$159 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Oct 24, 2014 Check-out: Oct 25, 2014

Chaminade Resort and Spa

4 stars
One Chaminade Ln, Santa Cruz, CA 95065
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
68 reviews
Great place to stay after driving on the 1

We drove up from Pasadena on the 1. Very long ride. This was perfect place to stay after that long... See full review

  • Angelnav
  • Aug 11, 2014
Relaxing stay

Was wonderful, nice massage and drinks under the stars next to a warm fire pit . See full review

  • Mom in Newark
  • Jul 21, 2014
Green Santa Cruz mountaintop retreat offers luxury in the outdoors

A full-service hotel and conference center, Chaminade Resort & Spa is set on 300 acres of eucalyptus and redwood-dense hills overlooking Santa Cruz. It's also one of the highest-rated hotels in this Northern California coastal town. Spanish-mission inspired architecture, contemporary furnishings and open-air patios make this an ideal place to unwind. Five miles removed from the activity of Santa Cruz, Chaminade is an easy drive within minutes to Pacific Ocean beaches, golf courses and local wineries.

Highlights

  • The first hotel in Santa Cruz County to receive a Green Business Certification for its environmental efforts
  • Full-service spa
  • Free parking
  • Airport and local transportation (fees apply)
  • Pet-friendly (fees apply)

Rooms

Several buildings that stretch through the wooded hillside house Chaminade Resort and Spa's 156 rooms. A $15 million renovation in 2009 brought upgrades to the interiors with luxurious feather beds, down-filled duvets and contemporary decor that still retains the Spanish flair that is part of the resort's history. Private patios are sheltered by forest. Some modernized suites have flat-screen TVs and high-speed Internet access (fees apply). Granite bathrooms feature Lather products and microfiber robes. 

Features

Chaminade Resort & Spa emphasizes the outdoors. Four tennis courts with a pro on hand, three miles of private on-site hiking trails, a ropes course, sand volleyball, badminton and croquet are all available. The 50-foot outdoor heated pool is open until 11 p.m. The full-scale fitness center offers aerobics, yoga and pilates in addition to standard workout equipment. Ladies' and mens' locker rooms, sauna and whirlpool are available. For all-natural treatments and rejuvenation, head to the full-service Spa at Chaminade.

Dining

Views of Monterey Bay are unbeatable from the fireside patios at Chaminade Resort & Spa. From the highly-regarded breakfast buffet to sunset cocktails at Linwood's Bar & Grill, two on-site restaurants here offer a selection from morning through after-hours. Fine cuisine draws ever-changing inspiration from local farms on the surrounding California coast. Room service is available for breakfast, lunch and dinner. 

Transportation

  • San Jose International Airport (34.8 mi/56 km)
  • Airport and local transportation (fees apply)

Attractions

  • Pasatiempo Golf Club (4.6 mi/7.5 km)
  • Santa Cruz Beach Boardwalk (6.5 mi/10.5 km)
  • University of California Santa Cruz (UCSC) (8.2 mi/13.2 km)
  • Henry Cowell Redwoods State Park (11.7 mi/18.8 km)

Business

  • 24-hour business center
  • 12 meeting rooms
  • Team building activities

Policies and fees
  • This hotel has a pet policy (fees apply).

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

36.9964 -121.9854
Nearby airports
San Jose Intl Airport, (SJC), 35.00, MI, SW; San Francisco Intl Airport, (SFO), 62.00, MI, S; Monterey Peninsula Airport, (MRY), 40.00, MI, N;
Area description
Resort

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Chaminade Resort and Spa also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Chaminade Resort and Spa Rooms

Luxury
Chaminade Luxury Suite with One King Size Bed. Well appointed suite included a separate living room area with Casual Dining area Queen Sized Sofa Bed and Flat Screen Television. Accommodations feature Luxurious feather bedding in-room safe two line phone
Luxury
Luxury Fully Accessible Room with 2 Queen Beds. Accommodations feature Luxurious feather bedding in-room safe two line phone with voicemail premium cable Channels in-room movies and games coffee maker hair dryer and Iron/Ironing Board
Luxury
Chaminade Luxury Accessible Suite. Well appointed suite included a separate living room area with Casual Dining area Queen Sized Sofa Bed and Flat Screen Television. Accommodations feature Luxurious feather bedding High Speed Wired/Wireless internet in-ro
Luxury
Luxury Junior Suite King includes a King Size Bed Cozy Sectional Sofa and Casual Dining area. Accommodations feature Luxurious feather bedding Dual Vanity in-room safe two line phone with voicemail premium cable Channels in-room movies and games coffee ma
Luxury
Luxury Accessible Room with 2 Queen Beds. Accommodations feature Luxurious feather bedding in-room safe two line phone with voicemail premium cable Channels in-room movies and games coffee maker hair dryer and Iron/Ironing Board.
Luxury
Luxury Room with one queen bed. Accommodations feature luxurious feather bedding in-room safe two line phone with voicemail premium cable channels in-room movies and games coffee maker hair dryer and iron/ironing board.
Luxury
Luxury room with 2 queen size beds. Accommodations feature luxurious feather bedding in-room safe two line phone with voicemail premium cable channels in-room movies and games coffee maker hair dryer and iron/ironing board.
Luxury
Luxury Forest View Room with 2 Queen size beds. Accommodations feature Luxurious feather bedding in-room safe two line phone with voicemail premium cable Channels in-room movies and games coffee maker hair dryer and Iron/Ironing Board.
Luxury
Chaminade Luxury Suite with One Queen Size Bed. Well appointed suite included a separate living room area with Casual Dining area Queen Sized Sofa Bed and Flat Screen Television. Accommodations feature Luxurious feather bedding in-room safe two line pho
Luxury
Luxury room with King size bed. Accommodations feature Luxurious feather bedding in-room safe two line phone with voicemail premium cable Channels in-room movies and games coffee maker hair dryer and Iron/Ironing Board.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
24 hour security
FEMA approved
Activities
Heated pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Skiing
Children's activities
Jogging track
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Coffee shop
24 hour room service
Room service
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Gift shop
Copy service
News stand
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Cordless phone
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Turndown service
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub

Dining

Linwoods Bar And Grill
Linwood s features contemporary California cuisine capturing the rich flavors of the Central Coast. Partnering with local farmers menu items feature locally sourced products based on whats fresh on the market. Linwoods in an ideal setting to enjoy signat
Sunset Restaurant
The Sunset Restaurant is known for its vast assortment of fresh sumptuous buffet items. With panoramic views of the Monterey Bay and its renown Sunday Brunch the Sunset Restaurant has been voted best of Santa Cruz by local press.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (68)

Ratings and reviews for Chaminade Resort and Spa

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
68 out of 68
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.6

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Chaminade Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
drkinrow
Business
Rowlett, TX
Jul 19, 2012

Nice scenery but...

This was a good hotel, but nothing special and not worth the price. Based on the write up we expected something much fancier and luxurious. It was adequate and clean, with friendly staff and nice scenery, but not very fancy for what we paid. The pool and hot tub were nice, and well maintained. We did not use the spa services as they seemed a little pricey too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chaminade Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jacqueleen
Business
Thousand Oaks, CA
Jul 10, 2012

My Favorite Santa Cruz Hotel

Grounds are wonderful. Hiking/jogging trails in the redwoods, pool, spa, tennis courts, firepit outside the restaurant overlooking the mountain/ocean view. Pet friendly. Really enjoyed our stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chaminade Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
osc707
Business
Vacaville, ca
Jul 2, 2012

Awesome family vacation spot

I've got to say that our experience at this resort was fantastic. We arrived to a clean, spacious, relaxing room. This resort has some stunning views and great surroundings. The hotel staff was extremely friendly. The night we arrived our girls wanted some drinks, so we set out to find a soda vending machine, much to our surprise, they had 1 vending machine on site that did not vendor sodas. So we asked a staff member if there was some where we could purchase cans of soda, and there was not. So the staff member asked is what kinds of drinks we'd like, went to the restaurant and returned promptly with 4 cans of soda for us. Little things like this should be noted, it made the girls night! All the family agreed that we'd for sure return to this wonderful Resort!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chaminade Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ignatz the cat
Business
Novato, Ca
Jul 2, 2012

what a find!

Our room was large, the king bed was VERY comfortable, the pool was great, and the price was right. We will be back

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chaminade Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
StuShell
Business
Livermore
Jun 18, 2012

Great family getaway.

We had a great time. We enjoyed the pool and hot tub. The room was very nice. The fitness center and lounge was great. We would love to make this a getaway serveral times a year. Wish there were more rate specials offered. Thank you, It was wonderful!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The Resort is very close to the Boardwalk. But the Resort is very nice you do not have to leave to enjoy.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chaminade Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
alinaslynn
Business
Point Pleasant, NJ, USA
Apr 19, 2012

Treat yourself to at least one night

This was easily our favorite hotel from our trip down highway one. It is a beautiful setting overlooking Santa Cruz. The room we stayed in was large with feather beds and quilt, a beautiful bathroom and private patio. Everything was extremely clean and immaculate. The front desk staff and waitress at the bar and grill could not have been nicer. We walked the 1.5 mile trail around the grounds in the morning and were enchanted by this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Check out the town of Santa Cruz. It has wonderful, unique shops and lots of cafes with al fresco dining.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chaminade Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
hugh slider
Business
Sacramento, CA, USA
Nov 14, 2011

loved my rest and rejuvination

exellent spot to get away from the mainstream, yet it was close enough to it when desired. the grounds and views were breathtaking and the service was always with a smile. only wished I had a frig in my room other than that it was a great get away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chaminade Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
diablito
Business
Gilroy, CA 95020, USA
Aug 29, 2011

room

room needed to be cleaner, showers cleand and no mold , need updates feels old and uninviting.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chaminade Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Roseville,Ca
Jun 20, 2011

Chaminade Resort & Spa Stay

the hotel was nice except that it doesn't have a microwave or even a refrigerator. It should also have at least a free continental breakfast. the room was small for that price. the parking is not enough. The staff is not too friendly - no smiles on their faces to welcome the guests.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chaminade Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
itsrainingcake
Business
central california
Dec 29, 2010

High quality for Santa Cruz..

Check in seemed to take long for being the only ones in there. Nice location but our room was situated right near the entry door and the doors are paper thin, allowing noise (including whispers) to be heard clearly and often. Rooms were very comfortable and quite stylish. I do not like the charge for valet parking that is charged by the hotel. What valet? We parked ourselves in the parking spots right outside our room. Really dumb. Nice hotel, but it is still run by lazy Santa Cruz mentality.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Shadowbrook!!! We love this place! Make a reservation and come early to enjoy the gardens and the bar. Great food!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top