$109 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 19, 2014 Check-out: Sep 20, 2014

Avatar Hotel - Great America, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

3 stars
4200 Great America Parkway, Santa Clara, CA 95054
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
58 reviews
Great place especially for families

Checkin was quick friendly and helpful. I forgot toothpaste and the front desk gave me a small... See full review

  • Bainbridgetam
  • Mar 23, 2014
Place is Great!

I had a great stay here. Comfortable, updated rooms, everything was fine. Keurig coffee make in the... See full review

  • samizdat43
  • May 13, 2013
The Avatar Hotel at Great America is Silicon Valleys newest hotspot. The hotel blends modern sleek decor with the latest tech amenities. Located just blocks from companies like Yahoo, Intel, Google and more, it is your portal to Silicon Valleys technology hub. Our hotel is 3 miles North of the San Jose International Airport and 29 miles South of San Francisco International Airport. Our newly renovated guestrooms feature a large work desk, 32 inch flat-screen TVs, refrigerator, iPod docking stations and complimentary wired and wireless internet access.

Hotel Map

37.3914 -121.9771
Area served
San Jose, California
Nearby airports
SJC San Jose International Airport, CA
Area description
Within 5 miles of Yahoo, Nortel, Sun Microsystems, Cisco Systems, Marvell, EMC Corpoaration, Advanced Micro Devices, Atheros and many more.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Avatar Hotel - Great America, a Joie de Vivre Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Avatar Hotel - Great America, a Joie de Vivre Hotel Rooms

Executive King
Features a king bed with a large work desk, 32 inch flat screen TVs, mini-refrigerator and iPod docking station. All Executive rooms are Pool View, includes complimentary upgraded high speed wired and wireless internet access and breakfast voucher for IHOP Restaurant located on premises.
Avatar King Room
Features king bed with a large work desk, 32 inch flat-screen TVs, refrigerator, iPod docking station and complimentary internet access.
Avatar Duo Two Double Beds
Features two full-size beds. These rooms include a large work desk, 32 inch flat-screen TVs, refrigerator, iPod docking station and complimentary internet access.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Bennigan's
Location: Next to the Hotel - An Irish style Bar with 8 beers on tap Enjoy the latest in sports on 9 Flatscreen TV's throughout Bennigan's
IHOP
Location: In Hotel - on property. Serves: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner. Traditional

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (58)

Ratings and reviews for Avatar Hotel - Great America, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
58 out of 58
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.1

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Avatar Hotel - Great America, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
midt
Business
Rochester Hills MI
Apr 16, 2013

Not Worth the Money

Great location and the room wasn't dirty - but this was NOT a $190.00 per night room. This was more like a motel than a hotel room. While I never felt threatened in any way (great location) my security awareness senses quickly noted that there were multiple points of ingress and egress to me on my path between the lobby and my room. All room are accessed from the outside (ala motel) and once you leave the lobby - there are multiple directions/points at which someone could approach you directly from the parking lot without passing through the lobby or some sort of security. I expected much better for the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Avatar Hotel - Great America, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
murman
Business
calgary
Feb 24, 2010

SANTA CLARA

very small room. not close to shopping, like convienence stores. not well suited if you dont have a car. shuttle service was great

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Avatar Hotel - Great America, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Scotia, CA
Jun 20, 2009

Blast from the Past

The room we stayed in was 2 double beds and very small. It felt like we were visiting the Jettson family and their dog Elroy. The remodel was still ongoing through our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The drive distance to Great America Theme Park was very close. IHOP is next door and Round table is within walking distance to the establishment.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Avatar Hotel - Great America, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
KatieOR
Tigard, OR, USA
Apr 23, 2013

Weekend Family Visit

Stayed here 3 nights while visiting son & grandkids. Convenient location near freeway. Very comfortable but not much extra space in the regular king bed arrangement. The bed was very comfy and we slept well in spite of our room being very close to the busy street. Room was clean and made up very well each day. We were gone all day from morning to night so we didn't use any of the hotel's amenities. At the weekend rates this was a very good deal. The free wifi was quirky in that it took pains to rejoin after shutting down each time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

I would skip the IHOP for breakfast and go across the street to the bagel shop for quick morning fixes. Good stuff there served up quick by very friendly staff.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Avatar Hotel - Great America, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Mountain View, CA
Aug 31, 2010

It was good

Seems like an older hotel with a makeover. Rooms were a little small, but clean. Updated furniture and decoration. Great location with food & movie theater in the area. Price was ok, would've liked it to be a little bit lower. I did not use any other amenities, pool looked small, but enough people seemed to enjoy it with their families.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Avatar Hotel - Great America, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
BKuhn
Business
Minneapolis, MN, USA
Jul 20, 2012

convienient

Clean. Good location not far from airport, close to my (business) vendor. Inexpensive for the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Avatar Hotel - Great America, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SandM
Danbury, CT, USA
May 14, 2013

Good overall, some wrinkles

Pros: This is a decent hotel with modern looking furniture, clean rooms and good housekeeping. Nice paint job, inside and out. There’s elevator access. Friendly and helpful staff on the whole. Gym is not bad with a mix of some cardio and strength training machines. Good beds. Free Wifi. Good location, very close to 101 highway as well as restaurants popular with the office crowd. The adjoining I-H-O-P gives a 10% discount to Avatar guests too. Cons: Open corridors, so you choose between privacy and view out of the windows. No “do not disturb” cards, so housekeepers tend to knock and enter almost immediately (though you can use the latch to stop them) even if you desire privacy. Just a little road noise in rooms facing 101 highway. Strict and almost tacky check out time policy. Our request to extend check out time till 12:30pm was refused. Desk clerk Jessica said it was because they were sold out and on orders of General Manager Adam Finch who allowed no exceptions and was out of office. Jessica also maintained the check out and check in times were 11am and 3pm respectively, although our O-rbitz booking showed them as 12 noon and 1pm. She said our travel agency was “wrong” and made a copy of our reservation to show to Adam Finch for taking up with them. Other comments: Rooms are of adequate size – neither big nor too cramped. It had some power outlets though a couple of more accessible ones near the bed would have been welcome. It just about makes the 3 star rating. Overall we had a good stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cluster of good little restaurants on Northwest of crossing of Great American Parkway and Mission College Blvd.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Avatar Hotel - Great America, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Fairbanks Chick
Santa Clara, California
Jun 11, 2013

Average Motel

Honestly this hotel was very disappointing. We got the room for a good deal,, but it's not worth the regular rate of over $100 per night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Avatar Hotel - Great America, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
beachgirl012
Sacramento, Ca
Jun 24, 2013

Disappointed ordinary

The room was ok, but just like any other cheaper hotel. The modern decor was slightly better than the usual floral design you often get but didn't wow me. Rooms were very average. Nothing great. Room was not sparkling clean but clean enough. Pool area was nice but location of it, being right in front by the parking took it from "oh this is nice to oh ok never mind". there was garbage in the elevator. Was told no double bed rooms facing the pool. The only really good thing were the beds themselves. Very comfortable comforter and pillows. Otherwise just very ordinary and by the pictures online I thought it was going to be a little different and fun. disappointed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Avatar Hotel - Great America, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bob OO
Santa Clara CA
May 5, 2013

Easy access

Very convenient location to high tech; quiet room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search