$99 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 5, 2014 Check-out: Sep 6, 2014

Avatar Hotel - Great America, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

3 stars
4200 Great America Parkway, Santa Clara, CA 95054
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
58 reviews
Great place especially for families

Checkin was quick friendly and helpful. I forgot toothpaste and the front desk gave me a small... See full review

  • Bainbridgetam
  • Mar 23, 2014
Place is Great!

I had a great stay here. Comfortable, updated rooms, everything was fine. Keurig coffee make in the... See full review

  • samizdat43
  • May 13, 2013
The Avatar Hotel at Great America is Silicon Valleys newest hotspot. The hotel blends modern sleek decor with the latest tech amenities. Located just blocks from companies like Yahoo, Intel, Google and more, it is your portal to Silicon Valleys technology hub. Our hotel is 3 miles North of the San Jose International Airport and 29 miles South of San Francisco International Airport. Our newly renovated guestrooms feature a large work desk, 32 inch flat-screen TVs, refrigerator, iPod docking stations and complimentary wired and wireless internet access.

Hotel Map

37.3914 -121.9771
Area served
San Jose, California
Nearby airports
SJC San Jose International Airport, CA
Area description
Within 5 miles of Yahoo, Nortel, Sun Microsystems, Cisco Systems, Marvell, EMC Corpoaration, Advanced Micro Devices, Atheros and many more.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Avatar Hotel - Great America, a Joie de Vivre Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Avatar Hotel - Great America, a Joie de Vivre Hotel Rooms

Executive King
Features a king bed with a large work desk, 32 inch flat screen TVs, mini-refrigerator and iPod docking station. All Executive rooms are Pool View, includes complimentary upgraded high speed wired and wireless internet access and breakfast voucher for IHOP Restaurant located on premises.
Avatar King Room
Features king bed with a large work desk, 32 inch flat-screen TVs, refrigerator, iPod docking station and complimentary internet access.
Avatar Duo Two Double Beds
Features two full-size beds. These rooms include a large work desk, 32 inch flat-screen TVs, refrigerator, iPod docking station and complimentary internet access.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Bennigan's
Location: Next to the Hotel - An Irish style Bar with 8 beers on tap Enjoy the latest in sports on 9 Flatscreen TV's throughout Bennigan's
IHOP
Location: In Hotel - on property. Serves: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner. Traditional

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (58)

Ratings and reviews for Avatar Hotel - Great America, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
58 out of 58
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.1

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Avatar Hotel - Great America, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
san francisco, ca
May 9, 2011

very mellow and relaxing

I came here with 3 other friends to go to Great America. The hotel was simple and modern. There was nothing really around the area other then business parks and gas stations. But it was only 2 large blocks away from the theme park, so it's a great place to stay for the weekend. The rooms were super clean and comfortable. All of the staff was very helpful and gave great customer service. You cant beat the price. And the pool was heated, clean, and very relaxing! I will most definitely stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Bring snacks, they have a mini fridge, but theres only an ihop and bennigans to eat at.

Review of Avatar Hotel - Great America, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bonnno
Business
Michigan
Apr 12, 2013

Keep expections low, and you willl be pleasantly surprised

Its old Holiday Inn Express, with a new make over.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Avatar Hotel - Great America, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Katareena
San Jose, CA, USA
Jan 22, 2012

One-Night getaway

Jake (at the front desk) was friendly and welcoming. Check-in was fast (it's actually @ 3:00pm NOT 1:00pm) and the cost was reasonable. He also gave us a good tip on showing our room key if we were going to eat at the IHOP next door to get a 10% discount on our bill. Our room was very clean, comfortable, and spacious. I actually really liked the design/set-up.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Avatar Hotel - Great America, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Sacramento, CA
Sep 27, 2010

My avatar would be proud

We needed a night away and this hotel helped by providing one. We were happy with the service, intrigued by the decor, and rested by the retreat to our room. Although we didn't use the pool it looked fun. Also a huge bonus, we checked for bed bugs and didn't find any so kudos on that. Thanks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Giant movie theater and coffee shop west on Mission College Blvd.

Review of Avatar Hotel - Great America, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
cmad
Business
Raleigh, NC, USA
Nov 18, 2011

Pleasant surprise

The hotel doesn't look like much on the outside, however, the design, style, and cleanliness of the interior (rooms / lobby) was top notch. It's clear that they renovated an old (local?) motel and if you can get past the exterior, you won't be disappointed. It's also right off 101 and near all the main businesses in the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The Fish Market on El Camino Real

Review of Avatar Hotel - Great America, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Campbell, CA
Feb 20, 2011

Nice stay

Nice clean hotel room, good quality shampoo, conditioner and soap. Noisy neighbor was the only down side.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

IHOP is next door of the hotel.

Review of Avatar Hotel - Great America, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
stockton,ca
Oct 3, 2010

great anniversary weekend!

this hotel was very cool! the furniture and all the decorations went along with the avatar/ futuristic theme of the hotel! the rooms were always clean, it did get somewhat stuffy in the room but just turning on the air conditioning made it very comfortable. we went to great america while staying at the hotel, it was just a short walk so we saved $12 for a parking fee at great america. i think the only thing the hotel was missing was a tv guide and a bindere with restraunt suggestions and different activites to do while in santa clara. all in all we had an awsome anniversary weekend!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

walk to great america! saves you money!

Review of Avatar Hotel - Great America, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JujuMommy
Fresno, Ca
Jan 27, 2010

Avatar in Santa Clara

The modern theme was a nice change from the traditional hotel furniture. the lobby was cute, the staff was friendly and accommodating. They allowed us to do a late check out that we needed. The ihop next door was pretty convenient too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Avatar Hotel - Great America, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Visiting from SD
San Diego, CA
Jan 4, 2013

Great value, clean hotel

The only downside to this hotel is that it feels a bit like a converted motel... a heavily renovated motel. But that's mainly because of the outdoor hallways, because the amenities at the hotel and in each room - along with the cool video game theme throughout - were fantastic. Bathroom was a little small but no real problem there, especially considering the great rate we got for our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Review of Avatar Hotel - Great America, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
san jose
Jul 18, 2011

VERY NICE!!

Hotel was very nice. Had ipod station tv was nice. Close by restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top

Change search