$99 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 19, 2014 Check-out: Apr 20, 2014

Avatar Hotel - Great America, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

3 stars
4200 Great America Parkway, Santa Clara, CA 95054
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
55 reviews
Great place especially for families

Checkin was quick friendly and helpful. I forgot toothpaste and the front desk gave me a small... See full review

  • Bainbridgetam
  • Mar 23, 2014
Place is Great!

I had a great stay here. Comfortable, updated rooms, everything was fine. Keurig coffee make in the... See full review

  • samizdat43
  • May 13, 2013
The Avatar Hotel at Great America is Silicon Valleys newest hotspot. The hotel blends modern sleek decor with the latest tech amenities. Located just blocks from companies like Yahoo, Intel, Google and more, it is your portal to Silicon Valleys technology hub. Our hotel is 3 miles North of the San Jose International Airport and 29 miles South of San Francisco International Airport. Our newly renovated guestrooms feature a large work desk, 32 inch flat-screen TVs, refrigerator, iPod docking stations and complimentary wired and wireless internet access.

Avatar Hotel - Great America, a Joie de Vivre Hotel Rooms

Executive King
Features a king bed with a large work desk, 32 inch flat screen TVs, mini-refrigerator and iPod docking station. All Executive rooms are Pool View, includes complimentary upgraded high speed wired and wireless internet access and breakfast voucher for IHOP Restaurant located on premises.
Avatar King Room
Features king bed with a large work desk, 32 inch flat-screen TVs, refrigerator, iPod docking station and complimentary internet access.
Avatar Duo Two Double Beds
Features two full-size beds. These rooms include a large work desk, 32 inch flat-screen TVs, refrigerator, iPod docking station and complimentary internet access.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Avatar Hotel - Great America, a Joie de Vivre Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Hotel Map

37.3914 -121.9771
Area served
San Jose, California
Nearby airports
SJC San Jose International Airport, CA
Area description
Within 5 miles of Yahoo, Nortel, Sun Microsystems, Cisco Systems, Marvell, EMC Corpoaration, Advanced Micro Devices, Atheros and many more.

Dining

Bennigan's
Location: Next to the Hotel - An Irish style Bar with 8 beers on tap Enjoy the latest in sports on 9 Flatscreen TV's throughout Bennigan's
IHOP
Location: In Hotel - on property. Serves: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner. Traditional

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1300
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (55)

Ratings and reviews for Avatar Hotel - Great America, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Overall score

3.9 / 5
55 out of 55
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.1
Value:
4

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Avatar Hotel - Great America, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

5
Bainbridgetam
Bainbridge Island, WA
Mar 23, 2014

Great place especially for families

Checkin was quick friendly and helpful. I forgot toothpaste and the front desk gave me a small tube. Hotel has an attached restaurant with a good menu and a bar/restaurant chain across the parking lot. Quiet location but quick access onto freeway and approx 5min drive to SJC airport. Close to major attractions. Movie theatre restaurants and so shopping within walking dist. Room was very clean comfortable and quiet. Has a fun decor modern with a cartoon twist. Bit not over the top or Disney like. Outdoor pool a big plus and a good exercise room and activity room perfect for families! Definitely a place to stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Movie theatre, amusement park shopping and restaurants all very close. Definitely walkable!

Review of Avatar Hotel - Great America, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

5
Krissy P
Rainbow, CA
Dec 7, 2013

1st time I slept thru the night in 40 years

This is the review I am posting where ever I can find a place to write the review. I had to write this review to help people make a decision regarding a superb night's sleep. I am a 57 year old woman who usually gets up 3 or 4 times a night to go to the bathroom. I don't drink booze or caffeine. After the first night I wondered why and woke up from a deep sleep I think I even drooled. I told my husband it was so deep, I might have been close to death! LOL. Anyway, all three nights were the same. I asked the front desk (Matt who went out of his way to help me) if I could buy the pillow and they sold it to me at cost. They gave 4 for our room, $45 each. You can check yourself at downetc com. Why they put in $180 worth of pillows in a $66 per night room is beyond me, but I am so grateful. In addition, my husband and I both agree we wanted to take the bed home too which is never our opinion of sleeping in a Hotel. We visit San Jose every other Thanksgiving and will choose this hotel over any other place to stay including free family room offerings. For me, being able to sleep in this hotel's bed with these pillows and bedding will add to the excitement of our next trip!!! And by the way, the sheets and pillow cases are high thread count and the shower grout and caulking is clean, near new looking and that is a requirement for me to revisit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Avatar Hotel - Great America, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

3
beachgirl012
Sacramento, Ca
Jun 24, 2013

Disappointed ordinary

The room was ok, but just like any other cheaper hotel. The modern decor was slightly better than the usual floral design you often get but didn't wow me. Rooms were very average. Nothing great. Room was not sparkling clean but clean enough. Pool area was nice but location of it, being right in front by the parking took it from "oh this is nice to oh ok never mind". there was garbage in the elevator. Was told no double bed rooms facing the pool. The only really good thing were the beds themselves. Very comfortable comforter and pillows. Otherwise just very ordinary and by the pictures online I thought it was going to be a little different and fun. disappointed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Avatar Hotel - Great America, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

3
Fairbanks Chick
Santa Clara, California
Jun 11, 2013

Average Motel

Honestly this hotel was very disappointing. We got the room for a good deal,, but it's not worth the regular rate of over $100 per night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Avatar Hotel - Great America, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

3
WI 2 CA
Business
Rhinelander, Wisconsin
May 20, 2013

Decent

This hotel was ok. Free parking, free wifi, free access to an iMac and printer - all appreciated. The printer, however, was low on toner and printing poorly, and the clerk had no more, so I had to go to FedEx and pay to print. The hotel had some nice quirky/nerdy style elements (mod-looking furntiure, etc.), which was neat, but things were worn, stained, etc. The hotel seemed safe, and it was walking distance to a couple restaurants, which was handy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The restaurant next door gives you a discount if you show them your room keycard.

Review of Avatar Hotel - Great America, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

3
Daven526
Port Orchard WA
May 15, 2013

Leaky faucet

This room is unusual in its configuration, probably suited best for the business person stay. It is basic. small bed, limited cable tv, noe breakfast provided. leaky faucet let water run to floor. ice machine was broken on first floor so you had to walk a mike to the second floor for ice! The good was: Price, wifi, location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Bennigans and ihop next door!

Review of Avatar Hotel - Great America, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

3
SandM
Danbury, CT, USA
May 14, 2013

Good overall, some wrinkles

Pros: This is a decent hotel with modern looking furniture, clean rooms and good housekeeping. Nice paint job, inside and out. There’s elevator access. Friendly and helpful staff on the whole. Gym is not bad with a mix of some cardio and strength training machines. Good beds. Free Wifi. Good location, very close to 101 highway as well as restaurants popular with the office crowd. The adjoining I-H-O-P gives a 10% discount to Avatar guests too. Cons: Open corridors, so you choose between privacy and view out of the windows. No “do not disturb” cards, so housekeepers tend to knock and enter almost immediately (though you can use the latch to stop them) even if you desire privacy. Just a little road noise in rooms facing 101 highway. Strict and almost tacky check out time policy. Our request to extend check out time till 12:30pm was refused. Desk clerk Jessica said it was because they were sold out and on orders of General Manager Adam Finch who allowed no exceptions and was out of office. Jessica also maintained the check out and check in times were 11am and 3pm respectively, although our O-rbitz booking showed them as 12 noon and 1pm. She said our travel agency was “wrong” and made a copy of our reservation to show to Adam Finch for taking up with them. Other comments: Rooms are of adequate size – neither big nor too cramped. It had some power outlets though a couple of more accessible ones near the bed would have been welcome. It just about makes the 3 star rating. Overall we had a good stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cluster of good little restaurants on Northwest of crossing of Great American Parkway and Mission College Blvd.

Review of Avatar Hotel - Great America, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

5
samizdat43
Business
Washington, DC
May 13, 2013

Place is Great!

I had a great stay here. Comfortable, updated rooms, everything was fine. Keurig coffee make in the room. Wifi was free and fast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Avatar Hotel - Great America, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

3
Bob OO
Santa Clara CA
May 5, 2013

Easy access

Very convenient location to high tech; quiet room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Avatar Hotel - Great America, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

3
KatieOR
Tigard, OR, USA
Apr 23, 2013

Weekend Family Visit

Stayed here 3 nights while visiting son & grandkids. Convenient location near freeway. Very comfortable but not much extra space in the regular king bed arrangement. The bed was very comfy and we slept well in spite of our room being very close to the busy street. Room was clean and made up very well each day. We were gone all day from morning to night so we didn't use any of the hotel's amenities. At the weekend rates this was a very good deal. The free wifi was quirky in that it took pains to rejoin after shutting down each time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

I would skip the IHOP for breakfast and go across the street to the bagel shop for quick morning fixes. Good stuff there served up quick by very friendly staff.

Back to menu Return to top