$129 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 17, 2015 Check-out: Jul 19, 2015

Avatar Hotel - Great America, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

3 stars
View map of 4200 Great America Parkway, Santa Clara, CA 95054

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Avatar Hotel - Great America, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
71 out of 71
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.1
Value:
4

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Avatar Hotel - Great America, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SandM
Business
Danbury, CT, USA
May 14, 2013

Good overall, some wrinkles

Pros: This is a decent hotel with modern looking furniture, clean rooms and good housekeeping. Nice paint job, inside and out. There’s elevator access. Friendly and helpful staff on the whole. Gym is not bad with a mix of some cardio and strength training machines. Good beds. Free Wifi. Good location, very close to 101 highway as well as restaurants popular with the office crowd. The adjoining I-H-O-P gives a 10% discount to Avatar guests too. Cons: Open corridors, so you choose between privacy and view out of the windows. No “do not disturb” cards, so housekeepers tend to knock and enter almost immediately (though you can use the latch to stop them) even if you desire privacy. Just a little road noise in rooms facing 101 highway. Strict and almost tacky check out time policy. Our request to extend check out time till 12:30pm was refused. Desk clerk Jessica said it was because they were sold out and on orders of General Manager Adam Finch who allowed no exceptions and was out of office. Jessica also maintained the check out and check in times were 11am and 3pm respectively, although our O-rbitz booking showed them as 12 noon and 1pm. She said our travel agency was “wrong” and made a copy of our reservation to show to Adam Finch for taking up with them. Other comments: Rooms are of adequate size – neither big nor too cramped. It had some power outlets though a couple of more accessible ones near the bed would have been welcome. It just about makes the 3 star rating. Overall we had a good stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cluster of good little restaurants on Northwest of crossing of Great American Parkway and Mission College Blvd.

Review of Avatar Hotel - Great America, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Daven526
Business
Port Orchard WA
May 15, 2013

Leaky faucet

This room is unusual in its configuration, probably suited best for the business person stay. It is basic. small bed, limited cable tv, noe breakfast provided. leaky faucet let water run to floor. ice machine was broken on first floor so you had to walk a mike to the second floor for ice! The good was: Price, wifi, location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Bennigans and ihop next door!

Review of Avatar Hotel - Great America, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
WI 2 CA
Business
Rhinelander, Wisconsin
May 20, 2013

Decent

This hotel was ok. Free parking, free wifi, free access to an iMac and printer - all appreciated. The printer, however, was low on toner and printing poorly, and the clerk had no more, so I had to go to FedEx and pay to print. The hotel had some nice quirky/nerdy style elements (mod-looking furntiure, etc.), which was neat, but things were worn, stained, etc. The hotel seemed safe, and it was walking distance to a couple restaurants, which was handy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The restaurant next door gives you a discount if you show them your room keycard.

Review of Avatar Hotel - Great America, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
beachgirl012
Business
Sacramento, Ca
Jun 24, 2013

Disappointed ordinary

The room was ok, but just like any other cheaper hotel. The modern decor was slightly better than the usual floral design you often get but didn't wow me. Rooms were very average. Nothing great. Room was not sparkling clean but clean enough. Pool area was nice but location of it, being right in front by the parking took it from "oh this is nice to oh ok never mind". there was garbage in the elevator. Was told no double bed rooms facing the pool. The only really good thing were the beds themselves. Very comfortable comforter and pillows. Otherwise just very ordinary and by the pictures online I thought it was going to be a little different and fun. disappointed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Avatar Hotel - Great America, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Fairbanks Chick
Business
Santa Clara, California
Jun 11, 2013

Average Motel

Honestly this hotel was very disappointing. We got the room for a good deal,, but it's not worth the regular rate of over $100 per night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Avatar Hotel - Great America, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Wyringa
Business
las vegas, nv
Nov 29, 2009

A bit noisy

This hotel is a remodel, but done very well. The good points include good looking rooms, comfortable beds, flat screen tv, clean pool, new fitness equipment. The only bad points were that there was a gap under out door that let in cold air, and that this hotel is NOISY!!! The walls seem paper thin, and you can hear your neighbors music as if it was in your room. We did comment to the staff one night about the noise, and he did walk through the hotel to talk to other rooms. Highly appreciated gesture, but did not solve any issue. The staff was excellent to us, and the housekeeping staff took great care of the rooms. Another great point to make is that the staff let us check in at 9am. Due to our early arrival, this was a great help. Due to the noise level, I am unsure if we would stay in this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ihop, Bennigans nearby

Review of Avatar Hotel - Great America, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Mountain View, CA
Aug 31, 2010

It was good

Seems like an older hotel with a makeover. Rooms were a little small, but clean. Updated furniture and decoration. Great location with food & movie theater in the area. Price was ok, would've liked it to be a little bit lower. I did not use any other amenities, pool looked small, but enough people seemed to enjoy it with their families.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Avatar Hotel - Great America, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Santa Clara
Feb 2, 2011

Good, not great...

I wanted to love it, but just a couple of solvable problems got in the way. The good - great location, at least for my needs. Nice modern decor. Comfortable bed, pillows, nice sized room. The bad - The maid didn't turn the alarm off from the previous guest so I wrestled with the alarm clock at 5;30am (one of my pet hotel peeves); the rooms have blinds that don't really shut out all the light, and there was a very bright light outside my room - so it stayed way too bright.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Avatar Hotel - Great America, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Avatar Fan
Business
SFO
Nov 15, 2014

Great Stay

Recommended stay for a family. Great pool and amenities. Stylish!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Avatar Hotel - Great America, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
NYChic23
Business
Hayward, CA
May 13, 2014

Well, at least you get an IHOP discount...

The room served it's purpose, but was a bit disappointed. The wifi didn't work so we had to keep going outside the room to get a reception. It was constantly noisy, but we were on the first floor so I guess that's expected. Would probably stay again if I had to, but definitely would choose a higher room towards the back of the building.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

10% discount at IHOP

Back to menu Return to top