$89 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 3, 2015 Check-out: Jan 4, 2015

Avatar Hotel - Great America, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

3 stars
4200 Great America Parkway, Santa Clara, CA 95054
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
62 reviews
pleasant stay

Staff and hotel was awesome... thank you will return again. See full review

  • chula2010
  • Dec 8, 2014
Great place especially for families

Checkin was quick friendly and helpful. I forgot toothpaste and the front desk gave me a small... See full review

  • Bainbridgetam
  • Mar 23, 2014
The Avatar Hotel at Great America is Silicon Valleys newest hotspot. The hotel blends modern sleek decor with the latest tech amenities. Located just blocks from companies like Yahoo, Intel, Google and more, it is your portal to Silicon Valleys technology hub. Our hotel is 3 miles North of the San Jose International Airport and 29 miles South of San Francisco International Airport. Our newly renovated guestrooms feature a large work desk, 32 inch flat-screen TVs, refrigerator, iPod docking stations and complimentary wired and wireless internet access.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Avatar Hotel - Great America, a Joie de Vivre Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Avatar Hotel - Great America, a Joie de Vivre Hotel Rooms

Executive King
Features a king bed with a large work desk, 32 inch flat screen TVs, mini-refrigerator and iPod docking station. All Executive rooms are Pool View, includes complimentary upgraded high speed wired and wireless internet access and breakfast voucher for IHOP Restaurant located on premises.
Avatar King Room
Features king bed with a large work desk, 32 inch flat-screen TVs, refrigerator, iPod docking station and complimentary internet access.
Avatar Duo Two Double Beds
Features two full-size beds. These rooms include a large work desk, 32 inch flat-screen TVs, refrigerator, iPod docking station and complimentary internet access.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Bennigan's
Location: Next to the Hotel - An Irish style Bar with 8 beers on tap Enjoy the latest in sports on 9 Flatscreen TV's throughout Bennigan's
IHOP
Location: In Hotel - on property. Serves: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner. Traditional

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (62)

Ratings and reviews for Avatar Hotel - Great America, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
62 out of 62
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.1

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Avatar Hotel - Great America, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sacramento, CA
Sep 27, 2010

My avatar would be proud

We needed a night away and this hotel helped by providing one. We were happy with the service, intrigued by the decor, and rested by the retreat to our room. Although we didn't use the pool it looked fun. Also a huge bonus, we checked for bed bugs and didn't find any so kudos on that. Thanks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Giant movie theater and coffee shop west on Mission College Blvd.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Avatar Hotel - Great America, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Campbell, CA
Feb 20, 2011

Nice stay

Nice clean hotel room, good quality shampoo, conditioner and soap. Noisy neighbor was the only down side.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

IHOP is next door of the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Avatar Hotel - Great America, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
stockton,ca
Oct 3, 2010

great anniversary weekend!

this hotel was very cool! the furniture and all the decorations went along with the avatar/ futuristic theme of the hotel! the rooms were always clean, it did get somewhat stuffy in the room but just turning on the air conditioning made it very comfortable. we went to great america while staying at the hotel, it was just a short walk so we saved $12 for a parking fee at great america. i think the only thing the hotel was missing was a tv guide and a bindere with restraunt suggestions and different activites to do while in santa clara. all in all we had an awsome anniversary weekend!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

walk to great america! saves you money!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Avatar Hotel - Great America, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Jul 24, 2011

Great time at the Avatar

During the day, I was doing business. But the staff were very helpful, and the jacuzzi was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Avatar Hotel - Great America, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DocV
Business
Cupertino, CA
Nov 16, 2009

JDV Avatar

Overall an excellent and enjoyable experience. Game room was a cool added bonus. IHOP attached and open 24/7, so that was convenient...though eating there more than 1x/day is ill-advised. Bennigan's next door, and a few others in walking distance. The hotel staff was very friendly. Asked for a crib, got it in 5 mins. Asked for late check out, no problem. Rooms, on the other hand were pretty nicely decorated, but being an older hotel that was recentley renovated, bathrooms were small and rooms were a bit cramped, though we had 2 double beds in out room. Comfy beds and nice electronics/ LCD TV.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Bennigan's is a 30 second walk, open until 2am on Saturdays. Some decent drink specials, but the food was sub-par compared to other's in this category (Applebees, Chili's, TGIF's, etc.). Movie theater is a long walk or very short drive.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Avatar Hotel - Great America, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
huntington beach, ca
Nov 16, 2009

Nice newer hotel

Very nice and quite hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Avatar Hotel - Great America, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pig Bag
Business
San Antonio, TX
Apr 22, 2011

Avatar

Great place to stay if you're attending a conference at the Santa Clara Convention Center. Free shuttle to conference center and airport. Fun decor, comfortable beds, good staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Avatar Hotel - Great America, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
san francisco, ca
May 9, 2011

very mellow and relaxing

I came here with 3 other friends to go to Great America. The hotel was simple and modern. There was nothing really around the area other then business parks and gas stations. But it was only 2 large blocks away from the theme park, so it's a great place to stay for the weekend. The rooms were super clean and comfortable. All of the staff was very helpful and gave great customer service. You cant beat the price. And the pool was heated, clean, and very relaxing! I will most definitely stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Bring snacks, they have a mini fridge, but theres only an ihop and bennigans to eat at.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Avatar Hotel - Great America, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Hackensack, NJ
Jun 25, 2009

Great....but under construction

The location of this hotel was fantastic for my conference at the Santa Clara Convention Center. We came in expecting the very modern rooms we saw in the pictures online, but they were still under construction and they didn't have a "new" room available for us. But the room they put us in was very nice even though it was pretty narrow. The beds and bedding were very comfortable, and the hotel staff was very helpful. The problem came when we came back for a rest midday and were greeted with incessant hammering. The staff offered to relocate us to a quieter "new" room. Fortunately, we went to look at it before moving. The new room was really nice (though just as narrow), but the chemical/paint smell from the new carpeting and construction was overpowering. We opted to stay in our noisy old room. A call to Orbitz to tell them about the surprise construction got one night's charge credited back to us (Orbitz called the hotel). That took the sting away. I'd definitely stay there again once the construction is over and the chemical and paint smell is gone from the rooms. The free wifi was definitely a plus. Overall, a very good value for what we paid (even before the free night.)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

We had trouble finding anywhere to get food past 10:00 pm besides the 24-hour IHOP attached to this hotel that is always busy. Fortunately, the lounge at the Hyatt served food till 11:30 pm.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Avatar Hotel - Great America, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Huntington Beach, CA
Dec 1, 2009

Clean and Quite Hotel!

Very nice and clean hotel. Convient location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top