$109 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 9, 2014 Check-out: Aug 10, 2014

Avatar Hotel - Great America, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

3 stars
4200 Great America Parkway, Santa Clara, CA 95054
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
79 reviews
Great place especially for families

Checkin was quick friendly and helpful. I forgot toothpaste and the front desk gave me a small... See full review

  • Bainbridgetam
  • Mar 23, 2014
Place is Great!

I had a great stay here. Comfortable, updated rooms, everything was fine. Keurig coffee make in the... See full review

  • samizdat43
  • May 13, 2013
The Avatar Hotel at Great America is Silicon Valleys newest hotspot. The hotel blends modern sleek decor with the latest tech amenities. Located just blocks from companies like Yahoo, Intel, Google and more, it is your portal to Silicon Valleys technology hub. Our hotel is 3 miles North of the San Jose International Airport and 29 miles South of San Francisco International Airport. Our newly renovated guestrooms feature a large work desk, 32 inch flat-screen TVs, refrigerator, iPod docking stations and complimentary wired and wireless internet access.

Avatar Hotel - Great America, a Joie de Vivre Hotel Rooms

Executive King
Features a king bed with a large work desk, 32 inch flat screen TVs, mini-refrigerator and iPod docking station. All Executive rooms are Pool View, includes complimentary upgraded high speed wired and wireless internet access and breakfast voucher for IHOP Restaurant located on premises.
Avatar King Room
Features king bed with a large work desk, 32 inch flat-screen TVs, refrigerator, iPod docking station and complimentary internet access.
Avatar Duo Two Double Beds
Features two full-size beds. These rooms include a large work desk, 32 inch flat-screen TVs, refrigerator, iPod docking station and complimentary internet access.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Avatar Hotel - Great America, a Joie de Vivre Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Hotel Map

37.3914 -121.9771
Area served
San Jose, California
Nearby airports
SJC San Jose International Airport, CA
Area description
Within 5 miles of Yahoo, Nortel, Sun Microsystems, Cisco Systems, Marvell, EMC Corpoaration, Advanced Micro Devices, Atheros and many more.

Dining

Bennigan's
Location: Next to the Hotel - An Irish style Bar with 8 beers on tap Enjoy the latest in sports on 9 Flatscreen TV's throughout Bennigan's
IHOP
Location: In Hotel - on property. Serves: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner. Traditional

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (79)

Ratings and reviews for Avatar Hotel - Great America, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
17 out of 79
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.7

71% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Avatar Hotel - Great America, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
midt
Business
Rochester Hills MI
Apr 16, 2013

Not Worth the Money

Great location and the room wasn't dirty - but this was NOT a $190.00 per night room. This was more like a motel than a hotel room. While I never felt threatened in any way (great location) my security awareness senses quickly noted that there were multiple points of ingress and egress to me on my path between the lobby and my room. All room are accessed from the outside (ala motel) and once you leave the lobby - there are multiple directions/points at which someone could approach you directly from the parking lot without passing through the lobby or some sort of security. I expected much better for the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Avatar Hotel - Great America, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
murman
Business
calgary
Feb 24, 2010

SANTA CLARA

very small room. not close to shopping, like convienence stores. not well suited if you dont have a car. shuttle service was great

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Avatar Hotel - Great America, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
BKuhn
Business
Minneapolis, MN, USA
Jul 20, 2012

convienient

Clean. Good location not far from airport, close to my (business) vendor. Inexpensive for the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Avatar Hotel - Great America, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Business Trainee
Business
Chicago
Feb 19, 2012

Good location, nice staff

The location was great, the staff were very helpful and accomadating. The room layout was a bit off (closet and vanity too close, the closet door blocked the vanity when open). But overall okay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Avatar Hotel - Great America, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
WI 2 CA
Business
Rhinelander, Wisconsin
May 20, 2013

Decent

This hotel was ok. Free parking, free wifi, free access to an iMac and printer - all appreciated. The printer, however, was low on toner and printing poorly, and the clerk had no more, so I had to go to FedEx and pay to print. The hotel had some nice quirky/nerdy style elements (mod-looking furntiure, etc.), which was neat, but things were worn, stained, etc. The hotel seemed safe, and it was walking distance to a couple restaurants, which was handy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The restaurant next door gives you a discount if you show them your room keycard.

Review of Avatar Hotel - Great America, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
rgcalifornia
Business
San Jose, CA, USA
Nov 28, 2011

Fine for the price

Check-in was smooth, no issues. Cost was very reasonable. First room I checked into -- the sheets were not clean. The second room I checked into was fine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Short drive from SJC Airport.

Review of Avatar Hotel - Great America, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Jul 24, 2011

Great time at the Avatar

During the day, I was doing business. But the staff were very helpful, and the jacuzzi was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Avatar Hotel - Great America, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Hackensack, NJ
Jun 25, 2009

Great....but under construction

The location of this hotel was fantastic for my conference at the Santa Clara Convention Center. We came in expecting the very modern rooms we saw in the pictures online, but they were still under construction and they didn't have a "new" room available for us. But the room they put us in was very nice even though it was pretty narrow. The beds and bedding were very comfortable, and the hotel staff was very helpful. The problem came when we came back for a rest midday and were greeted with incessant hammering. The staff offered to relocate us to a quieter "new" room. Fortunately, we went to look at it before moving. The new room was really nice (though just as narrow), but the chemical/paint smell from the new carpeting and construction was overpowering. We opted to stay in our noisy old room. A call to Orbitz to tell them about the surprise construction got one night's charge credited back to us (Orbitz called the hotel). That took the sting away. I'd definitely stay there again once the construction is over and the chemical and paint smell is gone from the rooms. The free wifi was definitely a plus. Overall, a very good value for what we paid (even before the free night.)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

We had trouble finding anywhere to get food past 10:00 pm besides the 24-hour IHOP attached to this hotel that is always busy. Fortunately, the lounge at the Hyatt served food till 11:30 pm.

Review of Avatar Hotel - Great America, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pig Bag
Business
San Antonio, TX
Apr 22, 2011

Avatar

Great place to stay if you're attending a conference at the Santa Clara Convention Center. Free shuttle to conference center and airport. Fun decor, comfortable beds, good staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Avatar Hotel - Great America, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Hackensack, NJ
Jun 25, 2009

Great....but under construction

The location of this hotel was fantastic for my conference at the Santa Clara Convention Center. We came in expecting the very modern rooms we saw in the pictures online, but they were still under construction and they didn't have a "new" room available for us. But the room they put us in was very nice even though it was pretty narrow. The beds and bedding were very comfortable, and the hotel staff was very helpful. The problem came when we came back for a rest midday and were greeted with incessant hammering. The staff offered to relocate us to a quieter "new" room. Fortunately, we went to look at it before moving. The new room was really nice (though just as narrow), but the chemical/paint smell from the new carpeting and construction was overpowering. We opted to stay in our noisy old room. A call to Orbitz to tell them about the surprise construction got one night's charge credited back to us (Orbitz called the hotel). That took the sting away. I'd definitely stay there again once the construction is over and the chemical and paint smell is gone from the rooms. The free wifi was definitely a plus. Overall, a very good value for what we paid (even before the free night.)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

We had trouble finding anywhere to get food past 10:00 pm besides the 24-hour IHOP attached to this hotel that is always busy. Fortunately, the lounge at the Hyatt served food till 11:30 pm.

Back to menu Return to top