$129 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 12, 2014 Check-out: Jul 13, 2014

The Plaza Suites

4 stars
3100 Lakeside Drive, Santa Clara, CA 95054
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
145 reviews
if I could I'd live at The Plaza Suites

I don't know where to begin about the Plaza Suites, it was absolutely lovely. I lucked out and was... See full review

  • Queerbrain
  • Jul 5, 2014
Great airport location

Just needed a nice place close to the SJ airport. Room was very spacious. The bed and pillows were... See full review

  • Bingo Dude
  • Jun 17, 2014
All-suite hotel with traditional elegance and modern amenities
Elegant and traditional, the all-suite Plaza Suites attracts both the Silicon Valley business crowd and vacationers seeking proximity to family-friendly attractions and spacious accommodations. All 219 suites were renovated in 2009 and feature high-tech amenities and updated decor. A business center and fitness room add convenience, while the pool, hot tub, delicious daily breakfast spread and nightly cocktail reception make even business travelers feel as though they're on vacation.
Highlights:
  • Complimentary breakfast every morning and cocktail reception every evening
  • All rooms were remodeled in 2009
  • On-site dining room, Plaza Bistro Restaurant, serves moderately priced American cuisine

 

Rooms:

Renovated in 2009, each two-room suite is decorated with traditional contemporary style and handsome walnut furniture. King or double beds and 37-inch TVs are in bedrooms, while large desks, sofabeds and 42-inch TVs are in the living rooms. MP3-ready iHome clock radios, microwaves and minibars are also on hand. Internet access is available for a fee.

Features:

Early risers at the Plaza Suites can enjoy the Plaza Bistro Restaurant's complimentary breakfast, while the after-dark crowd enjoys free cocktails in the Sunset Lounge (5 p.m. to 7 p.m.). Dinner is served in the dining room or delivered to guests' suites, and to-go lunches are also offered at a reasonable price. The fitness center has ample equipment to burn off those calories, and the outdoor pool and hot tub provide post-workout relaxation. No need to over-pack for a stay here, either. Same-day laundry valet is available, as well as coin-operated laundry machines.

Transportation:
  • San Jose International Airport (10 minutes)
  • San Francisco International Airport (35 minutes)
  • Oakland International Airport (44 minutes)
  • Santa Clara Convention Center (5 minutes)
  • San Jose Convention Center (13 minutes)
  • Caltrain (5 minutes)
  • VTA Light Rail station (7 minutes)
  • VTA bus stop (4 minutes)
Attractions:
  • California's Great America (1.6 mi/2.6 km)
  • Santa Clara Convention Center (2.1 mi/3.4 km)
  • Santa Clara Golf & Tennis Club (2.6 mi/4.2 km)
  • Santana Row (6.3 mi/10.1 km)
  • Winchester Mystery House (6.4 mi/10.3 km)
  • San Jose Convention Center (7.7 mi/12.4 km)
Business:
  • Wireless Internet in common areas (complimentary) and high-speed wired Internet in suites (fees apply)
  • Business center with Internet access and a laser printer
  • 3,000 square feet of meeting space, including an outdoor venue option, with audio-visual support
Policies and fees:
  • 75 USD cents per local phone calls

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

The Plaza Suites Rooms

Double Suite
Your suite is decorated with faux-finish wall covering with ceiling trim accents, deep walnut side tables and headboard, hand-crafted light fixtures, plush furnishing including a sofa sleeper and arm chair, work station with ergonomic swivel chair, and a large well-lighted bathroom with a host of hair and body care amenities. A separate/private living room with a sleeper sofa, entertainment center with VCR, Stereo, Pay [per-view Movies, Games and Music, mini bar, in-suite coffee service, microwave ovens, iron and ironing boards. Complimentary newspaper delivered daily.
King Suite
Your King Suite is decorated with faux-finish wall covering with ceiling trim accents, deep walnut side tables and headboard, hand-crafted light fixtures, plush furnishing including a sofa sleeper and arm chair, work station with ergonomic swivel chair, and a large well-lighted bathroom with a host of hair and body care amenities. Your features a separate living room with a sleeper sofa, an entertainment center with VCR, Stereo, A color TV with Pay-per-view Movies, Games and Music, mini bar, in-suite coffee service, microwave oven, iron and ironing boards. Complimentary newspaper delivered daily.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Plaza Suites also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Hotel Map

37.3866 -121.9834
Area served
AMC Theaters 1.5 mi, Egyptian Museum 7 mi, Paramounts Great America 1 mi, Santa Clara Convention Ctr 1 mi, Westfield Shopping Center 7 mi, Winchester Mystery House 7 mi
Nearby airports
San Jose International (SJC)
Area description
Located in the heart of Silicon Valley, near the Corporate, Manufacturing and Development Centers. Close to San Jose International Airport, convention centers, outlet malls, retail stores, Great America, Winchester Mystery House, Bonfante Gardens, golf, theater complexes, and within walking distance of local restaurants.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
3 rooms. 1,000 sq. ft. total.

Dining

Restaurants
Within a 1 mile radius of The Plaza Suites, there is a great variety of restaurants ranging from seafood to Mexican to Steak to Fast food. Whether you are looking for elegant or casual, you will not have to travel far. Arthurs - serving steak and seafood.
Le Bistro/Restaurants
The Plaza Bistro is fast becoming one of the South Bay's favorite gathering places for casual, moderately-priced and innovative dining. This new addition to The Plaza Suites Hotel provides a unique and modern dining experience; ambiance is indeed the perfect blend of comfort and unpretentious elegance — ideal for a night of fine food in the company of good friends, or business acquaintances. The Plaza Bistro offers an array of creatively-prepared American dishes with a unique regional flair. These taste-tempting selections are complemented by a variety of fine wines, delicious desserts and coffees to satisfy even the most discerning palate.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (145)

Ratings and reviews for The Plaza Suites

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
42 out of 145
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.2

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Plaza Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Queerbrain
Business
South Bay area of San Francisco
Jul 5, 2014

if I could I'd live at The Plaza Suites

I don't know where to begin about the Plaza Suites, it was absolutely lovely. I lucked out and was able to stay there for a whole week due to the fact it was July 4th holiday and the rates were cheaper. most of the suites are small ish however they are very very comfortable there's a separate bedroom for your king size bed, a bureau with 3 drawers 2 night stands with drawers and a relatively large closet. the living area has a nice size couch chair wet bar with refrigerator and microwave huge TV in both rooms plus a work area. I was surprised to find out that their restaurant was staffed with an excellent chef and I've paid for lesser breakfast buffets, the complimentary breakfast is astonishing with everything they offer. you receive 3 drink tickets for u free drinks during happy hour, the pool and hot tub area is very nice. biggest plus for me is that on the 5th floor they have rooms that you can smoke in. if I could afford it I would just move in and live there forever

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
1
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

This is the only problem with the hotel and its where it is at, its on a frontage road off of 101 and there is absolutely nothing but an El toritos within walking distance

Review of The Plaza Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
BklynATX
Business
Santa Clara, California
Mar 4, 2014

Only smoking rooms available!

Upon check-in, only smoking rooms were available. The staff said they're upgrading a portion of the hotel and short on rooms. It's very unfortunate to purchase a hotel room and not know upon booking that the hotel is sold out of non-smoking rooms!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Plaza Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Cali Love from NYC
Business
NYC
Feb 27, 2014

Room Layout was weird

Had a great time but the layout of the room was just odd. It felt like I was sleep in the bathroom and we could hear the highway through the windows. But everything else was perfect. Free drinks, parking and BREAKFAST!!!! I would stay here again but in a different room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to the Japanese Freindship Garden only 15mins away.

Review of The Plaza Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DeeSonoma
Business
Santa Rosa, CA
Feb 13, 2014

Loved the suites

Such a lovely stay, it almost felt like the comforts of home.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Plaza Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
M.A.M.
Business
Paso Robles, CA
Jan 12, 2014

Wonderful experience as always

I have stayed at the Plaza Suites before and each time I have had a very pleasant experience. This particular visit was no exception. The staff at the front desk were both professional and fun. This visit there were additional amenities in the room including a bathrobe. I hadn't expected that. Also the cleaning staff went above and beyond when I asked for more cream and sugar for the in suite coffee maker. I will continue to frequent the Plaza Suites.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Plaza Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dr. Ming Liu
Business
Potomac, MD
Jul 28, 2013

Good Place to Stay

Friendly staff and great location. Nice and clean room. A little noisy during weekends due to many guests stay with family members. Breakfast is good for the room rate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Plaza Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
nom de plum
Business
Chicago
Jun 21, 2013

Make sure to get poolside, not highway side

The suite was nice, average clean. safe didn't work, shower curtain had a hint of mildew. bed was comfortable. arrived at 1am given room facing the expressway. was a-ok until about 5am when the traffic picked up and all the revving engine noise became unbearable. i complained to the hotel front desk and they politely told me that they were sold out. i mentioned that the price was pretty high to be in a room that you can't sleep in. they patched me over to the mgr who was very nice to move me to a poolside room. very quiet and the next night's sleep was perfect. The free buffet breakfast was good. Overall, not cheap, but if you can guarantee poolside, it's a nice hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Plaza Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mr Michael F
Business
Rancho Cucamonga, CA
Jun 16, 2013

Business Trip

Experience here was fantastic! Very accommodating staff, great amenities. room was spacious, and very very clean. Hotel is close to convention center making it a plus. I will be back, and this is now my hotel of choice in Santa Clara. Thank you!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Restaurants night life within walking distance from the location.

Review of The Plaza Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BusinessLady28
Business
Santa Barbara
Apr 13, 2013

nice but a little outdated hotel

Somehow of a remnants of an old luxury, a beautiful spacious foyer with chandeliers, staircase to the second floor. A little older hallways, walls need refresher. The room (I had a suit) was nice and clean, but the bedroom section of it a little small that the bed took the most of it. The office part was comfortable with a sofa, a TV, new coffee maker, and a table to set down the laptop. Serves its purpose if you're traveling on business. One more positive moment is a diverse hot breakfast, complimentary.I'd recommend the hotel overall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Plaza Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RoyFur
Business
Swansea, Ma.
Dec 21, 2012

Business stay

I was looking for a hotel in the Santa Clara area. The pricing was reasonable. The rooms were very nice and the staff was friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top