$123 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 24, 2015 Check-out: Jul 26, 2015

Avatar Hotel - Great America, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

3 stars
View map of 4200 Great America Parkway, Santa Clara, CA 95054

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Avatar Hotel - Great America, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
71 out of 71
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.1
Value:
4

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Avatar Hotel - Great America, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
cmad
Business
Raleigh, NC, USA
Nov 18, 2011

Pleasant surprise

The hotel doesn't look like much on the outside, however, the design, style, and cleanliness of the interior (rooms / lobby) was top notch. It's clear that they renovated an old (local?) motel and if you can get past the exterior, you won't be disappointed. It's also right off 101 and near all the main businesses in the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The Fish Market on El Camino Real

Review of Avatar Hotel - Great America, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Katareena
Business
San Jose, CA, USA
Jan 22, 2012

One-Night getaway

Jake (at the front desk) was friendly and welcoming. Check-in was fast (it's actually @ 3:00pm NOT 1:00pm) and the cost was reasonable. He also gave us a good tip on showing our room key if we were going to eat at the IHOP next door to get a 10% discount on our bill. Our room was very clean, comfortable, and spacious. I actually really liked the design/set-up.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Avatar Hotel - Great America, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SOME DUDE
Business
San Jose, CA, USA
Apr 3, 2012

Quiet Time

I liked this hotel very much. Very clean and the staff was very friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Iguanas Burritozilla!!!! Try the homemade hotsauce!!! SOOOOOOO GOOD!!

Review of Avatar Hotel - Great America, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kitt2
Business
Los Angeles, CA
May 9, 2012

Pleasantly surprised

The Avatar Hotel was much better than I expected. It was CLEAN, all the basic amenities were available, and it had nice touches to remind you of its proximity to some of the tech companies, like cool sofas and headrest art reminiscent of Facebook. Next time I would stay here for the night and then in the early morning drive up to San Francisco (if you're coming from so-cal), which would have saved me money rather than staying a night in SF.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Avatar Hotel - Great America, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BrianCl
Business
Seattle traveler
Sep 18, 2012

good place, easy stay

The room was clean and access to freeways and Santa Clara university was easy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Avatar Hotel - Great America, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Overizze
Business
Oakland, CA
Jan 3, 2013

BANG FOR YOUR BUCK

I had a pleasant stay here. However, this "hotel" does look like a motel with a face lift. Bottom line: the room is clean and comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Avatar Hotel - Great America, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Visiting from SD
Business
San Diego, CA
Jan 4, 2013

Great value, clean hotel

The only downside to this hotel is that it feels a bit like a converted motel... a heavily renovated motel. But that's mainly because of the outdoor hallways, because the amenities at the hotel and in each room - along with the cool video game theme throughout - were fantastic. Bathroom was a little small but no real problem there, especially considering the great rate we got for our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Avatar Hotel - Great America, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
daniellemal
Business
los angeles, CA
Jan 9, 2013

avatar

loved the king executive room! Got $10 voucher off of IHOP for booking it great deal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

IHOP

Review of Avatar Hotel - Great America, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
daniellemal
Business
los angeles, CA
Jan 10, 2013

couple

loved the room! got a 10 dollar voucher for Ihop as well which was great

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Avatar Hotel - Great America, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bonnno
Business
Michigan
Apr 12, 2013

Keep expections low, and you willl be pleasantly surprised

Its old Holiday Inn Express, with a new make over.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top