$143 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 4, 2015 Check-out: Sep 5, 2015

The Plaza Suites

4 stars
View map of 3100 Lakeside Drive, Santa Clara, CA 95054

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
130 reviews
Beautiful property & great staff

WhatA great place to stay. Close to everything we wanted, very friendly staff an awesome breakfast... See full review

  • HawaiiMovieGuy
  • Aug 16, 2015
Plaza Suites Rocks

Here are just a few reasons why Plaza Suite rocks very nice rooms, the best beds ever, awesome made... See full review

  • Linda F.
  • Apr 22, 2015
Elegant and traditional, the all-suite Plaza Suites attracts both the Silicon Valley business crowd and vacationers seeking proximity to family-friendly attractions and spacious accommodations. All 219 suites were renovated in 2009 and feature high-tech amenities and updated decor. A business center and fitness room add convenience, while the pool, hot tub, delicious daily breakfast spread and nightly cocktail reception make even business travelers feel as though they're on vacation.
Rooms

Renovated in 2009, each two-room suite is decorated with traditional contemporary style and handsome walnut furniture. King or double beds and 37-inch TVs are in bedrooms, while large desks, sofabeds and 42-inch TVs are in the living rooms. MP3-ready iHome clock radios, microwaves and minibars are also on hand. Internet access is available for a fee.

Property features

Early risers at the Plaza Suites can enjoy the Plaza Bistro Restaurant's complimentary breakfast, while the after-dark crowd enjoys free cocktails in the Sunset Lounge (5 p.m. to 7 p.m.). Dinner is served in the dining room or delivered to guests' suites, and to-go lunches are also offered at a reasonable price. The fitness center has ample equipment to burn off those calories, and the outdoor pool and hot tub provide post-workout relaxation. No need to over-pack for a stay here, either. Same-day laundry valet is available, as well as coin-operated laundry machines.

Highlights
  • Complimentary breakfast every morning and cocktail reception every evening
  • All rooms were remodeled in 2009
  • On-site dining room, Plaza Bistro Restaurant, serves moderately priced American cuisine

 

Nearby attractions
  • California's Great America (1.6 mi/2.6 km)
  • Santa Clara Convention Center (2.1 mi/3.4 km)
  • Santa Clara Golf & Tennis Club (2.6 mi/4.2 km)
  • Santana Row (6.3 mi/10.1 km)
  • Winchester Mystery House (6.4 mi/10.3 km)
  • San Jose Convention Center (7.7 mi/12.4 km)
Business
  • Wireless Internet in common areas (complimentary) and high-speed wired Internet in suites (fees apply)
  • Business center with Internet access and a laser printer
  • 3,000 square feet of meeting space, including an outdoor venue option, with audio-visual support
Transportation
  • San Jose International Airport (10 minutes)
  • San Francisco International Airport (35 minutes)
  • Oakland International Airport (44 minutes)
  • Santa Clara Convention Center (5 minutes)
  • San Jose Convention Center (13 minutes)
  • Caltrain (5 minutes)
  • VTA Light Rail station (7 minutes)
  • VTA bus stop (4 minutes)
Policies
  • 75 USD cents per local phone calls

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Plaza Suites also booked these hotels.

★★★★
$113
3.9 / 5 112 reviews
★★★★
$122
4.2 / 5 108 reviews
★★★★
$126
4.4 / 5 80 reviews
★★★
$84
3.3 / 5 253 reviews
★★★★
$94
4.0 / 5 62 reviews
★★★★
$109
3.9 / 5 165 reviews
★★★
$112
3.6 / 5 230 reviews
★★★★
$119
3.9 / 5 30 reviews

The Plaza Suites Rooms

Double Suite
Your suite is decorated with faux-finish wall covering with ceiling trim accents, deep walnut side tables and headboard, hand-crafted light fixtures, plush furnishing including a sofa sleeper and arm chair, work station with ergonomic swivel chair, and a large well-lighted bathroom with a host of hair and body care amenities. A separate/private living room with a sleeper sofa, entertainment center with VCR, Stereo, Pay [per-view Movies, Games and Music, mini bar, in-suite coffee service, microwave ovens, iron and ironing boards. Complimentary newspaper delivered daily.
King Suite
Your King Suite is decorated with faux-finish wall covering with ceiling trim accents, deep walnut side tables and headboard, hand-crafted light fixtures, plush furnishing including a sofa sleeper and arm chair, work station with ergonomic swivel chair, and a large well-lighted bathroom with a host of hair and body care amenities. Your features a separate living room with a sleeper sofa, an entertainment center with VCR, Stereo, A color TV with Pay-per-view Movies, Games and Music, mini bar, in-suite coffee service, microwave oven, iron and ironing boards. Complimentary newspaper delivered daily.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities

Dining

Restaurants
Within a 1 mile radius of The Plaza Suites, there is a great variety of restaurants ranging from seafood to Mexican to Steak to Fast food. Whether you are looking for elegant or casual, you will not have to travel far. Arthurs - serving steak and seafood.
Le Bistro/Restaurants
The Plaza Bistro is fast becoming one of the South Bay's favorite gathering places for casual, moderately-priced and innovative dining. This new addition to The Plaza Suites Hotel provides a unique and modern dining experience; ambiance is indeed the perfect blend of comfort and unpretentious elegance - ideal for a night of fine food in the company of good friends, or business acquaintances. The Plaza Bistro offers an array of creatively-prepared American dishes with a unique regional flair. These taste-tempting selections are complemented by a variety of fine wines, delicious desserts and coffees to satisfy even the most discerning palate.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
3 rooms. 1,000 sq. ft. total.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for The Plaza Suites

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
35 out of 130
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.1
Value:
4

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Plaza Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
tanano
Business
Orange County
Oct 25, 2014

Nice surprise

I just got back from a wonderful stay at the Plaza Suites. Rooms were large with a separate living room and bedroom area. Toiletries were nice. Room also includes a full hot breakfast including omelet bar and complimentary drinks in the evening. The hotel is close to the freeway but I had a room facing the pool. Room was quiet and there were lots of tree branches in front of the window to still give me some privacy from the pool area. Oh and the comforter was super comfortable! Overall great stay. I would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Plaza Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Santa Clara Traveler
Business
Portland, Oregon
Oct 2, 2014

So well meaning but just not ready

The front desk folks were amazing... the maintenance guys were incredible and everyone was super kind. The facilities were just lacking a bit and you could tell they were going through a major remodel that hadn't really kicked in but may be great and done by next year. The food was disappointing, the rooms small and underwhelming, the new carpet smell in the hall nauseating, the bathtub pretty gross, the restaurant fire was "broken" in the evening when we needed it and then working in the morning when we didn't this was the same for the heater. But I can't overemphasize that the staff was lovely the facility was just not up to par with the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Plaza Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CynthiaHL
Business
Chicago, IL
Sep 22, 2014

Very nice!

The hotel is very nice, the suites are nice and well appointed. Breakfast was very good with made to order warm breakfast items. The only minor drawback is that it is next to the 101 expressway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Plaza Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Steve from LA
Business
Los Angeles
Aug 20, 2014

Business Stay

I've stayed here before and had a really nice room, but this time, the room was pretty awful. It smelled like cigarettes b/c even though it was a non-smoking room, it was on a smoking floor. The carpet seemed way too old and everything about the room seemed outdated. I was quite surprised b/c the room that I had stayed in before was significantly better. The manager felt bad about the smell of the smoke and gave me complimentary WiFi. The breakfast was also good. The entire staff was excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Plaza Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ninja Turtles
Business
San Jose, California
Aug 18, 2014

Amazing breakfast

Overall, I had a great experience at Plaza Suite. The free breakfast is the best because they are cooked right there and there. They also have free evening cocktail. I never got the chance to use the gym or pool. So, I can't comment on those.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Plaza Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
aphillyboy
Business
Philadelphia
Aug 9, 2014

Reasonably good place to stay on business

Couldn't checkin until 3, so that was disappointing, but when I finally got settled, the room was clean and in good condition. I would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There were at least two nice restaurants in walking distance from the hotel. One was mexican, and the other a bar / nightclub. I went to the bar / nightclub and had a nice grilled chicken and spinach salad while sitting outside.

Review of The Plaza Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Major Havoc
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Jul 14, 2014

Awesome hotel, limited parking

My brother and I stayed at the Plaza Suites to attend a convention in town. The suite was very nice, super comfy beds and two flat screen TV's. The TV's had a poor picture (analog-only signal). The sofa dipped a bit in the center (typical sofa bed). Front room had a writing desk, mini-fridge, and microwave, in case you need to pull an all-nighter. Small bathroom, but everything worked and was clean. The room included a VERY nice breakfast and three happy hour drinks each! Yes, we drank them all. The ONLY real beef I have is the parking is very limited, so there's a good chance you'll have to park on the street if the hotel is packed (which we did). But, I would definitely stay here again in the future, great hotel, very helpful staff and great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

There's a restaurant/nightclub around the corner. We didn't go, but looked pretty popular and fun.

Review of The Plaza Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Stephanie the Sire
Business
San Jose Cass
Jul 9, 2014

Great Price

I love the executive suite even though. There not much of a difference between that and the regular suites. Highly recommend

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Plaza Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Queerbrain
Business
South Bay area of San Francisco
Jul 5, 2014

if I could I'd live at The Plaza Suites

I don't know where to begin about the Plaza Suites, it was absolutely lovely. I lucked out and was able to stay there for a whole week due to the fact it was July 4th holiday and the rates were cheaper. most of the suites are small ish however they are very very comfortable there's a separate bedroom for your king size bed, a bureau with 3 drawers 2 night stands with drawers and a relatively large closet. the living area has a nice size couch chair wet bar with refrigerator and microwave huge TV in both rooms plus a work area. I was surprised to find out that their restaurant was staffed with an excellent chef and I've paid for lesser breakfast buffets, the complimentary breakfast is astonishing with everything they offer. you receive 3 drink tickets for u free drinks during happy hour, the pool and hot tub area is very nice. biggest plus for me is that on the 5th floor they have rooms that you can smoke in. if I could afford it I would just move in and live there forever

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
1
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

This is the only problem with the hotel and its where it is at, its on a frontage road off of 101 and there is absolutely nothing but an El toritos within walking distance

Review of The Plaza Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
BklynATX
Business
Santa Clara, California
Mar 4, 2014

Only smoking rooms available!

Upon check-in, only smoking rooms were available. The staff said they're upgrading a portion of the hotel and short on rooms. It's very unfortunate to purchase a hotel room and not know upon booking that the hotel is sold out of non-smoking rooms!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top