$89 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 3, 2015 Check-out: Jan 4, 2015

Avatar Hotel - Great America, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

3 stars
4200 Great America Parkway, Santa Clara, CA 95054
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
60 reviews
pleasant stay

Staff and hotel was awesome... thank you will return again. See full review

  • chula2010
  • Dec 8, 2014
Great place especially for families

Checkin was quick friendly and helpful. I forgot toothpaste and the front desk gave me a small... See full review

  • Bainbridgetam
  • Mar 23, 2014
The Avatar Hotel at Great America is Silicon Valleys newest hotspot. The hotel blends modern sleek decor with the latest tech amenities. Located just blocks from companies like Yahoo, Intel, Google and more, it is your portal to Silicon Valleys technology hub. Our hotel is 3 miles North of the San Jose International Airport and 29 miles South of San Francisco International Airport. Our newly renovated guestrooms feature a large work desk, 32 inch flat-screen TVs, refrigerator, iPod docking stations and complimentary wired and wireless internet access.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Avatar Hotel - Great America, a Joie de Vivre Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Avatar Hotel - Great America, a Joie de Vivre Hotel Rooms

Executive King
Features a king bed with a large work desk, 32 inch flat screen TVs, mini-refrigerator and iPod docking station. All Executive rooms are Pool View, includes complimentary upgraded high speed wired and wireless internet access and breakfast voucher for IHOP Restaurant located on premises.
Avatar King Room
Features king bed with a large work desk, 32 inch flat-screen TVs, refrigerator, iPod docking station and complimentary internet access.
Avatar Duo Two Double Beds
Features two full-size beds. These rooms include a large work desk, 32 inch flat-screen TVs, refrigerator, iPod docking station and complimentary internet access.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Bennigan's
Location: Next to the Hotel - An Irish style Bar with 8 beers on tap Enjoy the latest in sports on 9 Flatscreen TV's throughout Bennigan's
IHOP
Location: In Hotel - on property. Serves: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner. Traditional

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (60)

Ratings and reviews for Avatar Hotel - Great America, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
13 out of 60
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
3.8
Value:
4.2

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Avatar Hotel - Great America, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Avatar Fan
Business
SFO
Nov 15, 2014

Great Stay

Recommended stay for a family. Great pool and amenities. Stylish!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Avatar Hotel - Great America, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Avatar Fan
Business
SFO
Aug 11, 2014

Stylish value for money

This is a standard courtyard hotel, but has recently been renovated for stylish looks. And they have fast internet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Avatar Hotel - Great America, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JZMoya
Business
Albuquerque, NM
Jun 17, 2014

Santa Clara long weekend

The Avatar is a very clean hotel with a nice fitness room and pool area. The staff is friendly and helpful. Our only complaints were that: 1) the room we reserved for three was extremely cramped and we had nowhere for our bags so we were constantly jumping over our bags and each other, and, 2) The small pull-out sofa that our son slept on was incredibly uncomfortable. The staff did accomodate us in regard to this by providing some extra blankets for him to sleep on top of which did help the problem. Overall we felt it was a good deal for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Santa Cruz beach and Boardwalk are just a short 55-min drive from Santa Clara and a very enjoyable day trip.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Avatar Hotel - Great America, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Romans 16 16
Business
Elk Grove, CA
May 28, 2014

Family Weekend

The kids enjoyed looking at the toy robots displayed in the hotel lobby. I was given a choice of which floor for my room and I chose the top floor (4th floor). The usual expected noises (street traffic, close by restaurant, pool goers, other guests walking by/talking) was considerably less because of staying on the 4th floor. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. The only thing lacking in the room was a microwave.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Avatar Hotel - Great America, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Krissy P
Business
Rainbow, CA
Dec 7, 2013

1st time I slept thru the night in 40 years

This is the review I am posting where ever I can find a place to write the review. I had to write this review to help people make a decision regarding a superb night's sleep. I am a 57 year old woman who usually gets up 3 or 4 times a night to go to the bathroom. I don't drink booze or caffeine. After the first night I wondered why and woke up from a deep sleep I think I even drooled. I told my husband it was so deep, I might have been close to death! LOL. Anyway, all three nights were the same. I asked the front desk (Matt who went out of his way to help me) if I could buy the pillow and they sold it to me at cost. They gave 4 for our room, $45 each. You can check yourself at downetc com. Why they put in $180 worth of pillows in a $66 per night room is beyond me, but I am so grateful. In addition, my husband and I both agree we wanted to take the bed home too which is never our opinion of sleeping in a Hotel. We visit San Jose every other Thanksgiving and will choose this hotel over any other place to stay including free family room offerings. For me, being able to sleep in this hotel's bed with these pillows and bedding will add to the excitement of our next trip!!! And by the way, the sheets and pillow cases are high thread count and the shower grout and caulking is clean, near new looking and that is a requirement for me to revisit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Avatar Hotel - Great America, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
beachgirl012
Business
Sacramento, Ca
Jun 24, 2013

Disappointed ordinary

The room was ok, but just like any other cheaper hotel. The modern decor was slightly better than the usual floral design you often get but didn't wow me. Rooms were very average. Nothing great. Room was not sparkling clean but clean enough. Pool area was nice but location of it, being right in front by the parking took it from "oh this is nice to oh ok never mind". there was garbage in the elevator. Was told no double bed rooms facing the pool. The only really good thing were the beds themselves. Very comfortable comforter and pillows. Otherwise just very ordinary and by the pictures online I thought it was going to be a little different and fun. disappointed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Avatar Hotel - Great America, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Fairbanks Chick
Business
Santa Clara, California
Jun 11, 2013

Average Motel

Honestly this hotel was very disappointing. We got the room for a good deal,, but it's not worth the regular rate of over $100 per night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Avatar Hotel - Great America, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Avilabay
Business
Santa Clara, CA
Apr 14, 2013

Near Great America

Clean and comfortable. IHOP resturant is conneted to hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Avatar Hotel - Great America, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BrianCl
Business
Seattle traveler
Sep 18, 2012

good place, easy stay

The room was clean and access to freeways and Santa Clara university was easy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Avatar Hotel - Great America, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ramona, CA
Oct 14, 2010

Great location and re-model

The location was great for Great America and visiting people in the Bay Area. Close to freways yet quiet. Beds were very comfortable with feather pillows and comforter. The room was decorated with sleek furnishings, but could be a little bigger for 4 people. Every request was met quickly and courteously. IHOP connected right building.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top