Flat Screen Television. Accommodations feature Luxurious feather bedding in-room safe two line pho
Luxury
Luxury room with King size bed. Accommodations feature Luxurious feather bedding in-room safe two line phone with voicemail premium cable Channels in-room movies and games coffee maker hair dryer and Iron/Ironing Board.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
24 hour security
FEMA approved
Activities
Heated pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Skiing
Children's activities
Jogging track
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Coffee shop
24 hour room service
Room service
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Gift shop
Copy service
News stand
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Cordless phone
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Turndown service
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub

Dining

Linwoods Bar And Grill
Linwood s features contemporary California cuisine capturing the rich flavors of the Central Coast. Partnering with local farmers menu items feature locally sourced products based on whats fresh on the market. Linwoods in an ideal setting to enjoy signat
Sunset Restaurant
The Sunset Restaurant is known for its vast assortment of fresh sumptuous buffet items. With panoramic views of the Monterey Bay and its renown Sunday Brunch the Sunset Restaurant has been voted best of Santa Cruz by local press.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (68)

Ratings and reviews for Chaminade Resort and Spa

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
68 out of 68
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.6

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Chaminade Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Salem, MA
Dec 22, 2010

Will stay again!

Recently rennovated, the room was comfortable and the breakfast buffet a great value. The workout facility is worth investing in and the staff was most professional. Great view, too!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Breakfast buffet!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chaminade Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fort Smith, Arkansas
Dec 13, 2010

Santa Cruz

Overall it was a pleasant experience. We really didn't have anything negative to say regarding the hotel except for limited parking in the evenings when returning to the hotel from being out during the day. However, I belive the hotel was hosting Christmas parties and that might have been the reason. The spa was wonderful! The rooms were updated and modern although you can tell that the hotel is older. We didn't spend much time in the room but to sleep so it was great for us. We did use the hot tub one night and it was the best hot tub I have ever been in. Overall great stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Hotel was located near everything such as food, boardwalk etc. Short drive to all attractions.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chaminade Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
badmamajama
Business
Santa Barbara
Nov 27, 2010

Alternative to Staying with In-Laws

We liked staying at the Chaminade Resort and Spa. It was a great location, convenient to the Roaring Camp Railroad and downtown Santa Cruz. The dining was good and there was plenty to do for exercise (i.e. tennis, walking trails, and a large gym). The only complaint I have is that the bathroom looked a little dirty. There was dirt in the grout and underneath the soap tray in the shower there was grime. Despite a little dirt, the heat not working when we got there, and our cable not working, we would probably stay there again. The staff made it very enjoyable and they were quick to fix any problems we had with our room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

It was a short drive to Roaring Camp, the Boardwalk, and downtown Santa Cruz.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chaminade Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sunnyvale CA
Nov 15, 2010

Overall good experience

Relaxing environment. The landscape is very good. We liked the rawness of the landscape in general. Loads of eucaleptus trees right there at your own little private patio. We liked the patio verhy much. Room Service is good, fast. Staff is friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Boardwalk is full of entertainment. The neptune arcade has pool-tables, pingpong, loads of video games. The beach is great.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chaminade Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Mateo, CA
Nov 1, 2010

Highs and Lows

It was a 24 hour Anniversary getaway, one Wednesday night at the highest rated hotel we could find in Santa Cruz. It feels like a wannabe four star hotel, and given the location, the customer-focused attitude of the people and the general ambience and architecture it deserves the opportunity. But we found it seriously deficient in the details. Three examples: (1) The bed sheets were ill-fitting: I found my feet were resting on an uncovered mattress most of the night. We also had a non-functioning second sink. (2) Only three out of the twelve jets in the outdoor hot tub were functioning. The indoor hot tub was completely broken. (3) They offer a High Def TV, but none of the major networks were High Def programming! It's the little details like these that make the stay less than appealing and, unless the management focus improves, unlikely that we will return again - especially given the other competition in the same city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Dining in the hotel is good but expensive. Santa Cruz is University Town so check out the unique and good-value restaurants in the main shopping street. There is even a free parking structure nearby...!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chaminade Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pope46
Business
Oakdale, CA
Oct 25, 2010

Great hotel!

Great hotel...wonderful setting. Restaurant was fabulous! The scenery was fantastic. Wasn't far from the beach/boardwalk, short drive. Bedding was so comfy!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Eat at the Hindquarter Bar & Grill just down Soquel Ave from the hotel. Fantastic steak house!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chaminade Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Alabama
Oct 13, 2010

Very nice

Nice large room, beautiful surroundings. Rooms are not in main building, but spread our in several outbuildings. Made parking easy. Nice breakfast buffet. The $18 required fee is ridiculous!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chaminade Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Westerville, Ohio
Oct 5, 2010

Unbeatable Location for the Price

Beuatiful location in the mountains high above Santa Cruz. Great for relaxation or business

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Great location for all types of dining.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chaminade Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco
Sep 25, 2010

Romantic Weekend

Everything was wonderful, the only negative thing was that the restaurant was terrible. The waitress was a mess and it took 15-20 minutes to get everything. Water and bread in the beginning, our order taken, the wine. The food came pretty promptly after it had been ordered but it was not good. It was bland and mediocre at best. Definitely not worth what they are charging. The room service breakfast was better than our dinner.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chaminade Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Ramon, CA
Jul 8, 2010

Overpriced with marginal customer servic

I believe reviews and ratings are relative to the price you pay. In a nutshell, this hotel is great, for an appropriate price.I have stayed here before and generally like this hotel. It's set in a beautiful wooded area, surrounded by trees, hiking trails, and nature. It is very relaxing and peaceful. The restaurant is a perfect hang out spot if you don't feel like going to town- patio with gorgeous view and firepit, or cozy fireplace inside by the bar. Rooms are nice- spacious and clean, I find the beds comfortable, the patio/balconies are great. Gym is good for a hotel.With that said, these amenities aren't so extraordinary to be worth $250/night we paid on a holiday weekend.The restaurant is expensive for the mediocre food. Jacuzzi was broken at one point. Bath tub area had little mold in some spots and really old shower head.The worst point of our last stay was check in. We arrived early, around noon, hoping to go get lunch and have our room ready maybe around 2 pm (not unreasonable, right?). I asked nicely if there was anything they could do- we have a small child that takes a nap. Well, they could care less and we didn't get our room until after 3 pm. We hung out in the front and I swear in 2 or so hours I did not see one other person check in, they did not look busy at all! People were certainly checking out (overheard double charges and misunderstandings). After all said and done, I asked the manager if their check out is at noon, does it really take them 3 hours to get a room ready?? He said "no" but they have to "follow procedure".[...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top